Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Mouse moves on its own


  • Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 Fogel

Fogel

    Vengeance shall be Mine

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3463 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA

Posted 27 March 2013 - 12:23 PM

So I don't surf the internet much from home, but I was on last night.  So i'm online trying to type something extremely long.  Actually I was writing a guide, so it needed a bunch of formatting.  Anyhow the mouse cursor was moving on its own.  Anywhere from just a little bit to it would go from the bottom right of the screen to the top left of the screen.  Since I was playing music I was wondering if it was the subwoofer so I would pick the mouse up off the table and it stopped moving.

 

Stopped the music and for the most part it stopped moving, but it was inaccurate.  Like I wouldn't want to get caught in a FPS game even if my competition was a bunch of grannies who never played a game before.  It was driving me nuts because I'm trying to write this guide and all of sudden the computer was also getting stupid slow.  Which tends to happen if I play long videos on it (its a C2D with 2GB of RAM... or is it 4GB :unsure:) as well as play music. So I don't think the two are connected in that regard but they could be so that is why I am mentioning it.

 

I'm going to try a different mouse tonight because I really hate this razer mouse even if it does look better than the G500 I will replace it with.  Question is, do you think its the mouse or a software problem?  I seen this behavior before on other machines and different mice ...not neccesarily mine but I've seen it quite a few times.  I really haven't worried about it before because they weren't my machines.  Now its on my machine and it drives me nuts.  Not to mention trying to highlight a word in your document and the cursor just sort of vibrates away. :vmad:



#2 EuroFight

EuroFight

    I'm not lazy, I'm just energy efficient.

  • News Editor
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1561 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 27 March 2013 - 12:32 PM

I have had the same issue with my laptop sometimes. It doesn't really bother me, but perhaps it has something to do with the touchpad if you are using a laptop?


Processor AMD FX-6100 Hex-core, 3.3GHz > Intel Core 2 Duo, Dual-core, 1.6GHz

Memory 8GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600MHz >  Crucial 3GB DDR3 1066MHz

Graphics Radeon HD7770 + Radeon HD5570 > Intel 3000 Integrated Graphics

Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 Socket AM3+ > OEM Latitude XT2 Motherboard Socket P

Storage Seagate Barracuda 2TB SATA 7200.14 > Dell 64GB SSD SATA 3Gbps

Power Supply Cooler Master Elite ATX 500W > OEM Dell Power Supply 90W

Case Zalman Z11 Plus 4x 120mm fans, 3x 80mm > OEM Dell Latitude XT Case

 

"Sudo make me a sandwich" - BluePanda


#3 d6bmg

d6bmg

    BMG FTW!!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4120 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 27 March 2013 - 12:47 PM

Time to clean up the mouse pad and the sensor area of the mouse. If dust accumulate in the sensor area then this type of problem can happen.


boozei.gif


#4 rivalary

rivalary

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 301 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Alberta, Canada

Posted 27 March 2013 - 12:47 PM

Sounds like the laser is glitching out.  I would try a different mousepad, some mice like dark rather than light colored pads, or the other way around.  Also, the laser might be dusty or have a piece of dog hair or something messing around with it.

 

Edit: Beat me to it, lol


Edited by rivalary, 27 March 2013 - 12:48 PM.


#5 Fogel

Fogel

    Vengeance shall be Mine

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3463 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA

Posted 27 March 2013 - 01:03 PM

It's not the laptop (have the touchpad turned off on that anyway).

 

I'm usually pretty good at cleaning mice but I will check that since it does make sense. Will also get the G500 ready.



#6 Stonerboy779

Stonerboy779

    Puts on Q701s d-_-b

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5226 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia

Posted 27 March 2013 - 09:32 PM

I would say it is your surface. A good quality mousepad would make the world of difference. With my old mouse just going from a standard mousepad to a goliathus control edn made a huge amount of difference. Much smoother mouse trails and far more control and a little more speed.


