Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Random lag while gaming


  • Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#1 Onion

Onion

    OCC Lawyer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4166 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:University of North Florida

Posted 31 March 2013 - 08:43 PM

I decided to start gaming again, so I bought GTA IV and Hitman Absolution. I tried playing GTA IV and after playing a little while, I'd get some SERIOUS lag to the point where its unplayable. Then, a little while later, it just stops lagging (without stopping playing). Same thing with Hitman. Start playing, get some lag after a few minutes, then it stops, then it starts, then it stops. No overheating, and its not system requirements, I'm way over the requirements and I have nothing else running in the background. 

 

i7 3610QM

GTX 650M

8 GB DDR3 

SSD

 

No reason for it to not run properly. :( Help?


Rig 1: Q9450 @ 4.0 â–º P45-UD3R â–º GTX 275 â–º 2 x 2 G Series â–º 2x Raptor 150 â–º Truepower Quattro 1kw â–º WC'd â–º 3d Aurora 570
Rig 2: Q6700 @ 4.0 â–º 780i â–º 8800 GTS 512 â–º 4 x 1 Tracers â–º 2 x 640GB AAKS â–º Corsair 650TX â–º Temp. Stock Cooling â–º Antec 900
Rig 3: E2200 â–º P35-DS3L â–º 2900 ICEQ â–º 2 x 1GB Ballistix â–º WD 320 â–º Antec Earthwatts 380 â–º Stock Cooling â–º Ultra Armor
Rig 4: E2160 â–º P35-DS3L â–º 8400 GT â–º 2 x 1GB ballistix â–º WD 320 â–º Antec Earthwatts 430 â–º Stock Cooling â–º Custom Case
OCC - Home of the Potato Overclock


#2 freddie

freddie

    Up the Arsenal

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 704 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Western Australia

Posted 31 March 2013 - 09:00 PM

Could be the graphics drivers, do you know which version you're on?



#3 Onion

Onion

    OCC Lawyer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4166 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:University of North Florida

Posted 31 March 2013 - 09:08 PM

Could be the graphics drivers, do you know which version you're on?

 

310.70. Thanks for the help, Freddie. :)


Rig 1: Q9450 @ 4.0 â–º P45-UD3R â–º GTX 275 â–º 2 x 2 G Series â–º 2x Raptor 150 â–º Truepower Quattro 1kw â–º WC'd â–º 3d Aurora 570
Rig 2: Q6700 @ 4.0 â–º 780i â–º 8800 GTS 512 â–º 4 x 1 Tracers â–º 2 x 640GB AAKS â–º Corsair 650TX â–º Temp. Stock Cooling â–º Antec 900
Rig 3: E2200 â–º P35-DS3L â–º 2900 ICEQ â–º 2 x 1GB Ballistix â–º WD 320 â–º Antec Earthwatts 380 â–º Stock Cooling â–º Ultra Armor
Rig 4: E2160 â–º P35-DS3L â–º 8400 GT â–º 2 x 1GB ballistix â–º WD 320 â–º Antec Earthwatts 430 â–º Stock Cooling â–º Custom Case
OCC - Home of the Potato Overclock


#4 Stonerboy779

Stonerboy779

    Puts on Q701s d-_-b

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5260 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia

Posted 31 March 2013 - 09:21 PM

Are you certain heat has nothing to do with it? It sounds like it may be throttling itself to protect itself. One other thing do you have it plugged into the wall and not running off the battery?


Posted Image

 

Man these spammers are geniuses...put (NO SPAM) in the thread title to hide the spam.  It's brilliant.  Hopefully this doesn't catch on...what if rapists wear signs that say (NOT A RAPIST)?  They will be raping everybody! D:

 

Donate to OCC - You could have won an SSD or GPU


#5 Onion

Onion

    OCC Lawyer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4166 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:University of North Florida

Posted 31 March 2013 - 09:29 PM

Are you certain heat has nothing to do with it? It sounds like it may be throttling itself to protect itself. One other thing do you have it plugged into the wall and not running off the battery?

 

Plugged into the wall, and yeah, I'm running 80-90 celcius, but I've had it over 100 celcius while gaming before with no problem. 


Rig 1: Q9450 @ 4.0 â–º P45-UD3R â–º GTX 275 â–º 2 x 2 G Series â–º 2x Raptor 150 â–º Truepower Quattro 1kw â–º WC'd â–º 3d Aurora 570
Rig 2: Q6700 @ 4.0 â–º 780i â–º 8800 GTS 512 â–º 4 x 1 Tracers â–º 2 x 640GB AAKS â–º Corsair 650TX â–º Temp. Stock Cooling â–º Antec 900
Rig 3: E2200 â–º P35-DS3L â–º 2900 ICEQ â–º 2 x 1GB Ballistix â–º WD 320 â–º Antec Earthwatts 380 â–º Stock Cooling â–º Ultra Armor
Rig 4: E2160 â–º P35-DS3L â–º 8400 GT â–º 2 x 1GB ballistix â–º WD 320 â–º Antec Earthwatts 430 â–º Stock Cooling â–º Custom Case
OCC - Home of the Potato Overclock


#6 freddie

freddie

    Up the Arsenal

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 704 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Western Australia

Posted 31 March 2013 - 09:48 PM

This is on win7?

Try a newer driver version like 314.22

http://www.geforce.c...s/results/59645


but first open "dxdiag" and see if both directdraw and direct3d are enabled.

you can type dxdiag in run or just search for it in the start menu.



