17 replies to this topic

#1 wingspar

wingspar

Certified Geek

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1416 posts

Posted 06 August 2013 - 01:35 PM

I’m new to Win 7 and there is one thing about the start menu that frustrates me.  Is there a way to get the programs to fly-out as in this screen shot from my XP machine instead of having to use the scroll bar?

original.jpg

Also, I remember running across a thread with tons of neat shortcuts for Win 7, one used for bringing up the Task Manager with one click of the keyboard instead of several clicks like it takes me now.  I thought it was on this forum, but I can’t find it.  Where might I find such a list of shortcuts for Win 7?

Gary

Will Fly for Food

#2 IVIYTH0S

IVIYTH0S

They call me... General Help.

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 20680 posts

Posted 06 August 2013 - 01:45 PM

Press the start button on keyboard and start typing the program name, until it appears and press enter. Far easier and faster than the old method

For Task Manager:

use CTRL+SHIFT+ESC

or type 'taskmgr' into the start menu search and press enter

Whichever is faster for ya!

"GilliumX58" DESKTOP
Mobo: Asus P8Z68-V-PRO | Processor: Intel Core i7 2600K @ 4.6ghz | CPU Cooler: Zalman CNPS9900MAXR | Videocard: MSI Twin Frozr HD7970
Memory: Patriot 8GB 1600mhz | OS SSD: SanDisk Extreme 240GB SATA | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W
Monitor: Samsung 30" 305T | CD/DVD: Samsung SH-S223F | Keyboard: Razer Tarantula | Mouse: Razer Lachesis

OCC Cool Club Member

GPU Comparison tool on AnAndTech

#3 wingspar

wingspar

Certified Geek

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1416 posts

Posted 06 August 2013 - 01:52 PM

Start button then type program name works slick, didn’t know that one, but I like seeing the fly-out menu.  Sure would like to have that capability back.