Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Pc restarts? Ram OC issue to 1600MHz


  • Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#1 bidmoon

bidmoon

    New Member

  • Members
  • 15 posts

Posted 24 July 2013 - 08:11 AM

I have a Corsair vengeance 2x4gb DDR 1600, when i built my PC everything ran smooth but when i checked into bios and saw that my RAM was running 1333MHz. I changed it to 1600MHz by DRAM E.O.C.P{manual} to 1600MHz and aswell i changed my DRAM configuration to 2T 9-9-9-24. Now when i boot into windows and everything loads up after 3-5mintues my PC restarts.So i went into bios and changed the CPU NB VID control to +0.325 and my NB voltage control to 1.15, everything works fine but when i put it under stress using prime 95 it restarts again after 7-10mnutes. Should i up the cpu and nb voltage some more or?

 

my rig-

-gigabyte 990fxa-ud3

-amd fx 6350

-corsair veng 2x4

-amd radeon hd 7850

IMG_0581.JPG IMG_0580.JPG IMG_0579.JPG


Edited by bidmoon, 24 July 2013 - 08:21 AM.


#2 wevsspot

wevsspot

    The Pain of Being a Razorback Fan.....

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15982 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NW Arkansas

Posted 24 July 2013 - 08:29 AM

You are ok on the NB Voltage up to 1.20v - but I personally wouldn't go over that, and you shouldn't need to go over that just to run memory at 1600Mhz.

 

Your CPU NB VID is getting close to the max of 1.550v

 

Are you overclocking the CPU at all?

 

What is your DRAM voltage?


10804750996_f1dd23d20e_o.jpg

 


#3 SpikeSoprano

SpikeSoprano

    Certified Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1609 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cape Breton,Canada

Posted 24 July 2013 - 08:32 AM

what's your memory voltage running at. that might be the one to raise ?


CPU>I7 2600K  -MB>GIGABYTE  Z68X-UD3H-B3-MEM>16 GB KINGSTON 1600 MHZ-COOLER> HYPER 212 EVO

VIDEO>ZOTAC GTX 660 2 GB-SSD>VERTEX 3 120 GB-HD>WD 500+WD 250 GB- G500 MOUSE
CASE>ROSEWILL CHALLENGER W/4 120MM FANS-PSU> 650 WATT-MONITOR>24 INCH BENQ


#4 bidmoon

bidmoon

    New Member

  • Members
  • 15 posts

Posted 24 July 2013 - 08:37 AM

No im not overclocking my cpu and i havent touched my dram voltage control aswell which is set to 1.605V by default.



#5 bidmoon

bidmoon

    New Member

  • Members
  • 15 posts

Posted 24 July 2013 - 08:37 AM

sorry for the double post.


Edited by bidmoon, 24 July 2013 - 08:40 AM.


#6 wevsspot

wevsspot

    The Pain of Being a Razorback Fan.....

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15982 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NW Arkansas

Posted 24 July 2013 - 08:43 AM

Aren't most of the Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600Mhz kits spec'd to run at 1.5v (except for the low voltage 1.35v kits)?

 

If you have a 1.5v kit of memory running at default frequency and timings - I don't see any reason to overvolt the DRAM from the get go.

 

Your BIOS screen shot shows the DRAM Voltage at 1.605v

 

If this were my rig I'd set both the CPU NB Voltage and NB Voltage back to Auto

Assuming that you have a 1.5v kit of memory, set the voltage back to 1.50 - 1.52v max

 

Reboot and run Memtest 86+ for an extended period (6-8 hours)

 

If Memtest passes, then we can move on to other tweaks to try and get your system stable.

 

Are you running the latest BIOS release for your motherboard?  If not, you might consider flashing to the latest official release and start this whole project from scratch default BIOS settings.


10804750996_f1dd23d20e_o.jpg

 


#7 bidmoon

bidmoon

    New Member

  • Members
  • 15 posts

Posted 24 July 2013 - 08:49 AM

Ya ill give that ago and yes its 1.5v and how can i check if i have the latest bios?


Edited by bidmoon, 24 July 2013 - 08:51 AM.


#8 wevsspot

wevsspot

    The Pain of Being a Razorback Fan.....

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15982 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NW Arkansas

Posted 24 July 2013 - 08:55 AM

By the way.  Welcome to the OCC Forums  :)

 

Some platforms can be sensitive to un-necessary over volting.  Hence my recommendation to make sure your BIOS is the latest revision and then starting with everything on Auto, with the exception of manually setting your correct memory frequency, timings and DRAM voltage.

 

Then if needed we can start incrementally increasing your CPU NB Voltage and NB Voltage to find the sweet spot.

 

What BIOS revision are you currently running?


10804750996_f1dd23d20e_o.jpg

 


#9 bidmoon

bidmoon

    New Member

  • Members
  • 15 posts

Posted 24 July 2013 - 09:11 AM

my bios rev are 1.0 and thanks for the welcoming :)

 

- i also put everything to default except for the settings you said.


Edited by bidmoon, 24 July 2013 - 09:15 AM.


#10 wevsspot

wevsspot

    The Pain of Being a Razorback Fan.....

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15982 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NW Arkansas

Posted 24 July 2013 - 09:15 AM

Bid - what version level is your motherboard?

 

There are three hardware revisions on your specific board;

 

Rev 1.1

Rev 3.0

Rev 4.0

 

Thanks.

 

Wev


10804750996_f1dd23d20e_o.jpg

 


#11 bidmoon

bidmoon

    New Member

  • Members
  • 15 posts

Posted 24 July 2013 - 09:16 AM

ya its 1.0



#12 bidmoon

bidmoon

    New Member

  • Members
  • 15 posts

Posted 24 July 2013 - 11:20 AM

It just restarted again when i was using firefox and other programs.Sorry for the confusion it says REV 1.0 on my motherboard.