#7 Onion

Onion

    OCC Lawyer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4166 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:University of North Florida

Posted 31 March 2013 - 09:50 PM

This is on win7?

Try a newer driver version like 314.22

http://www.geforce.c...s/results/59645


but first open "dxdiag" and see if both directdraw and direct3d are enabled.

you can type dxdiag in run or just search for it in the start menu.

 

Windows 8.

 

I updated like 10 minutes ago, actually. :lol: I just checked, and yeah, they're both enabled. 


Rig 1: Q9450 @ 4.0 â–º P45-UD3R â–º GTX 275 â–º 2 x 2 G Series â–º 2x Raptor 150 â–º Truepower Quattro 1kw â–º WC'd â–º 3d Aurora 570
Rig 2: Q6700 @ 4.0 â–º 780i â–º 8800 GTS 512 â–º 4 x 1 Tracers â–º 2 x 640GB AAKS â–º Corsair 650TX â–º Temp. Stock Cooling â–º Antec 900
Rig 3: E2200 â–º P35-DS3L â–º 2900 ICEQ â–º 2 x 1GB Ballistix â–º WD 320 â–º Antec Earthwatts 380 â–º Stock Cooling â–º Ultra Armor
Rig 4: E2160 â–º P35-DS3L â–º 8400 GT â–º 2 x 1GB ballistix â–º WD 320 â–º Antec Earthwatts 430 â–º Stock Cooling â–º Custom Case
OCC - Home of the Potato Overclock


#8 freddie

freddie

    Up the Arsenal

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 704 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Western Australia

Posted 31 March 2013 - 09:50 PM

Same issue?

 



#9 Stonerboy779

Stonerboy779

    Puts on Q701s d-_-b

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5260 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia

Posted 31 March 2013 - 09:59 PM

 

This is on win7?

Try a newer driver version like 314.22

http://www.geforce.c...s/results/59645


but first open "dxdiag" and see if both directdraw and direct3d are enabled.

you can type dxdiag in run or just search for it in the start menu.

 

Windows 8.

 

I updated like 10 minutes ago, actually. :lol: I just checked, and yeah, they're both enabled. 

 

Well there's your problem haha

 

80-90C is pretty hot and there is every chance it is downclocking. You should run some monitoring software and have a look at what the clock speeds, utilization and temps do while you game,


Posted Image

 

Man these spammers are geniuses...put (NO SPAM) in the thread title to hide the spam.  It's brilliant.  Hopefully this doesn't catch on...what if rapists wear signs that say (NOT A RAPIST)?  They will be raping everybody! D:

 

Donate to OCC - You could have won an SSD or GPU


#10 Whatislove

Whatislove

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 236 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Newcastle, NSW, Australia

Posted 01 April 2013 - 05:12 AM

 

 

This is on win7?

Try a newer driver version like 314.22

http://www.geforce.c...s/results/59645


but first open "dxdiag" and see if both directdraw and direct3d are enabled.

you can type dxdiag in run or just search for it in the start menu.

 

Windows 8.

 

I updated like 10 minutes ago, actually. :lol: I just checked, and yeah, they're both enabled. 

 

Well there's your problem haha

 

80-90C is pretty hot and there is every chance it is downclocking. You should run some monitoring software and have a look at what the clock speeds, utilization and temps do while you game,

 

I agree with stoner here, 80-90c is quite hot and while it is entirely possible for them to run normally at that temp, it is also possible that it is throttling to save itself from damage.

 

I had a similiar problem way back when I had an 8800gt (single slot cooling solution from galaxy or something), it was hitting 80c in WoW then downclocked to 400Mhz before finally kicking the fan to 100% and getting back to 600Mhz in a few minutes - It was crippling lag while this process was going in.

 

I attributed my problem to poor software/drivers and I haven't had any problems with any of the gfx cards I've had since. (Currently using 2 gtx 580's that sit at a nice and cool 40c under load with the w/c loop)



#11 sword_fish

sword_fish

    Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 614 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Philippines

Posted 01 April 2013 - 07:39 AM

it's the heat somewhat that i can think of either.


My Rig: Project One

2674416.png


#12 Onion

Onion

    OCC Lawyer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4166 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:University of North Florida

Posted 01 April 2013 - 08:54 AM

I should have mentioned that's CPU heat. :lol: I downloaded the latest drivers and Afterburner. I'll monitor CPU and GPU temps while I play and also see my GPU speeds to see if its throttling itself. I'll fill you guys in later. Thanks for the help everyone. 


Rig 1: Q9450 @ 4.0 â–º P45-UD3R â–º GTX 275 â–º 2 x 2 G Series â–º 2x Raptor 150 â–º Truepower Quattro 1kw â–º WC'd â–º 3d Aurora 570
Rig 2: Q6700 @ 4.0 â–º 780i â–º 8800 GTS 512 â–º 4 x 1 Tracers â–º 2 x 640GB AAKS â–º Corsair 650TX â–º Temp. Stock Cooling â–º Antec 900
Rig 3: E2200 â–º P35-DS3L â–º 2900 ICEQ â–º 2 x 1GB Ballistix â–º WD 320 â–º Antec Earthwatts 380 â–º Stock Cooling â–º Ultra Armor
Rig 4: E2160 â–º P35-DS3L â–º 8400 GT â–º 2 x 1GB ballistix â–º WD 320 â–º Antec Earthwatts 430 â–º Stock Cooling â–º Custom Case
OCC - Home of the Potato Overclock