Jump to content


Photo

Windows 8 is broken (RTC)


  • Please log in to reply
35 replies to this topic

#1 Waco

Waco

    Lab Rat 2

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15306 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Alamos, NM

Posted 18 August 2013 - 01:52 PM

I haven't seen confirmation of this yet...but if it's true (and it does seem to be)...beware when overclocking or underclocking your base clock on Windows 8: http://hwbot.org/new...cepted_at_hwbot

Essentially, Windows 8 uses the system bus for it's realtime clock (RTC). Changing it changes how the OS measures time. :lol:

Posted Image

Booyah.


#2 VaporX

VaporX

    Sapphire Gaming Evangelist

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1709 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Carbondale, Il

Posted 18 August 2013 - 02:12 PM

So because benchmarks, which we know is the most important thing anyone does on PCs, might not work right when people take the hardware out of specs, this means the OS must be broken. I love the general response to this, all the cry and outrage. Forget the fact the games play flawless and the apps work as they should and the OS is generally very stable, the benchmarks might be broken if you overclock, that is the end of the world for Windows 8. ROFLMAO


Edward "Vapor-X" Crisler

Sapphire North America PR Represenative

"I don't play when it comes to gaming"

 


#3 Waco

Waco

    Lab Rat 2

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15306 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Alamos, NM

Posted 18 August 2013 - 02:22 PM

It's more than that Ed.

If the clock is wrong then everything that relies on accurate timing is wrong. The clock, internal program timing, etc.


Yes, that's broken behavior no matter how you look at it. You can't just sweep it under the rug as benchmarks being wrong - everything that relies on an accurate clock will be wrong.

Posted Image

Booyah.


#4 paulktreg

paulktreg

    Member

  • Donated T5
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3885 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Clitheroe, UK.

Posted 18 August 2013 - 02:52 PM

Wouldn't somebody of noticed this by now if it were true?


i7 [email protected]/GA-X58A-UD3R/3x2GB Corsair/2 X 460 SLI/Seagate 1TB/Fractal Design Define R3 Case/Seasonic X-Series 760W/SAMSUNG 2032BW/ACER AL1916W/WIN 7 PRO


#5 Waco

Waco

    Lab Rat 2

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15306 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Alamos, NM

Posted 18 August 2013 - 02:55 PM

Wouldn't somebody of noticed this by now if it were true?


Do you think HWBot would just make this up?

Posted Image

Booyah.


#6 cjloki

cjloki

    Demigod

  • Donated T5
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3056 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Riverside CA.

Posted 18 August 2013 - 03:03 PM

how can i test 8.1 to see if it too is corrupted ? ....has anyone else tested 8.1 ? ,....ah but since it's based on the same kernel then it too is most likely running corrupted rtc...


#1) ASUS F2A85-V PRO+AMD 6800k@4.7ghz,Corsair H100,20gb Crucial Ballistix ddr3 1600@1866,xfx7970 Black,GTX650 physx,2x128gb vertex4's raid0,2x600gb WD velociraptors,Sony OptiarcDVD rw,Antec1200 Full tower,Coolmax cug-950,w8pro64, gaming

#2) ASUS rampage formula+qx9770@4ghz, Corsair h100, 4gb ocz 1200, twin cav black 500's raid/0, CF 2x6870, corsair 750, custom DIY coolermaster glite mid tower, Sony OptiarcDVD, w7pro64, main office/server/gamin

#3) Gigabyte p55ud5+I-7 875k@2.93turbo, 4g gskill PIS 2200, nvidia gt520, corsair h50, samsung f3 1tb, lg supermultiDVD, coolermaster 500w psu, raidmax sieran, win8pro64 clone, strictly folding 15k-30k ppd 

Bloodbath

 Warweeny: " just let it go, be free and relax ! "

 


#7 dr_bowtie

dr_bowtie

    Chronic Haggler...

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 18057 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Indiana....

Posted 18 August 2013 - 03:49 PM

best way to test any OS is run the bench and also time it with a stopwatch... see if the times compare.

 

I've done that with video encoding. Some Intel rigs the reported time was quicker than real world back in the day ;)


Wii-Kart code 2707-2013-4642~~~~~~ Diablo 3 drbowtie#1495

Commodore64....playing Crysis on high

Posted Image

**Noctua Owners Club: Member #2 - NH-D14**


#8 Waco

Waco

    Lab Rat 2

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15306 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Alamos, NM

Posted 18 August 2013 - 03:57 PM

how can i test 8.1 to see if it too is corrupted ? ....has anyone else tested 8.1 ? ,....ah but since it's based on the same kernel then it too is most likely running corrupted rtc...