Posted Image

 

Man these spammers are geniuses...put (NO SPAM) in the thread title to hide the spam.  It's brilliant.  Hopefully this doesn't catch on...what if rapists wear signs that say (NOT A RAPIST)?  They will be raping everybody! D:

 

Donate to OCC - You could have won an SSD or GPU


#7 Deathmineral

Deathmineral

    No soup for you!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3811 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:MO, USA

Posted 27 March 2013 - 10:39 PM

Have you tried taking the ball out and cleaning it?


Posted Image


#8 Shurman292

Shurman292

    The Shurmanator

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 679 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Indiana

Posted 28 March 2013 - 03:59 AM

Have you tried taking the ball out and cleaning it?

:lol:  I agree with the new mousepad and cleaning ideas.  It could also be a Windows problem...wouldn't hurt to do a system restore to a couple weeks back just to be sure.


The Beast
CPU: i7 930 @ 4.01 ghz, 1.26v ||| Cooler: Corsair H100i
MB:ASUS P6X58D-E ||| RAM: G.Skill 6 x 2 GB @ 1528mhz/9-9-9-24/1.6v
Video: Nvidia GTX 480 @ 775mhz/1880mhz ||| Sound: ASUS Xonar D2X
SSD: Kingston HyperX 3K 240GB ||| HDDs: WD 1TB and 2TB Caviar Blacks
Optical: LG BD Writer ||| Case: CM Storm Trooper with Scythe side fans
Power: Corsair AX1200 Gold ||| OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64


#9 SpeedCrazy

SpeedCrazy

    Life is one heck of a ride, so hang on tight!

  • Folding Member
  • 3795 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Between birth and death.

Posted 28 March 2013 - 04:07 AM

I have a somewhat similar problem. My mouse randomly double clicks. eg. If i click on an icon on my desktop to move it, 4 times out of 5 it will open it rather than selecting it.

Have you tried re-installing the driver for your mouse?


Every man dies, but not every man truly lives.

 

Fold for Team OCC
sigimage.gif?c1=FFFFFF&c2=000000&c3=0000
i7 930 @ 3.9 || Dual-SLI GTX 250 || ASUS P6X58D-E || 3x2GB G.Skill Pi @ 1600 || Corsair TX850w || 2x WD Caviar Black 500gb

 

“The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Do you understand?”

-Captain Jack Sparrow-


#10 sword_fish

sword_fish

    Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 595 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Philippines

Posted 28 March 2013 - 04:18 AM

a lot of people gone crazy with razer's synapse, it could be.


My Rig: Project One

2674416.png


#11 confuzzedintelguy

confuzzedintelguy

    Un-Banned Himself

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1730 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 28 March 2013 - 04:40 AM

I've had a wireless mouse do this multiple times on low battery life idk what mouse you're running but it might be your culprit.



#12 Fogel

Fogel

    Vengeance shall be Mine

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3463 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA

Posted 28 March 2013 - 08:26 AM

I will see if I can address the 5 posts or so here:

  • It is a wired laser Razer Spectre that I got for free with the purchase of my keyboard, so no financial attachment to it
  • I tried two mouse pads:  Razer Vespula and a normal mousepad
  • I have not done any system restores or driver updates ...though may be worth a try

I have a somewhat similar problem. My mouse randomly double clicks. eg. If i click on an icon on my desktop to move it, 4 times out of 5 it will open it rather than selecting it.

Have you tried re-installing the driver for your mouse?

 

Speaking of which, another problem I am having with it is when I double click the guide I saved on my desktop it wouldn't open.  Sometimes it takes me spamming the button to get it to open.  But if I highlight and press the Enter button on the keyboard it opens up just fine every time.  I checked the settings and the double click setting appears ok.

 

I cleaned the area around the laser and the mousepad, just in case there was dust I couldn't see.  There still seems to be something not quite right about it.  Like it is moving, at least it feels like it, but I can't see it.

 

 

It was driving me nuts so I switched it with the G500 I use to travel around with my laptop and that is much better.  I probably should try this razer mouse with the laptop to see if it does the same thing with it, but if it is the mouse I'm not sure I want to subject my poor laptop to it.  Maybe I should bring it here to work ...than I will have an awesome reason to be unproductive. :lol: