Jump to content


Photo
* * * * * 1 votes

Watercooling loop


  • Please log in to reply
48 replies to this topic

#1 Smiki007

Smiki007

    OC in Blood

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 163 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lima, Peru

Posted 01 June 2013 - 11:29 AM

Hi all,

which is better arrangement for CPU WC loop:

1. rad (200mm)-->cpu-->rad (360mm)-->reservoir-->pump-->rad(200mm)

2. rad (200mm)-->cpu-->reservoir-->pump-->rad (360mm) or

3. rad 200mm-->cpu-->reservoir-->rad 360mm-->pump-->rad 200mm

Thanks.


Edited by Smiki007, 01 June 2013 - 07:04 PM.


My_Rig.jpgxNCqq1.gif
 
Always look beyond the limits...
 


#2 Waco

Waco

    Lab Rat 2

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15211 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Alamos, NM

Posted 01 June 2013 - 11:47 AM

Order doesn't matter except put your pump just after the reservoir.

Posted Image

Booyah.


#3 Smiki007

Smiki007

    OC in Blood

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 163 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lima, Peru

Posted 01 June 2013 - 11:57 AM

Order doesn't matter except put your pump just after the reservoir.

In that case my WC loop should look like this:

Rad 200mm ---> CPU ---> Res. ---> Pump ---> Rad 360mm ---> Rad 200mm.

or

Reservoir --->Pump--->Rad200--->CPU--->Rad360--->Reservoir.

Which arrangement is correct?

Rad position:

Rad 200 on top of the case

Rad 360 in front of the case


Edited by Smiki007, 01 June 2013 - 07:05 PM.


My_Rig.jpgxNCqq1.gif
 
Always look beyond the limits...
 


#4 Waco

Waco

    Lab Rat 2

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15211 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Alamos, NM

Posted 01 June 2013 - 07:23 PM

It doesn't matter. The water temps throughout the loop will be essentially the same as long as your flow rates aren't total crap.

Even with dual 4870X2s and a very overclocked CPU in my loop I saw less than .1 degree difference in water temp from radiator outlet to just after all four GPUs and my CPU. :cheers:


I'd just route it however it's easiest and cleanest to route.

Posted Image

Booyah.


#5 d6bmg

d6bmg

    BMG FTW!!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4120 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 01 June 2013 - 10:39 PM

You are going to to need 1x 360mm & 2x200mm rad only for CPU. You can easily add your GPU(s) to the loop.


boozei.gif


#6 Smiki007

Smiki007

    OC in Blood

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 163 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lima, Peru

Posted 02 June 2013 - 06:04 AM

For GPU loop, i have (from my previous WCS), Swiftech MCR220 Rev.3 Dual 120mm Radiator w/ Integrated Pump, I planning to have two separated loops (1 for CPU and 1 gor GPUs).



My_Rig.jpgxNCqq1.gif
 
Always look beyond the limits...
 


#7 wevsspot

wevsspot

    The Pain of Being a Razorback Fan.....

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15889 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NW Arkansas

Posted 03 June 2013 - 06:48 AM

As Waco pointed out, you can arrange your loop just about any way that you want and it won't have a huge impact on overall cooling performance.  Convenience and routing are always important considerations. 

 

Whenever possible I try to put my waterblock(s) immediately after my pump.  This is the place with the most head pressure in your loop, and this can be an important consideration depending on how restrictive your blocks are.


10804750996_f1dd23d20e_o.jpg

 


#8 Smiki007

Smiki007

    OC in Blood

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 163 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lima, Peru

Posted 03 June 2013 - 12:54 PM

Ok, thanks to all of you, the doubt is clarified. :)


Edited by Smiki007, 03 June 2013 - 12:55 PM.


My_Rig.jpgxNCqq1.gif
 
Always look beyond the limits...
 


#9 Smiki007

Smiki007

    OC in Blood

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 163 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lima, Peru

Posted 13 June 2013 - 06:12 AM

I need help to decide.

what is better? two independent loops (one for CPU and one for VGAs), or only one loop (CPU+VGAs).

WC parts :

1. CPU Block Swiftech APOGEE HD Ultimate Extreme Performance

2. Water Pump Swiftech MCP 655 B

3. Reservoirs: Phobya G-Changer 360, Phobya Xtreme 200

4. Reservoir Swiftech MCRES Rev. 2

5. Swiftech MCR220 Drive Rev.3 Dual 120mm Radiator w/ Integrated Pump

6. EKWB Black Acetal WB for Titan/780 cards

My idea was to have one loop (items from 1-4), for CPU; and one loop for VGAs (item 5-6).


Edited by Smiki007, 13 June 2013 - 09:23 AM.


My_Rig.jpgxNCqq1.gif
 
Always look beyond the limits...
 


#10 Waco

Waco

    Lab Rat 2

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15211 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Alamos, NM

Posted 13 June 2013 - 04:20 PM

I say one loop.

Posted Image

Booyah.


#11 d6bmg

d6bmg

    BMG FTW!!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4120 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 14 June 2013 - 07:35 AM

I say one loop.

:withstupid:

For your setup, I would say one loop is more than enough.


boozei.gif


#12 Smiki007

Smiki007

    OC in Blood

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 163 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lima, Peru

Posted 25 June 2013 - 06:30 AM

Thanks.


Edited by Smiki007, 25 June 2013 - 06:35 AM.


My_Rig.jpgxNCqq1.gif
 
Always look beyond the limits...