Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Best free backup software?


  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 DanTheGamer11

DanTheGamer11

    When life gives you lemons, eat them.

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3911 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 18 July 2013 - 03:29 AM

As the title asks, what is the best free backup software for creating HDD images and recovering on a new HDD? I just want to clone somebodies old HDD on a larger one since it's running outta space.


Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T @3.2Ghz
Cooler Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 8GB 1.48V 1600Mhz DDR3 Crucial Ballistix Tactical
Motherboard Asrock N68C-GS FX
Graphics XFX HD 7950
Storage 1TB WD Caviar Blue HDD, 240GB Kingston Hyper X SSD, Thanks OCC & Kingston, makes a big difference  :)
Optical Disk Drive Sony Optiarc DVD/CD ReWriter
Power Supply Cooler Master GX 650W Bronze
Case Cooler Master CM690


#2 wevsspot

wevsspot

    The Pain of Being a Razorback Fan.....

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15877 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NW Arkansas

Posted 18 July 2013 - 07:25 AM

If either of the hard drives are WD brand, you can snag the free WD Edition of Acronis.

 

Another option is Comodo.  I use it from time to time and it works well.

 

Alternatively, if you are running Windows 7 you can used the built in backup and cloning application to create a system image.

 

There are other alternatives out there, just listing the three that I've used and know to work.


10804750996_f1dd23d20e_o.jpg

 


#3 SpikeSoprano

SpikeSoprano

    Certified Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1540 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cape Breton,Canada

Posted 18 July 2013 - 08:04 AM

Macrium Reflect , this is the one I've had the best luck with and easy to use. :rolleyes: 


CPU>I7 2600K  -MB>GIGABYTE  Z68X-UD3H-B3-MEM>KINGSTON 1600 MHZ-HYPER 212 EVO

VIDEO>ZOTAC GTX 660 2 GB-SSD>VERTEX 3 120 GB-HD>WD 500+WD 250 GB-G500 MOUSE

CASE>ROSEWILL CHALLENGER W/4 120MM FANS-PSU> 650 WATT-MONITOR>24 INCH BENQ


#4 wevsspot

wevsspot

    The Pain of Being a Razorback Fan.....

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15877 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NW Arkansas

Posted 18 July 2013 - 08:06 AM

Macrium Reflect , this is the one I've had the best luck with and easy to use. :rolleyes: 

 

Another really good solution!


10804750996_f1dd23d20e_o.jpg

 


#5 IVIYTH0S

IVIYTH0S

    They call me... General Help.

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 20262 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pennsauken, NJ

Posted 18 July 2013 - 09:33 AM

If either of the hard drives are WD brand, you can snag the free WD Edition of Acronis. Another option is Comodo.  I use it from time to time and it works well. Alternatively, if you are running Windows 7 you can used the built in backup and cloning application to create a system image. There are other alternatives out there, just listing the three that I've used and know to work.

And Seagate DiscWizard is their flavor of free acronis!

I love it because it makes the backup images as big as they actually are. Many of the others make them as large as the partition aka 216GB partition with 140GB used will make a 216GB file but Discwizard/Acronis for WD will make it 140GB if you choose no compression but most likely the file will be much smaller :)

"GilliumX58" DESKTOP
Mobo: Asus P6TD Deluxe | Processor: Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.8ghz | CPU Cooler: Zalman CNPS9900MAXR | Videocard: MSI Twin Frozr HD7970
Memory: Patriot 12GB 1600mhz | OS SSD: SanDisk Extreme 240GB SATA | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W
Monitor: *Debranded* HP 24" 2408H | CD/DVD: Samsung SH-S223F | Keyboard: Razer Tarantula | Mouse: Razer Lachesis

OCC Cool Club Member

 


 

GPU Comparison tool on AnAndTech

 


#6 DanTheGamer11

DanTheGamer11

    When life gives you lemons, eat them.

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3911 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 18 July 2013 - 12:39 PM

Thanks for the answer guys, but I got a dock for the HDD instead. I assume that I can use the WD flavoured Acronis to clone the drive?(Target drive is a 750GB 7200RPM Black 2.5 inch drive)

 

Do I need to do anything special for the system partitions since the original is a 250GB HDD with recovery or whatever partitions? Or will the software you guys listed account for that?


Edited by DanTheGamer11, 18 July 2013 - 12:41 PM.

Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T @3.2Ghz
Cooler Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 8GB 1.48V 1600Mhz DDR3 Crucial Ballistix Tactical
Motherboard Asrock N68C-GS FX
Graphics XFX HD 7950
Storage 1TB WD Caviar Blue HDD, 240GB Kingston Hyper X SSD, Thanks OCC & Kingston, makes a big difference  :)
Optical Disk Drive Sony Optiarc DVD/CD ReWriter
Power Supply Cooler Master GX 650W Bronze
Case Cooler Master CM690


#7 IVIYTH0S

IVIYTH0S

    They call me... General Help.

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 20262 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pennsauken, NJ

Posted 18 July 2013 - 03:03 PM

As long as a WD drive is plugged in the software can be used however you want.

Yeah it will work, 750GB-->250GB might have issues but not the other way around. Just rememberto extend the partition later.

"GilliumX58" DESKTOP
Mobo: Asus P6TD Deluxe | Processor: Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.8ghz | CPU Cooler: Zalman CNPS9900MAXR | Videocard: MSI Twin Frozr HD7970
Memory: Patriot 12GB 1600mhz | OS SSD: SanDisk Extreme 240GB SATA | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W
Monitor: *Debranded* HP 24" 2408H | CD/DVD: Samsung SH-S223F | Keyboard: Razer Tarantula | Mouse: Razer Lachesis

OCC Cool Club Member

 


 

GPU Comparison tool on AnAndTech

 


#8 DanTheGamer11

DanTheGamer11

    When life gives you lemons, eat them.

