Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

ASRock Z77 SATA ports dead


  • Please log in to reply
42 replies to this topic

#1 mac173

mac173

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 166 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 07 April 2013 - 05:23 PM

I just installed an ASRock Z77 Extreme4 LGA 1155 Intel Z77 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard with an i7 and 16 gigs of memory, as well as a new 128gig SSD. 

The board posts up, but goes into the BIOS configuration. It cannot see any of the 3 HD's or the Optical drive connected to the SATA ports. I tested the power supply and cables and they are good, and my VGA card is OK. It is just anything connected to SATA. 

 

Any suggestions? Does this MOBO have some obscure settings I need to change? BTW, I reset to default, no change.


Intel Core 2 Duo E8200 @ 2.66GHz
eVGA nForce 730i MOBO
nVidea Geforce 9300 Onboard Graphics
8 Gig G.Skill PC800 DDR2 Memory
Corsair 750w PSU
Memorex DVD-RW Lightscribe
NZXT M59 Case (4 120mm case fans)
NZXT Fan Controller

#2 hornybluecow

hornybluecow

    I Am A Cow...

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5390 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:MT

Posted 07 April 2013 - 06:52 PM

this might sound dumb but you do have the power connected to the hdds and rom drive right? otherwise unless all the sata cables are bad you have a bad board. It should show in the bios.

 

edit: of course before tossing the board or RMA it, check all the connects and maybe try to switch them around.


hbbanner.jpg

Filckr Photostream / Workstation Build Guide / How to Overclock an Intel 4770K Guide

Main Rig: i7-3930K @ 4.2ghz, Asus P9X79 WS, Quadro FX 4800, Intel 335 240 GB, Vertex 4 120 GB, Raid-1 2x 3 TB, 64 GB (8x8gb) G-skill, Thermaltake Core V71, SeaSonic Plat 1000watt.

Review Test Rig: : i7-4770k @ 4.2ghz, MSI-GD65 Gaming, Geforce GTX 770 , Corsair Force GT 240 GB, Patriot 16 GB 2400 (2x8gb), (Case always changing) Thermaltake 750w.


#3 d6bmg

d6bmg

    BMG FTW!!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4120 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 07 April 2013 - 11:24 PM

Check your PSU at first and then the SATA power cable and SATA data cables before sending the board to RMA.


boozei.gif


#4 mac173

mac173

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 166 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 08 April 2013 - 03:27 AM

I checked the power cable, and it was fine,but I switched to a new one anyway without change. The data cables were in use in the old machine without problem, but again I tried brand new cables, no change. 

 

I just can't believe my bad luck. This board was a replacement for an RMA'd board that was no good, so I gave up and bought a new one. This is the third bad board I have gotten. I have gone over my build procedures, but I can't find anything wrong. And yes, I have read the tutorials. This is not my first build. I just never had this much trouble before. 


Intel Core 2 Duo E8200 @ 2.66GHz
eVGA nForce 730i MOBO
nVidea Geforce 9300 Onboard Graphics
8 Gig G.Skill PC800 DDR2 Memory
Corsair 750w PSU
Memorex DVD-RW Lightscribe
NZXT M59 Case (4 120mm case fans)
NZXT Fan Controller

#5 d6bmg

d6bmg

    BMG FTW!!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4120 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 08 April 2013 - 05:50 AM

^ Then though luck. Many people out there praise extreme 4 and many don't for different reasons. Your board is one of those bad board.

What next? RMA it.


Edited by d6bmg, 08 April 2013 - 05:52 AM.

boozei.gif


#6 wevsspot

wevsspot

    The Pain of Being a Razorback Fan.....

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15924 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NW Arkansas

Posted 08 April 2013 - 10:42 AM

Mac, before RMA I would recommend that you check and make sure you're running the latest BIOS revision released for the board.  If not please flash to latest BIOS.  If you are running the latest revision, there isn't any harm in re-flashing the same revision.  If your'e not comfortable with a BIOS flash, then at minimum do a full CMOS clear, including removal of the motherboard battery, move CMOS jumper pin to clear etc.

 

Two of your SATA 6Gb/s ports and all four of your SATA 3Gb/s ports are controlled by the Intel Z77 chipset, but the other two 6Gb/s ports are controlled by the ASMedia chipset, and frankly it almost impossible that all of the SATA ports from both chipsets are dead.

 

After clearing (or reflashing) your BIOS, power down and connect just your SSD to one of the Intel 6Gb/s ports.  Boot into BIOS and under SATA configuration options set those ports to AHCI mode.  And while you're in the BIOS, don't forget to enable the ASMedia 6Gb/s controller and also set it to AHCI mode.  Reboot and see if the board picks up the SSD.  If not, disconnect the SATA cable from the Intel port and connect it to the ASMedia port and check again.

