Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Conflict between graphic card Gigabyte 630 GT and 2 memory modules


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 sulsoft

sulsoft

    New Member

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 24 July 2013 - 02:29 AM

I have a weird conflict in my PC. When i start Windows 7 with Gigabyte graphic card 630 GT 1 GB PCI-e installed and 2 memory RAM modules 2 GB each, my graphic card is not recognized by Windows, i see an exclamation in PCI Express in Windows Device Drivers.

 

I had tried with memory in Dual Channel and without, and the problem continue. When i remove one RAM module and run computer only with 2 GB, my graphic graphic card is recognized and problem dissapear.

 

I never saw this kind of error and i need your help please.

 

Computer specs:

 

CPU Core 2 Duo 3.0

 

Motherboard AsRock conree1333-esata2

 

2xDDR2 667 Mhz 2 GB each

 

Graphic Card Gigabyte GT630 1GB DDR3 PCI-express

 

 

 



#2 Waco

Waco

    Lab Rat 2

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15204 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Alamos, NM

Posted 24 July 2013 - 03:50 AM

Is this 32 bit Windows?

Posted Image

Booyah.


#3 sulsoft

sulsoft

    New Member

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 24 July 2013 - 04:18 AM

No, Windows is 64 bits



#4 SpikeSoprano

SpikeSoprano

    Certified Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1540 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cape Breton,Canada

Posted 24 July 2013 - 05:17 AM

Have you run memtest to verify both ram sticks are up to par ?


CPU>I7 2600K  -MB>GIGABYTE  Z68X-UD3H-B3-MEM>KINGSTON 1600 MHZ-HYPER 212 EVO

VIDEO>ZOTAC GTX 660 2 GB-SSD>VERTEX 3 120 GB-HD>WD 500+WD 250 GB-G500 MOUSE

CASE>ROSEWILL CHALLENGER W/4 120MM FANS-PSU> 650 WATT-MONITOR>24 INCH BENQ


#5 d6bmg

d6bmg

    BMG FTW!!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4120 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 25 July 2013 - 11:50 AM

Run memtest on both the modules to be sure that both of them are good.


boozei.gif


#6 sulsoft

sulsoft

    New Member

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 30 July 2013 - 01:07 AM

I've tried memtest from Windows7 but i don't see any problems with RAM. This can be for some reason a conflit with NVidia cards? I ask this, because in the past i have put a ATI video card from a friend, probably last year, and the problem solved for himself.



#7 Stonerboy779

Stonerboy779

    Puts on Q701s d-_-b

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5255 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia

Posted 30 July 2013 - 02:18 AM

Did you have and anti card in this particular rig prior to the nvidia card? And you're 100% certain that this is a 64-bit install because the problem seems very indicative of a common issue with a 32-bit system.

Posted Image

 

Man these spammers are geniuses...put (NO SPAM) in the thread title to hide the spam.  It's brilliant.  Hopefully this doesn't catch on...what if rapists wear signs that say (NOT A RAPIST)?  They will be raping everybody! D:

 

Donate to OCC - You could have won an SSD or GPU


#8 Waco

Waco

    Lab Rat 2

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15204 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Alamos, NM

Posted 30 July 2013 - 03:43 AM

Or a BIOS setting...

Posted Image

Booyah.


#9 sulsoft

sulsoft

    New Member

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 30 July 2013 - 12:45 PM

I'm sure that Windows is 64 bits, not 32 bits. About slots the motherboard have 1-PCI-E x 16, 1-PCI-E x 1, 1-AGI x 4 (is used to install PCI-E expansion cards, i think like in crossfire), and 3 PCI slots. Now, the NVidia 630GT is in PCI-E x 16 slot.

 

What is strange, is when i remove one RAM dimm module, the video card is detected, and i can install the video driver software, but i note strange symptoms. I explain. One is when Windows start and it shows "Windows is starting", i don't see the colors like a flower, i only see a dot color point. In the other side, windows start the reveal some instability, and randomly windows hangs in black screen saying "Windows is starting", and the "flower color" as i say, don't appear.

 

 

 

In BIOS i've looked up, and the only option i have is in tab "Chipset configuration" the entry "Primary Graphics Adapter" - Choice between "PCI" and "PCI Express". I don't see other video option.

 

Strange problem, or better saying, strange WINDOWS/MICROSOFT problem.

 

Any ideas is appreciated ...



#10 wevsspot

wevsspot

    The Pain of Being a Razorback Fan.....

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15877 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NW Arkansas

Posted 31 July 2013 - 06:25 AM

Is this a fresh install of Windows 7 64-bit or an old install of Windows 7?

 

Check to make sure that you are running the latest BIOS released for your motherboard - THIS IS CRITICAL.

 

If you aren't running the latest BIOS, flash to the latest BIOS.

 

If you are running the latest motherboard BIOS;

 

1. Power down machine  

2. Unplug power supply from socket

3. Move CMOS jumper to clear position

4. Remove motherboard battery

5. Install video card and two memory modules

6. Move CMOS jumper back to save position

7. Install motherboard battery

8. Boot into BIOS and load optimized defaults, save and exit

 

If none of the above suggestions work, then you have to consider that this might be a hardware problem or a Windows problem.  Before I replaced hardware I'd do a fresh install of Windows.

 

My best guess is that you aren't running the latest BIOS release for your motherboard and that is causing compatibility issues.


10804750996_f1dd23d20e_o.jpg