Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Screen Saver Can’t Run


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 wingspar

wingspar

    Certified Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1416 posts
  • Location:Oregon

Posted 18 August 2013 - 12:08 PM

The screen saver on my new Win 7 build won’t run.  All I can get is the following message that moves around the screen as a screen saver does.  What does this message mean?

The screen saver can’t run because it requires a newer video card or one that’s compatible with Direct3D.

The motherboard is an ASUS P8Z77-V Pro and has onboard video which I am using.  I don’t have a video card.   I can edit and render videos, and watch videos online and everything else seems to work fine, but the screen saver.  Why am I getting this message?


Gary

Will Fly for Food

#2 paulktreg

paulktreg

    Member

  • Donated T5
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3879 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Clitheroe, UK.

Posted 18 August 2013 - 12:29 PM

What processor are you running?


i7 [email protected]/GA-X58A-UD3R/3x2GB Corsair/2 X 460 SLI/Seagate 1TB/Fractal Design Define R3 Case/Seasonic X-Series 760W/SAMSUNG 2032BW/ACER AL1916W/WIN 7 PRO


#3 wingspar

wingspar

    Certified Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1416 posts
  • Location:Oregon

Posted 18 August 2013 - 01:09 PM

Intel i7 3770 Ivy Bridge


Gary

Will Fly for Food

#4 paulktreg

paulktreg

    Member

  • Donated T5
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3879 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Clitheroe, UK.

Posted 18 August 2013 - 02:58 PM

Well maybe there's your answer? The i7 3770 as integrated Intel HD Graphics 4000. OK for HD playback but could struggle for some 3D applications.


i7 [email protected]/GA-X58A-UD3R/3x2GB Corsair/2 X 460 SLI/Seagate 1TB/Fractal Design Define R3 Case/Seasonic X-Series 760W/SAMSUNG 2032BW/ACER AL1916W/WIN 7 PRO


#5 wingspar

wingspar

    Certified Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1416 posts
  • Location:Oregon

Posted 18 August 2013 - 08:28 PM

The integrated Intel HD Graphics 4000 is one of the requirements for my Sony Vegas video editing software.  I figured if it was good enough to edit video, why wouldn’t a simple screen saver work?

I don’t play games, so I decide to try the onboard video before I bought a video card.  If I don’t need a video card, why buy one.  Are there other shortcomings to the integrated Intel HD Graphics 4000?  I’m certainly not going to buy a video card just to get the screen saver to work.

 


Gary

Will Fly for Food

#6 IVIYTH0S

IVIYTH0S

    They call me... General Help.

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 20297 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pennsauken, NJ

Posted 19 August 2013 - 02:26 AM

Update DirectX?? Honestly if ancient ass integrated laptop video cards can run screensavers so can a fairly damn decent iGPU like the HD4000...


"GilliumX58" DESKTOP
Mobo: Asus P6TD Deluxe | Processor: Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.8ghz | CPU Cooler: Zalman CNPS9900MAXR | Videocard: MSI Twin Frozr HD7970
Memory: Patriot 12GB 1600mhz | OS SSD: SanDisk Extreme 240GB SATA | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W
Monitor: *Debranded* HP 24" 2408H | CD/DVD: Samsung SH-S223F | Keyboard: Razer Tarantula | Mouse: Razer Lachesis

OCC Cool Club Member

 


 

GPU Comparison tool on AnAndTech

 


#7 EuroFight

EuroFight

    I'm not lazy, I'm just energy efficient.

  • News Editor
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1609 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 19 August 2013 - 04:07 AM

Do Intel provide drivers for their iGPU? If so try updating them :)

Processor AMD FX-6100 Hex-core, 3.3GHz > Intel Core 2 Duo, Dual-core, 1.6GHz

Memory 8GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600MHz >  Crucial 3GB DDR3 1066MHz

Graphics Radeon HD7770 + Radeon HD5570 > Intel 3000 Integrated Graphics

Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 Socket AM3+ > OEM Latitude XT2 Motherboard Socket P

Storage Seagate Barracuda 2TB SATA 7200.14 > Samsung 64GB SSD SATA 3Gbps

Power Supply Cooler Master Elite ATX 500W > OEM Dell Power Supply 90W

Case Zalman Z11 Plus 4x 120mm fans, 3x 80mm > OEM Dell Latitude XT Case

 

"Sudo make me a sandwich" - BluePanda


#8 wingspar

wingspar

    Certified Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1416 posts
  • Location:Oregon

Posted 19 August 2013 - 08:04 AM

I found these specs for the i7 3770

There is a section on Graphics Specifications.  Everything there says it is capable of 3D.

In the list, you will see “Intel® InTru™ 3D Technology”.  If you hover over it with your mouse, you will see a question mark.  Click on it and you get :

“Intel® InTru™ 3D Technology provides stereoscopic 3-D Blu-ray* playback in full 1080p resolution over HDMI* 1.4 and premium audio.”

 

Everything seems to say it should work.  I haven’t found anything that says I need to update drivers.


Gary

Will Fly for Food

#9 kyfire

kyfire

    The Hi-Tech Redneck

  • Folding Member
  • 399 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kentucky

Posted 19 August 2013 - 08:20 AM

Will ask the one ,important, question no one else has.     What screen saver are you attempting to run? Is it one of the Windows built in screen savers or a third party one?


CASE: Cooler Master HAF X full tower MOBO: Gigabyte 970A-D3 CPU: AMD FX 6300 COOLER: Asetek 570LX 240MM MEM: 2x4gig Kingston Hyper X 1600MHz
HDD: WD Cavair Black 500gig GPU: EGA Nivida GTX 650 2gig Monitor:Dual Acer 21.5 1920x1080 PSU: Corsair CX500 V2


#10 wingspar

wingspar

    Certified Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1416 posts
  • Location:Oregon

Posted 19 August 2013 - 09:52 AM

Just the ones that came with Win 7.  I’ve never run a 3rd party screen saver.


Gary

Will Fly for Food