39 replies to this topic

#1 IVIYTH0S

IVIYTH0S

They call me... General Help.

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 20067 posts

Posted 16 March 2013 - 02:25 AM

So I'm still fairly newbish to credit cards still (only have two, the first of which is just about to hit 1 year) and I had some questions that some of you may be able to answer...

1st: I have an offer for an American Express that's tempting (Right now I have a CapitolOne-Mastercard and a DiscoverIt) with a free first year... Now if I were to cancel it right before it starts up the membership fee, would my credit rating take a hit?? (and if so, would it still be more beneficial to have it for that almost-year to build credit with, assuming I still come out higher than if I never got it)

2nd: Related to the nature of the first question, my CapitolOne has always has had an annual fee (I had no choice, it was my first card and nothing else would accept me) and I'm thinking about canceling it or switching to another one of their cards that still is a cashback card but doesn't have an annual fee. Would it still hurt my credit score if I switched cards within the same company??

Thanks for any help ya'll can give.

"GilliumX58" DESKTOP
Mobo: Asus P6TD Deluxe | Processor: Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.8ghz | CPU Cooler: Zalman CNPS9900MAXR | Videocard: MSI Twin Frozr HD7970
Memory: Patriot 12GB 1600mhz | OS SSD: SanDisk Extreme 240GB SATA | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W
Monitor: *Debranded* HP 24" 2408H | CD/DVD: Samsung SH-S223F | Keyboard: Razer Tarantula | Mouse: Razer Lachesis

OCC Cool Club Member

GPU Comparison tool on AnAndTech

#2 MercuryDoun

MercuryDoun

Banana

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1544 posts

Posted 16 March 2013 - 02:50 AM