Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

GTX 670sli problems


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 christopher16ph

christopher16ph

    New Member

  • Members
  • 11 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 09 April 2013 - 07:40 PM

prior going to sli, ive been running on a single asus gtx670 with my old gtx580 serving as physx

but wen i installed another gtx670 (identical) for sli, i couldnt activate the sli mode. the system crashes whenever

i try to actvate it. i took out the 580 and it still happens.

 

any help would be greatly appreciated. thanks guys!



#2 My_Inner_Fred

My_Inner_Fred

    Being Lazy

  • Folding Member
  • 1318 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sugar Land, TX

Posted 09 April 2013 - 08:00 PM

What motherboard are you using? We need more information whats your system specifications? 

Is your bios updated? How mant watts does your PSU support?


Main Rig

Mobo: ASUS P67 Sabertooth | GPU: EVGA Nvidia GTX 460 768MB | GPU2: EVGA Nvidia 520 GT 1GB | PSU: Raidmax 850W Gold Cert. | CPU: Intel I7-2600k 3.4GHz OCed to 4.6Ghz | RAM: (2x4GB) G.Skill Ripjaws X series 8GB 1600Mhz

RAM2: (2x4GB) G.Skill Ripjaws X series 8GB 1866Mhz(running at 1600Mhz) | HS: Corsair H70 Water Cooling | HDDs: OCZ Vertex 2 60GB/WD Caviar Black 1TB/WD Caviar Green 1TB | CD/DVD: ASUS DVD/CD Drive

WolfandSpice_1341388341.jpgMy_Inner_Fred.jpg


#3 christopher16ph

christopher16ph

    New Member

  • Members
  • 11 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 09 April 2013 - 11:54 PM

What motherboard are you using? We need more information whats your system specifications? 

Is your bios updated? How mant watts does your PSU support?

Im using an Asus Rampage IV Extreme and PSU of Cooler Master Silent Pro 1000w :)



#4 My_Inner_Fred

My_Inner_Fred

    Being Lazy

  • Folding Member
  • 1318 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sugar Land, TX

Posted 10 April 2013 - 12:20 AM

Hmmm thats more than enough power and the mobo is Sli compatiable. Have you tried updating the Bios? 

 

have u tried both 670s alone to see if they work?


Main Rig

Mobo: ASUS P67 Sabertooth | GPU: EVGA Nvidia GTX 460 768MB | GPU2: EVGA Nvidia 520 GT 1GB | PSU: Raidmax 850W Gold Cert. | CPU: Intel I7-2600k 3.4GHz OCed to 4.6Ghz | RAM: (2x4GB) G.Skill Ripjaws X series 8GB 1600Mhz

RAM2: (2x4GB) G.Skill Ripjaws X series 8GB 1866Mhz(running at 1600Mhz) | HS: Corsair H70 Water Cooling | HDDs: OCZ Vertex 2 60GB/WD Caviar Black 1TB/WD Caviar Green 1TB | CD/DVD: ASUS DVD/CD Drive

WolfandSpice_1341388341.jpgMy_Inner_Fred.jpg


#5 christopher16ph

christopher16ph

    New Member

  • Members
  • 11 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 10 April 2013 - 01:43 AM

Hmmm thats more than enough power and the mobo is Sli compatiable. Have you tried updating the Bios? 

 

have u tried both 670s alone to see if they work?

yup they're both working alone.. havent tried going for a bios update though.

il try it later when i get home later ;)

but if it doesnt, are there any other possible culprits?



#6 d6bmg

d6bmg

    BMG FTW!!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4120 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 10 April 2013 - 03:55 AM

Update the BIOS to latest rev and update all the drivers.

Report back what happened after that.


boozei.gif


#7 wevsspot

wevsspot

    The Pain of Being a Razorback Fan.....

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15762 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NW Arkansas

Posted 10 April 2013 - 11:25 AM

And don't forget to try a different SLi bridge (if you have a spare).


10804750996_f1dd23d20e_o.jpg

 


#8 Bosco

Bosco

    OCC Boss

  • Senior Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 32046 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Canada

Posted 10 April 2013 - 11:56 AM

And don't forget to try a different SLi bridge (if you have a spare).


:withstupid:

 

When you update the drivers do a fresh install so its nice and clean


Main Gaming Rig
Intel 3960X
MSI X79A-GD65 8D
16GB of Corsair Vengeance
NVIDIA 780TI's in SLI
Corsair Force 3 GT 240GB SSD
Coolermaster 932 Case
Noctua D14 CPU Cooler
Thermaltake Toughpower XT Platinum 1275 Watts
3 X 24" LCD's
Donating to OCC :::: OCC Site Rules :::: OCC Reviews
RIP Verran and Nemo gone but never will be forgotten.


#9 christopher16ph

christopher16ph

    New Member

  • Members
  • 11 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 10 April 2013 - 08:06 PM

thanks guys! did everything you mentioned, replaced SLI bridge, and flashed the BIOS, even changed the power cables just to be sure.

its working perfectly now. hmm, planning to make a fresh install of everything since i think i made a mess of those nvdia drivers :))



#10 wevsspot

wevsspot

    The Pain of Being a Razorback Fan.....

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15762 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NW Arkansas

Posted 11 April 2013 - 10:05 AM

Glad to hear it's sorted Chris.  Fresh installs are always nice.  It's kind of like putting on a clean pair of boxers after you get out of the shower in the morning (after four days otherwise  :))


10804750996_f1dd23d20e_o.jpg

 


#11 d6bmg

d6bmg

    BMG FTW!!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4120 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 11 April 2013 - 10:11 AM

thanks guys! did everything you mentioned, replaced SLI bridge, and flashed the BIOS, even changed the power cables just to be sure.

its working perfectly now. hmm, planning to make a fresh install of everything since i think i made a mess of those nvdia drivers :))

 

Yes, you should reinstall the OS or you can install CCleaner to clean up the mess of nvidia drivers.


boozei.gif