Just set your base clock different than stock then unplug from the internet (just to make sure it doesn't resync after a few mintues). Take note of the system time, then measure it again 10 minutes later. It should be off by the same percentage as the base clock change.

Posted Image

Booyah.


#9 WarWeeny

WarWeeny

    Don't worry, be sexy! >:3

  • Review Editor
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1199 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:leeuwarden / netherlands

Posted 18 August 2013 - 04:24 PM

yet ANOTHER reason not to get windows 8, will the list ever stop?  :lol:


You can get the weeny out of the war, but you cannot get the war out of the weeny

 

Rest in peace my good old gtx 480, you deserved it


#10 cjloki

cjloki

    Demigod

  • Donated T5
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3056 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Riverside CA.

Posted 18 August 2013 - 04:49 PM

ok well, i did as you suggested, clocked it to 47 x 100 and unplugged the rj45 at 5:15 local,... i checked it against my galaxy s4 and went back 15 minutes later,...it seems to be keeping time with the galaxy as it ought to, but, my method doesn't seem very scientific...

...anyway as i started digging further into this i realized that the 8.1 kernel IS changed from the nt 6.2 in win8 to the newer updated nt 6.3 for win8.1 ...perhaps an improvement,..idk, but i can bet that hwbot's news is gonna travel fast in the overclocking world, and is gonna have alot of folks on edge...


#1) ASUS F2A85-V PRO+AMD 6800k@4.7ghz,Corsair H100,20gb Crucial Ballistix ddr3 1600@1866,xfx7970 Black,GTX650 physx,2x128gb vertex4's raid0,2x600gb WD velociraptors,Sony OptiarcDVD rw,Antec1200 Full tower,Coolmax cug-950,w8pro64, gaming

#2) ASUS rampage formula+qx9770@4ghz, Corsair h100, 4gb ocz 1200, twin cav black 500's raid/0, CF 2x6870, corsair 750, custom DIY coolermaster glite mid tower, Sony OptiarcDVD, w7pro64, main office/server/gamin

#3) Gigabyte p55ud5+I-7 875k@2.93turbo, 4g gskill PIS 2200, nvidia gt520, corsair h50, samsung f3 1tb, lg supermultiDVD, coolermaster 500w psu, raidmax sieran, win8pro64 clone, strictly folding 15k-30k ppd 

Bloodbath

 Warweeny: " just let it go, be free and relax ! "

 


#11 cjloki

cjloki

    Demigod

  • Donated T5
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3056 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Riverside CA.

Posted 18 August 2013 - 05:09 PM

and now the link to the initial main article seems to be broken and goes straight to the responses after the article,....is it me or them ??


#1) ASUS F2A85-V PRO+AMD 6800k@4.7ghz,Corsair H100,20gb Crucial Ballistix ddr3 1600@1866,xfx7970 Black,GTX650 physx,2x128gb vertex4's raid0,2x600gb WD velociraptors,Sony OptiarcDVD rw,Antec1200 Full tower,Coolmax cug-950,w8pro64, gaming

#2) ASUS rampage formula+qx9770@4ghz, Corsair h100, 4gb ocz 1200, twin cav black 500's raid/0, CF 2x6870, corsair 750, custom DIY coolermaster glite mid tower, Sony OptiarcDVD, w7pro64, main office/server/gamin

#3) Gigabyte p55ud5+I-7 875k@2.93turbo, 4g gskill PIS 2200, nvidia gt520, corsair h50, samsung f3 1tb, lg supermultiDVD, coolermaster 500w psu, raidmax sieran, win8pro64 clone, strictly folding 15k-30k ppd 

Bloodbath

 Warweeny: " just let it go, be free and relax ! "

 


#12 IVIYTH0S

IVIYTH0S

    They call me... General Help.

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 20375 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pennsauken, NJ

Posted 18 August 2013 - 05:14 PM

I'll try fiddlin' with it tomorrow and see if this plagues me.... since I have 8.0 running

"GilliumX58" DESKTOP
Mobo: Asus P6TD Deluxe | Processor: Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.8ghz | CPU Cooler: Zalman CNPS9900MAXR | Videocard: MSI Twin Frozr HD7970
Memory: Patriot 12GB 1600mhz | OS SSD: SanDisk Extreme 240GB SATA | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W
Monitor: *Debranded* HP 24" 2408H | CD/DVD: Samsung SH-S223F | Keyboard: Razer Tarantula | Mouse: Razer Lachesis

OCC Cool Club Member

 


 

GPU Comparison tool on AnAndTech