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3911 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 19 July 2013 - 06:54 AM

Well I'm trying to use the WD acronis clone tool but the WD drive is greyed out for Destination drive :/

Nvm, had to make that bootable acronis DVD and use original drive as external. Hate doing data and HDD related stuff :(

Edited by DanTheGamer11, 19 July 2013 - 08:15 AM.

Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T @3.2Ghz
Cooler Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 8GB 1.48V 1600Mhz DDR3 Crucial Ballistix Tactical
Motherboard Asrock N68C-GS FX
Graphics XFX HD 7950
Storage 1TB WD Caviar Blue HDD, 240GB Kingston Hyper X SSD, Thanks OCC & Kingston, makes a big difference  :)
Optical Disk Drive Sony Optiarc DVD/CD ReWriter
Power Supply Cooler Master GX 650W Bronze
Case Cooler Master CM690


#9 IVIYTH0S

IVIYTH0S

    They call me... General Help.

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 20262 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pennsauken, NJ

Posted 19 July 2013 - 06:42 PM

The more you do...the more you learn about what you don't. ~Mythos

 

:teehee:


"GilliumX58" DESKTOP
Mobo: Asus P6TD Deluxe | Processor: Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.8ghz | CPU Cooler: Zalman CNPS9900MAXR | Videocard: MSI Twin Frozr HD7970
Memory: Patriot 12GB 1600mhz | OS SSD: SanDisk Extreme 240GB SATA | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W
Monitor: *Debranded* HP 24" 2408H | CD/DVD: Samsung SH-S223F | Keyboard: Razer Tarantula | Mouse: Razer Lachesis

OCC Cool Club Member

 


 

GPU Comparison tool on AnAndTech

 


#10 DanTheGamer11

DanTheGamer11

    When life gives you lemons, eat them.

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3911 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 25 July 2013 - 06:37 AM

The more you do...the more you learn about what you don't. ~Mythos

 

:teehee:

 

Haha yeah

 

Right so I copied his HDD no probs(The C drive had 650GB in My Computer with a 750GB drive, I know formatting gives you a smaller amount of usable space but 100GB gone? Doubt the hidded partitions use up that much either)!

 

Thanks for the help guys! But I need one last bit of info/help please!

 

At this moment I'm doing a backup of a laptop with a 500GB dirve(17 hours according to Macrium Reflect Free D:), is there any settings I should use specifically? I've set the compression to None(does it matter) and copy the disc exactly(again does it matter), but I can't seem to find the auto verify thing(default is N) and is XML or whatever good for backups?

 

It's a shame that the Windows 7 Backup software keeps giving me an I/O error near the end of the back up, did it thrice :( Maybe it'll work on the other W7 laptop I want to backup.


Edited by DanTheGamer11, 25 July 2013 - 06:54 AM.

Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T @3.2Ghz
Cooler Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 8GB 1.48V 1600Mhz DDR3 Crucial Ballistix Tactical
Motherboard Asrock N68C-GS FX
Graphics XFX HD 7950
Storage 1TB WD Caviar Blue HDD, 240GB Kingston Hyper X SSD, Thanks OCC & Kingston, makes a big difference  :)
Optical Disk Drive Sony Optiarc DVD/CD ReWriter
Power Supply Cooler Master GX 650W Bronze
Case Cooler Master CM690


#11 IVIYTH0S

IVIYTH0S

    They call me... General Help.

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 20262 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pennsauken, NJ

Posted 25 July 2013 - 12:03 PM

I've always used compression on any backups I make with Acronis, why not use less space storing them lol


"GilliumX58" DESKTOP
Mobo: Asus P6TD Deluxe | Processor: Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.8ghz | CPU Cooler: Zalman CNPS9900MAXR | Videocard: MSI Twin Frozr HD7970
Memory: Patriot 12GB 1600mhz | OS SSD: SanDisk Extreme 240GB SATA | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W
Monitor: *Debranded* HP 24" 2408H | CD/DVD: Samsung SH-S223F | Keyboard: Razer Tarantula | Mouse: Razer Lachesis

OCC Cool Club Member

 


 

GPU Comparison tool on AnAndTech

 


#12 DanTheGamer11

DanTheGamer11

    When life gives you lemons, eat them.

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3911 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 25 July 2013 - 12:29 PM

Ok so with about half an hour left I got another I/O error 1117, I'm starting to think it's the drive. I'm using a MyBook 2TB and I've read that a reformat can help with this issue but I'm not sure... If I manage to fix it then I can just use the intergrated W7 backup tool as it''s been giving me the same error. Can anybody help?

Running chkdsk on the C drive.... I haven't seen this screen since I last used my W95(not in 95) machine xD

Should I bother running chkdsk on the external HDD? It only has the WD software on it.

Edited by DanTheGamer11, 25 July 2013 - 12:41 PM.

Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T @3.2Ghz
Cooler Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 8GB 1.48V 1600Mhz DDR3 Crucial Ballistix Tactical
Motherboard Asrock N68C-GS FX
Graphics XFX HD 7950
Storage 1TB WD Caviar Blue HDD, 240GB Kingston Hyper X SSD, Thanks OCC & Kingston, makes a big difference  :)
Optical Disk Drive Sony Optiarc DVD/CD ReWriter
Power Supply Cooler Master GX 650W Bronze
Case Cooler Master CM690