Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Recommend decent KVM?


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 Pteroduck

Pteroduck

    Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 507 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 22 August 2013 - 11:05 AM

I want to use a kvm for my laptop and desktop with audio and all

anyone have good recomendations?



#2 kyfire

kyfire

    The Hi-Tech Redneck

  • Folding Member
  • 405 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kentucky

Posted 22 August 2013 - 01:00 PM

I could very well be wrong (and have faith that if I am, someone will correct me  :) ) but I don't think you can use a KVM with a laptop.


CASE: Cooler Master HAF X full tower MOBO: Gigabyte 970A-D3 CPU: AMD FX 6300 COOLER: Asetek 570LX 240MM MEM: 2x4gig Kingston Hyper X 1600MHz
HDD: WD Cavair Black 500gig GPU: EGA Nivida GTX 650 2gig Monitor:Dual Acer 21.5 1920x1080 PSU: Corsair CX500 V2


#3 camaro_dude15

camaro_dude15

    If you cant DODGE it, RAM it

  • Donated T5
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1040 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kansas

Posted 22 August 2013 - 03:20 PM

i dont see why you couldnt, if you can plug external mouse and keyboard to a laptop, and have vga or even hdmi out, you should definitely be able to use a kvm switch on a laptop


Case Coolermaster Haf 932| MoBo ASUS Crosshair V Formula Z| CPU AMD FX 8320 and Noctua D 14|7990, 7970 gpu's
RAM Kingston 16gb ddr3| PSU cougar 1000w|OCZ Agility 2 60gb WD blue's 500gb, 320gb |


#4 Pteroduck

Pteroduck

    Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 507 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 22 August 2013 - 05:08 PM

Well i believe you can. On the Belkin KVM, it has a picture of a laptop and a computer hooked together :x



#5 bishop245

bishop245

    So broke I can't even pay attention.

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9906 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Oklahoma

Posted 22 August 2013 - 05:36 PM

I have owned a few cheap ones that worked great for my old folding farm, and had 1 belkin I believe at work that was in service for 5 or 6 years



#6 Pteroduck

Pteroduck

    Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 507 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 22 August 2013 - 06:35 PM

im not looking to spend too much so what do you think would be good?



#7 bishop245

bishop245

    So broke I can't even pay attention.

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9906 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Oklahoma

Posted 22 August 2013 - 07:08 PM

http://www.bhphotovi...REG&A=details00

 

that one should work fine and don't cost to much



#8 Pteroduck

Pteroduck

    Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 507 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 23 August 2013 - 05:21 PM

I got linked to the mainpage, is that suppose to be? :O



#9 bishop245

bishop245

    So broke I can't even pay attention.

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9906 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Oklahoma

Posted 23 August 2013 - 05:40 PM

This is the overview of what I was trying to link to

 

Iogear GCS72U      Price: $20.23 from the place I linked

 

 

 

Iogear 2 port usb KVM with audio and mic

 

Use the 2-Port USB Cable KVM Switch with Audio and Mic from Iogear to manage two computers from a single mouse, keyboard, and monitor. The user-friendly design is bus-powered, and has both KVM cables built into the switch, eliminating the need for additional cables. Alternate between computers using a small pushbutton control that sits conveniently on your desk. The switch is compatible with all major operating systems, and supports microphone and audio out connections.

Use one USB keyboard, USB mouse, and VGA monitor to control two computers 2.1 Stereo audio and microphone support Plug-and-play monitor support 3' long molded-in cables to simplify setup Compact design features two attached USB KVM cables Compatible with PC, MAC and SUN operating platforms No software drivers required - simply connect the cables to the computers Computer selection via convenient pushbutton switch that can be placed on your desk Full Mac keyboard support Supports programmable mice No power adapter required

652244.jpg



#10 Pteroduck

Pteroduck

    Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 507 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 24 August 2013 - 11:38 AM

oh ok got it, thanks!



#11 bishop245

bishop245

    So broke I can't even pay attention.

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9906 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Oklahoma

Posted 24 August 2013 - 11:56 AM

I have used that one I think but mine was an older version and it worked great my 4 port was ps2 and I believe it was also iogear and it also worked great for the years it was used. I have a belkin at work that my boss used for about 5 years and I took out of service while it was still working and thought about using it at my desk but I have wireless keyboards and mice on both work comp.



#12 Pteroduck

Pteroduck

    Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 507 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 25 August 2013 - 09:34 AM

I'll try it out, thanks for the recommendation!