Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

quick question for laptop hd


  • Please log in to reply
32 replies to this topic

#1 Pteroduck

Pteroduck

    Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 507 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 10 April 2013 - 02:17 PM

can i rip my laptop's HD and put it into my gaming pc to back it up?
or will it fry the drive?



#2 IVIYTH0S

IVIYTH0S

    They call me... General Help.

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 20773 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pennsauken, NJ

Posted 10 April 2013 - 02:24 PM

Nope, that's what I do every month!

"GilliumX58" DESKTOP
Mobo: Asus P8Z68-V-PRO | Processor: Intel Core i7 2600K @ 4.6ghz | CPU Cooler: Zalman CNPS9900MAXR | Videocard: MSI Twin Frozr HD7970
Memory: Patriot Viper 3 8GB 1866mhz | OS SSD: SanDisk Extreme 240GB SATA | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W
Monitor: Samsung 30" 305T | CD/DVD: Samsung SH-S223F | Keyboard: Razer Tarantula | Mouse: Razer Lachesis

OCC Cool Club Member

 
 

 

GPU Comparison tool on AnAndTech


#3 Pteroduck

Pteroduck

    Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 507 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 10 April 2013 - 02:43 PM

so i have to back it up manually, like i cant pull the hard drive out and put it into my rig to back it up on another drive?



#4 SpikeSoprano

SpikeSoprano

    Certified Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1647 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cape Breton,Canada

Posted 10 April 2013 - 02:49 PM

so i have to back it up manually, like i cant pull the hard drive out and put it into my rig to back it up on another drive?

Sure you can, just make sure the bios is not set to boot from it. :)


CPU>I7 2600K  -MB>GIGABYTE  Z68X-UD3H-B3-MEM>16 GB KINGSTON 1600 MHZ-COOLER> HYPER 212 EVO

VIDEO>ZOTAC GTX 660 2 GB-SSD>VERTEX 3 120 GB-HD>WD 500+WD 250 GB- G500 MOUSE
CASE>ROSEWILL CHALLENGER W/4 120MM FANS-PSU> 650 WATT-MONITOR>24 INCH BENQ


#5 Pteroduck

Pteroduck

    Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 507 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 10 April 2013 - 02:54 PM

it wont fry the drive or anything? im scared cause im plugging it into an actual psu and not a battery :P



#6 SpikeSoprano

SpikeSoprano

    Certified Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1647 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cape Breton,Canada

Posted 10 April 2013 - 02:59 PM

it wont fry the drive or anything? im scared cause im plugging it into an actual psu and not a battery :P

No prob, I use laptop hd,s in desktops quite a bit, never had a problem, they run the same volts as a desktop hd.


CPU>I7 2600K  -MB>GIGABYTE  Z68X-UD3H-B3-MEM>16 GB KINGSTON 1600 MHZ-COOLER> HYPER 212 EVO

VIDEO>ZOTAC GTX 660 2 GB-SSD>VERTEX 3 120 GB-HD>WD 500+WD 250 GB- G500 MOUSE
CASE>ROSEWILL CHALLENGER W/4 120MM FANS-PSU> 650 WATT-MONITOR>24 INCH BENQ


#7 Pteroduck

Pteroduck

    Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 507 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 10 April 2013 - 03:08 PM

oh ok thanks man! im just making sure cause i'd hate to have mine die on me just right after buying it :P



#8 SpikeSoprano

SpikeSoprano

    Certified Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1647 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cape Breton,Canada

Posted 10 April 2013 - 03:12 PM

oh ok thanks man! im just making sure cause i'd hate to have mine die on me just right after buying it :P

why don't you just network your pc,s, that way you can transfer your data without removing any parts at all and it would be much easier to do on a regular basis.


CPU>I7 2600K  -MB>GIGABYTE  Z68X-UD3H-B3-MEM>16 GB KINGSTON 1600 MHZ-COOLER> HYPER 212 EVO

VIDEO>ZOTAC GTX 660 2 GB-SSD>VERTEX 3 120 GB-HD>WD 500+WD 250 GB- G500 MOUSE
CASE>ROSEWILL CHALLENGER W/4 120MM FANS-PSU> 650 WATT-MONITOR>24 INCH BENQ


#9 IVIYTH0S

IVIYTH0S

    They call me... General Help.

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 20773 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pennsauken, NJ

Posted 10 April 2013 - 04:05 PM

 

oh ok thanks man! im just making sure cause i'd hate to have mine die on me just right after buying it :P

why don't you just network your pc,s, that way you can transfer your data without removing any parts at all and it would be much easier to do on a regular basis.

 

Yeah but if it's a big backup...the extra minute or so to remove and install the drive into his desktop will be far more welcome then the MANY extra minutes of transfer time over the network instead of SATA/USB


"GilliumX58" DESKTOP
Mobo: Asus P8Z68-V-PRO | Processor: Intel Core i7 2600K @ 4.6ghz | CPU Cooler: Zalman CNPS9900MAXR | Videocard: MSI Twin Frozr HD7970
Memory: Patriot Viper 3 8GB 1866mhz | OS SSD: SanDisk Extreme 240GB SATA | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W
Monitor: Samsung 30" 305T | CD/DVD: Samsung SH-S223F | Keyboard: Razer Tarantula | Mouse: Razer Lachesis

OCC Cool Club Member

 
 

 

GPU Comparison tool on AnAndTech


#10 Pteroduck

Pteroduck

    Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 507 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 10 April 2013 - 04:34 PM

i tried it, its soooo slow....

oh when i plug it in, i want to take a system image of only that drive. not my whole drive, any ideas? its basically so i have a restore point



#11 SpikeSoprano

SpikeSoprano

    Certified Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1647 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cape Breton,Canada

Posted 10 April 2013 - 04:44 PM

i tried it, its soooo slow....

oh when i plug it in, i want to take a system image of only that drive. not my whole drive, any ideas? its basically so i have a restore point

you should use a image backup program, I use macrium reflect, mainly because it's free and it works well.


CPU>I7 2600K  -MB>GIGABYTE  Z68X-UD3H-B3-MEM>16 GB KINGSTON 1600 MHZ-COOLER> HYPER 212 EVO

VIDEO>ZOTAC GTX 660 2 GB-SSD>VERTEX 3 120 GB-HD>WD 500+WD 250 GB- G500 MOUSE
CASE>ROSEWILL CHALLENGER W/4 120MM FANS-PSU> 650 WATT-MONITOR>24 INCH BENQ


#12 Waco

Waco

    Lab Rat 2

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15504 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Alamos, NM

Posted 10 April 2013 - 04:57 PM



oh ok thanks man! im just making sure cause i'd hate to have mine die on me just right after buying it :P

why don't you just network your pc,s, that way you can transfer your data without removing any parts at all and it would be much easier to do on a regular basis.
Yeah but if it's a big backup...the extra minute or so to remove and install the drive into his desktop will be far more welcome then the MANY extra minutes of transfer time over the network instead of SATA/USB
Gigabit Ethernet is faster than 99.9% of all laptop hard drives.

Do it over a (wired) network.

sig.png

GTX 770 replaced with watercooled GTX780...but too lazy to change the sig.