Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

i4770k on gigabyte z87x ud4h wont enter bios has no video.


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 rieds

rieds

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 124 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 05 August 2013 - 05:12 PM

Heres my hardware list:

I7 4770k, gigabyte z87x ud4h, ocz500mxsp, his 7770, ocz vertex 4, antec kuhler 920, patriot viper xtreme 1866.

When I turn on power I get no video and board tries main bios then back up bios and continues this cycle but bios screen never comes up. I get no video at all. Tried onboard video with same results. Swapped memory and monitors still the same thing. Guy at cash register dropped the processor box while checking out. Could it have got damaged?
FX6100 @ 4776/ Antec Kuhler920 on Asus Sabertooth 990FX, 8gb Patriot Viper Xtreme DDR3 1866 4gb x2, MSI ATI Radion 5450 512mb, WD 500gb 7200 Sata 6, WD 7200 320gb Sata 6, OCZ Mod Xtreme Pro 500w, Thermaltake V3 Black.

#2 SpikeSoprano

SpikeSoprano

    Certified Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1383 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cape Breton,Canada

Posted 05 August 2013 - 06:23 PM

Is this a new cpu, mb and ram, did you just build it? A little more info would be nice.


CPU>I7 2600K  -MB>GIGABYTE  Z68X-UD3H-B3-MEM>KINGSTON 1600 MHZ-HYPER 212 EVO

VIDEO>ZOTAC GTX 660 2 GB-SSD>VERTEX 3 120 GB-HD>WD 500+WD 250 GB-G500 MOUSE

CASE>ROSEWILL CHALLENGER W/4 120MM FANS-PSU> 650 WATT-MONITOR>24 INCH BENQ


#3 rieds

rieds

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 124 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 05 August 2013 - 06:43 PM

Sorry,the motherboard and processor are new. Everything else was working fine in my last build. My memory is on the supp
ort list and the power supply is listed for haswell processors.
FX6100 @ 4776/ Antec Kuhler920 on Asus Sabertooth 990FX, 8gb Patriot Viper Xtreme DDR3 1866 4gb x2, MSI ATI Radion 5450 512mb, WD 500gb 7200 Sata 6, WD 7200 320gb Sata 6, OCZ Mod Xtreme Pro 500w, Thermaltake V3 Black.

#4 Waco

Waco

    Lab Rat 2

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15070 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Alamos, NM

Posted 05 August 2013 - 07:27 PM

I doubt dropping the CPU box damaged it. Have you pulled the CPU to confirm no bent pins on the board?

Posted Image

Booyah.


#5 SpikeSoprano

SpikeSoprano

    Certified Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1383 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cape Breton,Canada

Posted 05 August 2013 - 08:08 PM

I agree with Waco, dropping the cpu box should not hurt it, they are too well packaged, did you try a out of case build with just psu, cpu, mb and ram , just to see if the monitor will show bios.


CPU>I7 2600K  -MB>GIGABYTE  Z68X-UD3H-B3-MEM>KINGSTON 1600 MHZ-HYPER 212 EVO

VIDEO>ZOTAC GTX 660 2 GB-SSD>VERTEX 3 120 GB-HD>WD 500+WD 250 GB-G500 MOUSE

CASE>ROSEWILL CHALLENGER W/4 120MM FANS-PSU> 650 WATT-MONITOR>24 INCH BENQ


#6 rieds

rieds

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 124 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 05 August 2013 - 08:21 PM

Pulling the cpu is the only thing I havent tried. Ill pull everything out of the case and try that then pull the cpu in the morning.
FX6100 @ 4776/ Antec Kuhler920 on Asus Sabertooth 990FX, 8gb Patriot Viper Xtreme DDR3 1866 4gb x2, MSI ATI Radion 5450 512mb, WD 500gb 7200 Sata 6, WD 7200 320gb Sata 6, OCZ Mod Xtreme Pro 500w, Thermaltake V3 Black.

#7 Bosco

Bosco

    OCC Boss

  • Senior Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 32046 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Canada

Posted 05 August 2013 - 08:36 PM

Try one stick of memory.


