Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Omfg, not this BS again. USB transfer 30MBs yesterday, 2MBs tooday


  • Please log in to reply
34 replies to this topic

#1 WARDOZERX

WARDOZERX

    Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 555 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Machesney Park, IL

Posted 29 March 2013 - 07:10 AM

Omfg, this problem is really getting on my nerves. Anyone know how to fix, once and for all the USB transfer rate issues with W7? Yesterday I was getting 25 - 30MB/s from an internal HDD to external HDD. Today, 2MB/s and I have tried rebooting, installing windows updates, disabling indexing on the external and even disabling stuff like BITs and stuff. Tried with 2x 1.5tb Toshiba USB 3.0 externals and a 1tb external and the same speed issue on all USB 2.0 ports with all HDD's.

 

I still have about 50gb of data to transfer and would like to finish today so any help would be oh so greatly appreciated.

 

Oh, the system with the issues is running W7 Pro x86

DFI Lanparty Jr P45-T2RS

Q6600 @ stock

2gb DDR2-800


Edited by WARDOZERX, 29 March 2013 - 07:24 AM.

Play Gang Garrison 2 http://ganggarrison.com/ The most fun you will ever have with 8-bit entertainment :D


#2 Shurman292

Shurman292

    The Shurmanator

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 679 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Indiana

Posted 29 March 2013 - 08:16 AM

Calm yourself bro.  What are you trying to transfer?  If you are sending one giant file for a bunch of large files, I'm not sure what to tell you.

 

However, if you are sending a bunch of small files (music, pics, or anything <1MB) then the USB controller on the external drive is the culprit.  That and disk thrashing. Those speeds are normal for transferring smaller files.


The Beast
CPU: i7 930 @ 4.01 ghz, 1.26v ||| Cooler: Corsair H100i
MB:ASUS P6X58D-E ||| RAM: G.Skill 6 x 2 GB @ 1528mhz/9-9-9-24/1.6v
Video: Nvidia GTX 480 @ 775mhz/1880mhz ||| Sound: ASUS Xonar D2X
SSD: Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB ||| HDDs: WD 1TB and 2TB Caviar Blacks
Optical: LG BD Writer ||| Case: CM Storm Trooper with Scythe side fans
Power: Corsair AX1200 Gold ||| OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64


#3 Waco

Waco

    Lab Rat 2

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15070 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Alamos, NM

Posted 29 March 2013 - 08:27 AM

Compress the data into a big zip archive before transferring.

Posted Image

Booyah.


#4 WARDOZERX

WARDOZERX

    Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 555 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Machesney Park, IL

Posted 29 March 2013 - 08:28 AM

Backing up my movies so a buncha 700 - 8gb files, nothing smaller than 700mb. Point is though, yesterday the files were averaging 25MB/s ish, today, 1 - 2 MB/s for the same files.

files, nothing smaller than 700mb.


Edited by WARDOZERX, 29 March 2013 - 08:50 AM.

Play Gang Garrison 2 http://ganggarrison.com/ The most fun you will ever have with 8-bit entertainment :D


#5 WARDOZERX

WARDOZERX

    Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 555 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Machesney Park, IL

Posted 29 March 2013 - 08:29 AM

Oops


Edited by WARDOZERX, 29 March 2013 - 08:50 AM.

Play Gang Garrison 2 http://ganggarrison.com/ The most fun you will ever have with 8-bit entertainment :D


#6 freddie

freddie

    Up the Arsenal

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 704 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Western Australia

Posted 29 March 2013 - 08:49 AM

Tty unstoppable copier



#7 WARDOZERX

WARDOZERX

    Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 555 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Machesney Park, IL

Posted 29 March 2013 - 08:51 AM

Tty unstoppable copier

 

Never heard of it, will try to find it and give it a shot.

 

Waco, how am I going to compress 1400gb of data on a 2tb hdd with about 300gb free? You riddle me that Batman and I'll give it a whirl ;)

 

EDIT: Unstoppable copier didn't do anything for the speed, it was actually way way slower and only allows one file at a time to be transferred.


Edited by WARDOZERX, 29 March 2013 - 09:02 AM.

Play Gang Garrison 2 http://ganggarrison.com/ The most fun you will ever have with 8-bit entertainment :D


#8 dr_bowtie

dr_bowtie

    Chronic Haggler...

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17959 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Indiana....

Posted 29 March 2013 - 09:00 AM

LOL your problems are simple DFI....


Wii-Kart code 2707-2013-4642~~~~~~ Diablo 3 drbowtie#1495

Commodore64....playing Crysis on high

Posted Image

**Noctua Owners Club: Member #2 - NH-D14**


#9 WARDOZERX

WARDOZERX

    Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 555 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Machesney Park, IL

Posted 29 March 2013 - 09:16 AM

To hell with it. I'ma pop the enclosure open, hool the HDD into the mobo and do it that way. I aint gots no times fo dis windoh's craps -.-


Play Gang Garrison 2 http://ganggarrison.com/ The most fun you will ever have with 8-bit entertainment :D


#10 WARDOZERX

WARDOZERX

    Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 555 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Machesney Park, IL

Posted 29 March 2013 - 09:17 AM

Wth with these double posts today? o_O


Edited by WARDOZERX, 29 March 2013 - 09:17 AM.

Play Gang Garrison 2 http://ganggarrison.com/ The most fun you will ever have with 8-bit entertainment :D


#11 Waco

Waco

    Lab Rat 2

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15070 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Alamos, NM

Posted 29 March 2013 - 09:37 AM


Tty unstoppable copier


Never heard of it, will try to find it and give it a shot.

Waco, how am I going to compress 1400gb of data on a 2tb hdd with about 300gb free? You riddle me that Batman and I'll give it a whirl ;)

EDIT: Unstoppable copier didn't do anything for the speed, it was actually way way slower and only allows one file at a time to be transferred.

Perhaps you should more fully detail your problem if you want better responses. :lol:

It sounds like a mobo problem - getting stuck in USB 1.0?

Posted Image

Booyah.


#12 Stonerboy779

Stonerboy779

    Puts on Q701s d-_-b

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5226 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia

Posted 29 March 2013 - 11:11 AM

I would say Waco is on the money. I know that occasionally my USB 3.0 ports have gotten stuck in 2.0 mode but it's easy for me to tell when it happens. My external hdd activity light is blue for 3.0 and white for 2.0. Just unplugging and replugging in works to fix things for me.

And yes pulling the hdd out makes for much faster transfers.

Posted Image

 

Man these spammers are geniuses...put (NO SPAM) in the thread title to hide the spam.  It's brilliant.  Hopefully this doesn't catch on...what if rapists wear signs that say (NOT A RAPIST)?  They will be raping everybody! D:

 

Donate to OCC - You could have won an SSD or GPU