 

Please report findings.


10804750996_f1dd23d20e_o.jpg

 


#7 mac173

mac173

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 166 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 08 April 2013 - 11:02 AM

wevspot,I 'think" I saw both enabled to AHCI mode, but not certain. I can flash the BIOS, this board makes it very easy. 

I will do as you said when I get home from work. Thanks


Intel Core 2 Duo E8200 @ 2.66GHz
eVGA nForce 730i MOBO
nVidea Geforce 9300 Onboard Graphics
8 Gig G.Skill PC800 DDR2 Memory
Corsair 750w PSU
Memorex DVD-RW Lightscribe
NZXT M59 Case (4 120mm case fans)
NZXT Fan Controller

#8 wevsspot

wevsspot

    The Pain of Being a Razorback Fan.....

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15924 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NW Arkansas

Posted 08 April 2013 - 11:12 AM

Interestingly enough you're not the only person I've heard from concerning that particular motherboard not detecting SSDs.  Good luck.


10804750996_f1dd23d20e_o.jpg

 


#9 hornybluecow

hornybluecow

    I Am A Cow...

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5390 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:MT

Posted 08 April 2013 - 11:22 AM

I can't believe I didn't think of a ACHI issue and SSD. I hope wevs ideas work. I was just think how this would be the first time i've heard of all sata ports being bad. but wevs right that is nearly impossible.


hbbanner.jpg

Filckr Photostream / Workstation Build Guide / How to Overclock an Intel 4770K Guide

Main Rig: i7-3930K @ 4.2ghz, Asus P9X79 WS, Quadro FX 4800, Intel 335 240 GB, Vertex 4 120 GB, Raid-1 2x 3 TB, 64 GB (8x8gb) G-skill, Thermaltake Core V71, SeaSonic Plat 1000watt.

Review Test Rig: : i7-4770k @ 4.2ghz, MSI-GD65 Gaming, Geforce GTX 770 , Corsair Force GT 240 GB, Patriot 16 GB 2400 (2x8gb), (Case always changing) Thermaltake 750w.


#10 ivangela

ivangela

    Professional Student

  • Folding Member
  • 651 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:PA, USA

Posted 08 April 2013 - 11:25 AM

See new rig in my sig.

I had a problem with one of the HDD not showing up and it was because the SATA cable popping off after I closed the case!  :mfp:

I'm just suggesting you check.

Sorry to hear it because I like the board


HTPC......Phenom II X4 940 BE @ 3.38.....AC Freezer 64 Pro......ASUS M4A79 Deluxe......2x2GB OCZ Platinum 1066......ASUS EN9500GT......Corsair CX430 PSU......WD Caviar Black 640GB and 1 TB......LG SuperMulti Blu-ray......Silverstone Black HTPC case
 

New Rig....i7 3770K (stock for now)....CM Hyper 212 Evo....ASrock Z77 Extreme4....16GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 2x8GB....XFX Black Edition 7770....Mushkin 550W modular....Corsair Force GS 240GB SSD....2x640GB WD Black....CM Storm Scout 2

 
sigimage.gif
 
"wealth...that first and greatest of all the forces within the grasp of man" Dumas


#11 mac173

mac173

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 166 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 08 April 2013 - 05:55 PM

Well, no joy. I flashed the BIOS without problem. I hooked the SSD, the Optical Drive, and one of the WD HDD's to each of the ports one at a time, none detected. I then  noticed that I had a front eSATA port connected,and disconnected it. No change. I flashed the BIOS again, no change. 

 

Any other ideas?

 

EDIT: I am going to take Wed off from work, and re-assemble the machine. Take the MOBO out, check it for defects, make sure I don't have a short somewhere........If that does not work, I will try a different case. I have a clunky old one that I never used, maybe that will clear it up. 

 

If anyone has any other ideas, I am open to anything. Voodoo is OK, but I won't kill any chickens.............


Edited by mac173, 08 April 2013 - 06:23 PM.

Intel Core 2 Duo E8200 @ 2.66GHz
eVGA nForce 730i MOBO
nVidea Geforce 9300 Onboard Graphics
8 Gig G.Skill PC800 DDR2 Memory
Corsair 750w PSU
Memorex DVD-RW Lightscribe
NZXT M59 Case (4 120mm case fans)
NZXT Fan Controller

#12 d6bmg

d6bmg

    BMG FTW!!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4120 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 09 April 2013 - 06:00 AM

I don't think your problem is related to the chassis you are using in anyway.


boozei.gif