Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

corsair h100 refurb fail...


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 cjloki

cjloki

    Demigod

  • Donated T5
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3056 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Riverside CA.

Posted 27 March 2013 - 10:45 AM

About a couple months or so ago, when I decided to give amd a try, I bought and installed a refurb'd h100 to go with it...well it looks like the pump is gone...temps have jumped from mid to low 20's to 80's with warning banner pop ups.....no more refurb'd cooling for me...i bought a new replacement from amazon, and the dead one will be going back fry's asap

#1) ASUS F2A85-V PRO+AMD 6800k@4.7ghz,Corsair H100,20gb Crucial Ballistix ddr3 1600@1866,xfx7970 Black,GTX650 physx,2x128gb vertex4's raid0,2x600gb WD velociraptors,Sony OptiarcDVD rw,Antec1200 Full tower,Coolmax cug-950,w8pro64, gaming

#2) ASUS rampage formula+qx9770@4ghz, Corsair h100, 4gb ocz 1200, twin cav black 500's raid/0, CF 2x6870, corsair 750, custom DIY coolermaster glite mid tower, Sony OptiarcDVD, w7pro64, main office/server/gamin

#3) Gigabyte p55ud5+I-7 875k@2.93turbo, 4g gskill PIS 2200, nvidia gt520, corsair h50, samsung f3 1tb, lg supermultiDVD, coolermaster 500w psu, raidmax sieran, win8pro64 clone, strictly folding 15k-30k ppd 

Bloodbath

 Warweeny: " just let it go, be free and relax ! "

 


#2 RedFury77

RedFury77

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 277 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Big Bear Lake, CA

Posted 27 March 2013 - 12:05 PM

That sucks, usually "refurb" stuff is just open/damaged box stuff...


i5-3570K @ 4.6GHz P8Z77-V LK l 8gb DDR3-1600 

Asus GTX 780 DCUll  Vertex 3 120gb SSD l 2tb WD black HDD + 1tb Barracuda

Corsair TX750 Cougar Evolution 


#3 cjloki

cjloki

    Demigod

  • Donated T5
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3056 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Riverside CA.

Posted 27 March 2013 - 01:17 PM

That sucks, usually "refurb" stuff is just open/damaged box stuff...

oh man I know right...well it just showed me not to trust too much..i'll be thinking twice before putting my main system in jeopardy again...

#1) ASUS F2A85-V PRO+AMD 6800k@4.7ghz,Corsair H100,20gb Crucial Ballistix ddr3 1600@1866,xfx7970 Black,GTX650 physx,2x128gb vertex4's raid0,2x600gb WD velociraptors,Sony OptiarcDVD rw,Antec1200 Full tower,Coolmax cug-950,w8pro64, gaming

#2) ASUS rampage formula+qx9770@4ghz, Corsair h100, 4gb ocz 1200, twin cav black 500's raid/0, CF 2x6870, corsair 750, custom DIY coolermaster glite mid tower, Sony OptiarcDVD, w7pro64, main office/server/gamin

#3) Gigabyte p55ud5+I-7 875k@2.93turbo, 4g gskill PIS 2200, nvidia gt520, corsair h50, samsung f3 1tb, lg supermultiDVD, coolermaster 500w psu, raidmax sieran, win8pro64 clone, strictly folding 15k-30k ppd 

Bloodbath

 Warweeny: " just let it go, be free and relax ! "

 


#4 cjloki

cjloki

    Demigod

  • Donated T5
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3056 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Riverside CA.

Posted 28 March 2013 - 04:04 PM

just finished pulling the dead h100 and reverted the gamer to stock cpu cooling with fresh tim, detuned bios back to default settings and she up and running again...corsair rma site was a little tricky online so i had to call in the rma, but it's done,...the old one will be going back when the new one gets here...hopefully tomorrow or saturday...the tech told me they just did a website revamp so things are still a little bit goofy, but it should all be working properly in a few days...


#1) ASUS F2A85-V PRO+AMD 6800k@4.7ghz,Corsair H100,20gb Crucial Ballistix ddr3 1600@1866,xfx7970 Black,GTX650 physx,2x128gb vertex4's raid0,2x600gb WD velociraptors,Sony OptiarcDVD rw,Antec1200 Full tower,Coolmax cug-950,w8pro64, gaming

#2) ASUS rampage formula+qx9770@4ghz, Corsair h100, 4gb ocz 1200, twin cav black 500's raid/0, CF 2x6870, corsair 750, custom DIY coolermaster glite mid tower, Sony OptiarcDVD, w7pro64, main office/server/gamin

#3) Gigabyte p55ud5+I-7 875k@2.93turbo, 4g gskill PIS 2200, nvidia gt520, corsair h50, samsung f3 1tb, lg supermultiDVD, coolermaster 500w psu, raidmax sieran, win8pro64 clone, strictly folding 15k-30k ppd 

Bloodbath

 Warweeny: " just let it go, be free and relax ! "

 


#5 d6bmg

d6bmg

    BMG FTW!!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4120 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 29 March 2013 - 12:00 AM

Sadly, the refrub unit you got was bad, mate. Tough luck.


boozei.gif


#6 RedFury77

RedFury77

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 277 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Big Bear Lake, CA

Posted 29 March 2013 - 08:15 AM

Replaced direct from corsair?  No waiting while they inspect the old one?  Nice!   Too bad you had to do it in the first place, but at least they are doing you right.  

 

I just realized last night that I need to send in (yet again) one of my MSI N560GTX cards.  Damn thing is overheating again.  New TIM helped a little bit but it's no good.  This will be my third RMA for this card.  At least they are close to me (you too I see), just down in City of Industry.


i5-3570K @ 4.6GHz P8Z77-V LK l 8gb DDR3-1600 

Asus GTX 780 DCUll  Vertex 3 120gb SSD l 2tb WD black HDD + 1tb Barracuda

Corsair TX750 Cougar Evolution 


#7 ekiM

ekiM

    I need help in BF:BC2

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 663 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London, ON

Posted 29 March 2013 - 08:46 AM

Corsair always treats their customers properly 


"Why is it that when you take advantage of a tax break, you're a smart businessman, but if you take advantage of something you need to not be hungry (food stamps), you're a moocher?" Jon Stewart

#8 wevsspot

wevsspot

    The Pain of Being a Razorback Fan.....

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15945 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NW Arkansas

Posted 29 March 2013 - 09:22 AM

Lesson learned.  Some things can be great buys when choosing factory repaired, recertified or refurbished.  CPU water cooling may not be one of them  :)


10804750996_f1dd23d20e_o.jpg

 


#9 Fogel

Fogel

    Vengeance shall be Mine

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3463 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:USA

Posted 29 March 2013 - 11:53 AM

Ya that could have went a lot worse, so glad it worked out for ya.  The hassle sucks though.



#10 cjloki

cjloki

    Demigod

  • Donated T5
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3056 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Riverside CA.

Posted 09 April 2013 - 08:57 AM

yup, well i just got the good news notice that corsair is coming thru !! my rma replacement is on the way !! hooray


#1) ASUS F2A85-V PRO+AMD 6800k@4.7ghz,Corsair H100,20gb Crucial Ballistix ddr3 1600@1866,xfx7970 Black,GTX650 physx,2x128gb vertex4's raid0,2x600gb WD velociraptors,Sony OptiarcDVD rw,Antec1200 Full tower,Coolmax cug-950,w8pro64, gaming

#2) ASUS rampage formula+qx9770@4ghz, Corsair h100, 4gb ocz 1200, twin cav black 500's raid/0, CF 2x6870, corsair 750, custom DIY coolermaster glite mid tower, Sony OptiarcDVD, w7pro64, main office/server/gamin

#3) Gigabyte p55ud5+I-7 875k@2.93turbo, 4g gskill PIS 2200, nvidia gt520, corsair h50, samsung f3 1tb, lg supermultiDVD, coolermaster 500w psu, raidmax sieran, win8pro64 clone, strictly folding 15k-30k ppd 

Bloodbath

 Warweeny: " just let it go, be free and relax ! "

 


#11 d6bmg

d6bmg

    BMG FTW!!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4120 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 10 April 2013 - 08:12 AM

yup, well i just got the good news notice that corsair is coming thru !! my rma replacement is on the way !! hooray

 

Who paid the shipping cost? :rolleyes:


boozei.gif