Jump to content


Photo

Windows XP on New ASUS Motherboard


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 wingspar

wingspar

    Certified Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1416 posts
  • Location:Oregon

Posted 14 June 2013 - 03:49 PM

I am rebuilding my computer using the same case.  For now, the build is on hold.  When I get back to it, I would like to be able to use my existing hard drive with XP on it so I can continue to work.  When I have time to install Win 7 on the new SSD, I can just unplug the old drive, and begin installing the OS, antivirus and programs, and when I need to get work done, I can go back to XP.  A sheet of paper came with the board with instructions for installing XP.  I do know I need to reinstall the OS cause it’s a new motherboard, but here is where I have questions.

From the motherboard instructions;

To install the AHCI driver in Windows XP

1.  During the OS installation, the system prompts you to press the F6 key to install third-party SCSI or RAID driver.

2.  Press <F6> and then insert the floppy disk with the AHCI driver into the floppy disk drive.

3.  When prompted to select the SCSI adapter to install, ensure that you select Intel 7 Series/C216 Chipset Family SATA AHCI Controller.


What I do not understand is what the AHCI driver is, what it’s name is, and where do I find it?

Is it on the CD that came with the motherboard?

Do I have to download it?

 


Gary

Will Fly for Food

#2 cjloki

cjloki

    Demigod

  • Donated T5
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3070 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Riverside CA.

Posted 14 June 2013 - 04:12 PM

advanced controller host interface,....it's a newer more modern hard drive protocol that kinda gets away from the older style ATA and PATA device operations,...i'm certainly not the most up on it and i'm sure there are much more knowlegable folks in here that can expound on it, but i'm pretty sure it was developed by intel in order to allow the new very large hard drives to be recognized and fully utilized by the operating system...

 

kwik edit: the achi was included in this mobo bios, but you might be able to download a bios update that includes the achi, if it doesn't already have it... don't quote me on this but maybe ?

 

actually this gamer is set up to dual boot in win8 when setup in RAID and win7 when switched to achi...both work really well and everything is seen.


#1) ASUS F2A85-V PRO+AMD 6800k@4.7ghz,Corsair H100,20gb Crucial Ballistix ddr3 1600@1866,xfx7970 Black,GTX650 physx,2x128gb vertex4's raid0,2x600gb WD velociraptors,Sony OptiarcDVD rw,Antec1200 Full tower,Coolmax cug-950,w8pro64, gaming

#2) ASUS rampage formula+qx9770@4ghz, Corsair h100, 4gb ocz 1200, twin cav black 500's raid/0, CF 2x6870, corsair 750, custom DIY coolermaster glite mid tower, Sony OptiarcDVD, w7pro64, main office/server/gamin

#3) Gigabyte p55ud5+I-7 875k@2.93turbo, 4g gskill PIS 2200, nvidia gt520, corsair h50, samsung f3 1tb, lg supermultiDVD, coolermaster 500w psu, raidmax sieran, win8pro64 clone, strictly folding 15k-30k ppd 

Bloodbath

 Warweeny: " just let it go, be free and relax ! "

 


#3 SpikeSoprano

SpikeSoprano

    Certified Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1647 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cape Breton,Canada

Posted 14 June 2013 - 08:19 PM

You will be lucky if you can find drivers for a newer mb running xp, not worth the bs, just install w7 .


CPU>I7 2600K  -MB>GIGABYTE  Z68X-UD3H-B3-MEM>16 GB KINGSTON 1600 MHZ-COOLER> HYPER 212 EVO

VIDEO>ZOTAC GTX 660 2 GB-SSD>VERTEX 3 120 GB-HD>WD 500+WD 250 GB- G500 MOUSE
CASE>ROSEWILL CHALLENGER W/4 120MM FANS-PSU> 650 WATT-MONITOR>24 INCH BENQ


#4 d6bmg

d6bmg

    BMG FTW!!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4147 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 14 June 2013 - 11:54 PM

Check motherboard manufacturer's page and downlaod those drivers. Those should be listed in the download section.

Use a flash drive to store them temporarily and when the prompt comes up while installing XP, just use the driver from flash drive.

Be warned. Sometimes i may get complicated.

 

Or as a shortcut, you may use some heavily modded XP image. If you are lucky one of them will work with your motherboard. For info google.


boozei.gif


#5 wingspar

wingspar

    Certified Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1416 posts
  • Location:Oregon

Posted 15 June 2013 - 12:43 PM

 

kwik edit: the achi was included in this mobo bios, but you might be able to download a bios update that includes the achi, if it doesn't already have it... don't quote me on this but maybe ?

 

Thanks.  I downloaded the file from there, but the instructions that came with it are far more confusing than what came with the manual.

I’m not sure I’m going to try that.  I think I may be able to borrow a case to set my new system up in, which will allow me to continue to work on my old XP machine.  I’m at a time of year that I can not be without the computer at all for my business, which is why I was hoping to be able to use my old hard drive and XP while I set up the new SSD with Win 7.


Gary

Will Fly for Food

#6 wingspar

wingspar

    Certified Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1416 posts
  • Location:Oregon

Posted 15 June 2013 - 12:46 PM

 

Check motherboard manufacturer's page and downlaod those drivers. Those should be listed in the download section.

Use a flash drive to store them temporarily and when the prompt comes up while installing XP, just use the driver from flash drive.

Be warned. Sometimes i may get complicated.

 

Or as a shortcut, you may use some heavily modded XP image. If you are lucky one of them will work with your motherboard. For info google.

 

Thanks, but that takes me to what looks like the same file on the Intel site cjloki gave me the link to earlier.  I’m having reservations about trying it.  I’m at a time of year I can not afford any down time.


Gary

Will Fly for Food

#7 SpikeSoprano

SpikeSoprano

    Certified Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1647 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cape Breton,Canada

Posted 15 June 2013 - 04:11 PM

Now that microsoft is trying to bury xp most new mb's don't support it , usually they just supply drivers for vista, w7, and w8.You can find modded drivers for xp out there but they usually don't work right or are almost impossible to install. :no:


CPU>I7 2600K  -MB>GIGABYTE  Z68X-UD3H-B3-MEM>16 GB KINGSTON 1600 MHZ-COOLER> HYPER 212 EVO

VIDEO>ZOTAC GTX 660 2 GB-SSD>VERTEX 3 120 GB-HD>WD 500+WD 250 GB- G500 MOUSE
CASE>ROSEWILL CHALLENGER W/4 120MM FANS-PSU> 650 WATT-MONITOR>24 INCH BENQ


#8 Waco

Waco

    Lab Rat 2

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15504 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Alamos, NM

Posted 16 June 2013 - 11:32 AM

If you set your BIOS to IDE mode for your SATA ports you shouldn't need any driver at all. :cheers:

sig.png

GTX 770 replaced with watercooled GTX780...but too lazy to change the sig.


#9 d6bmg

d6bmg

    BMG FTW!!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4147 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 16 June 2013 - 12:21 PM

If you set your BIOS to IDE mode for your SATA ports you shouldn't need any driver at all. :cheers:

 

But that's one of the horrible things that one can do. :lol:

On the other hand I don't even know whether any SSD will even work in IDE mode.


boozei.gif


#10 Waco

Waco

    Lab Rat 2

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15504 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Alamos, NM

Posted 16 June 2013 - 03:13 PM

SSDs work fine in IDE mode. You don't get TRIM, but you won't get it with WinXP anyway.

sig.png

GTX 770 replaced with watercooled GTX780...but too lazy to change the sig.


#11 wevsspot

wevsspot

    The Pain of Being a Razorback Fan.....

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 16009 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NW Arkansas

Posted 17 June 2013 - 06:57 AM

WSPR - what motherboard do you have????


10804750996_f1dd23d20e_o.jpg

 


#12 wingspar

wingspar

    Certified Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1416 posts
  • Location:Oregon

Posted 17 June 2013 - 08:08 AM

 

If you set your BIOS to IDE mode for your SATA ports you shouldn't need any driver at all. :cheers:

 

Would that really work?  My current hard drive with XP on it is a SATA drive.

 

My other half’s son is giving us his old case he replaced last year when he built a new rig.  We are going to build a new rig in the case as a project we can do together, but in the meantime, I am going to use it to install my new components in and get Win 7 up and running and all my programs up to where I can depend on it and no longer need the XP machine, then I’ll gut my old case and install the new components, and XP will be gone for good.  Sounds like the better plan for me.  In the meantime, we are going to research the components for a new build, and build it together.  Should be a fun project for us.  Good for me while all this stuff is fresh.    :no:


Gary

Will Fly for Food