Main Gaming Rig
Intel 3960X
MSI X79A-GD65 8D
16GB of Corsair Vengeance
NVIDIA 780TI's in SLI
Corsair Force 3 GT 240GB SSD
Coolermaster 932 Case
Noctua D14 CPU Cooler
Thermaltake Toughpower XT Platinum 1275 Watts
3 X 24" LCD's
Donating to OCC :::: OCC Site Rules :::: OCC Reviews
RIP Verran and Nemo gone but never will be forgotten.


#8 rieds

rieds

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 124 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 06 August 2013 - 03:57 AM

I tried one stick and in all the slots. I pulled the board out of the case and still no luck. I pulled the processor and it looks like theres a couple bent pins. I noticed the cover for it said foxconn and the box wasnt taped. Think I got a damaged return.
FX6100 @ 4776/ Antec Kuhler920 on Asus Sabertooth 990FX, 8gb Patriot Viper Xtreme DDR3 1866 4gb x2, MSI ATI Radion 5450 512mb, WD 500gb 7200 Sata 6, WD 7200 320gb Sata 6, OCZ Mod Xtreme Pro 500w, Thermaltake V3 Black.

#9 EuroFight

EuroFight

    I'm not lazy, I'm just energy efficient.

  • News Editor
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1561 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 06 August 2013 - 04:21 AM

Any bent pins on the CPU are bad news, I'd return the CPU to where you bought it and get a new one, as the chip is in warranty and was DOA I wouldn't bother trying to straighten pins :)

Processor AMD FX-6100 Hex-core, 3.3GHz > Intel Core 2 Duo, Dual-core, 1.6GHz

Memory 8GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600MHz >  Crucial 3GB DDR3 1066MHz

Graphics Radeon HD7770 + Radeon HD5570 > Intel 3000 Integrated Graphics

Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 Socket AM3+ > OEM Latitude XT2 Motherboard Socket P

Storage Seagate Barracuda 2TB SATA 7200.14 > Dell 64GB SSD SATA 3Gbps

Power Supply Cooler Master Elite ATX 500W > OEM Dell Power Supply 90W

Case Zalman Z11 Plus 4x 120mm fans, 3x 80mm > OEM Dell Latitude XT Case

 

"Sudo make me a sandwich" - BluePanda


#10 SpikeSoprano

SpikeSoprano

    Certified Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1383 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cape Breton,Canada

Posted 06 August 2013 - 05:01 AM

I would definitly take the cpu back, explain the situation and try to get a new one.Did you buy it local or online ?


CPU>I7 2600K  -MB>GIGABYTE  Z68X-UD3H-B3-MEM>KINGSTON 1600 MHZ-HYPER 212 EVO

VIDEO>ZOTAC GTX 660 2 GB-SSD>VERTEX 3 120 GB-HD>WD 500+WD 250 GB-G500 MOUSE

CASE>ROSEWILL CHALLENGER W/4 120MM FANS-PSU> 650 WATT-MONITOR>24 INCH BENQ


#11 rieds

rieds

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 124 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 06 August 2013 - 05:40 AM

The pins on the board are bent. Im takin it back to microcenter. The cpu socket cover said foxconn on it and the box wasnt sealed. Somebody damaged it then returned it.
FX6100 @ 4776/ Antec Kuhler920 on Asus Sabertooth 990FX, 8gb Patriot Viper Xtreme DDR3 1866 4gb x2, MSI ATI Radion 5450 512mb, WD 500gb 7200 Sata 6, WD 7200 320gb Sata 6, OCZ Mod Xtreme Pro 500w, Thermaltake V3 Black.

#12 rieds

rieds

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 124 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 06 August 2013 - 05:45 AM

I thought it was odd that it had foxconn on the socket cover when I pulled itvout but thought maybe foxconn is a division of gigabyte. Should have took it back then.
FX6100 @ 4776/ Antec Kuhler920 on Asus Sabertooth 990FX, 8gb Patriot Viper Xtreme DDR3 1866 4gb x2, MSI ATI Radion 5450 512mb, WD 500gb 7200 Sata 6, WD 7200 320gb Sata 6, OCZ Mod Xtreme Pro 500w, Thermaltake V3 Black.