Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

what to know about SSD drives

SSD

  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Mercman

Mercman

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 174 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South-Africa

Posted 13 March 2013 - 06:07 AM

Hi all

 

For my birthday my parents got me a SSD. It’s the Plextor PX-128M5S drive. I know it’s not the best

but I got it for free….and free is my kind of price.

 

What is there to know about a SSD for a person how is using it for the first time?

 

The one guy told me I must set met windows temp folder to one of my plate drives and disable my

virtual memory as this increases the read and write life cycle of the drive. Is this true?

 

Thanks

Merc


[email protected](1.104V) - GIGABYTE G-POWER PRO 2 CPU COOLER - 12GB CORSAIR VENGEANCE 1600MHZ - GIGABYTE GA-X58-UD3R REV.2 - GIGABYTE GTX670 OC 2GB - THERMALTAKE TOUGH POWER 700W MODULAR - HAF-X CASE - 2TB SAMSUNG HHD (SATA) - 160GB SEAGATE (SATA) - RAZER MAMBA MOUSE- MICROSOFT / RAZER RECLUSA KEYBOARD - WINDOWS 7 ULTIMATE 64 BIT

#2 Tjj226_Angel

Tjj226_Angel

    Total Nerd

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2526 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Fredericksburg, VA

Posted 13 March 2013 - 06:37 AM

First off, your drive is actually pretty darn good. Plextor is an awesome SSD manufacturer. 

 

Second, I think THE most important thing to do first is set your sata controller in your BIOS to AHCI. 

 

That way you can at least install windows. 

 

Everything else is a matter of trying to keep as much free space on your SSD as possible, and that is your choice. Personally I find 128GB is enough space to not even worry about it. 



#3 d6bmg

d6bmg

    BMG FTW!!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4120 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 13 March 2013 - 06:51 AM

What is there to know about a SSD for a person how is using it for the first time?

 

The one guy told me I must set met windows temp folder to one of my plate drives and disable my

virtual memory as this increases the read and write life cycle of the drive. Is this true?

 

Everyone tries to maximize the use of space in a SSD. Sometimes windows temp folder gets so big that it waste space in SSD.

As you have got a 128GB of SSD, and if you use it only as boot drive and install some apps and games in it and you do proper maintenance, you shouldn't have to worry about the space in that drive.


boozei.gif


#4 Mercman

Mercman

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 174 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South-Africa

Posted 13 March 2013 - 07:49 AM

 

What is there to know about a SSD for a person how is using it for the first time?

 

The one guy told me I must set met windows temp folder to one of my plate drives and disable my

virtual memory as this increases the read and write life cycle of the drive. Is this true?

 

Everyone tries to maximize the use of space in a SSD. Sometimes windows temp folder gets so big that it waste space in SSD.

As you have got a 128GB of SSD, and if you use it only as boot drive and install some apps and games in it and you do proper maintenance, you shouldn't have to worry about the space in that drive.

 

Thanks for the reply's.

 

This is what I am going for. Just install windows along with Dota 2 and a few apps on the SSD the rest will be on my storage drive.  

 

Thanks for the BIOS change tip Tjj226_Angel...i did not know that.

 

I am sure as hell going to enjoy the faster boot times.

 

 
[email protected](1.104V) - GIGABYTE G-POWER PRO 2 CPU COOLER - 12GB CORSAIR VENGEANCE 1600MHZ - GIGABYTE GA-X58-UD3R REV.2 - GIGABYTE GTX670 OC 2GB - THERMALTAKE TOUGH POWER 700W MODULAR - HAF-X CASE - 2TB SAMSUNG HHD (SATA) - 160GB SEAGATE (SATA) - RAZER MAMBA MOUSE- MICROSOFT / RAZER RECLUSA KEYBOARD - WINDOWS 7 ULTIMATE 64 BIT

#5 Mercman

Mercman

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 174 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South-Africa

Posted 19 March 2013 - 01:01 AM

okay the SSD is up and running.

 

in the BIOS there is a quick boot option...does this make a big difference and are there any drawbacks?  


[email protected](1.104V) - GIGABYTE G-POWER PRO 2 CPU COOLER - 12GB CORSAIR VENGEANCE 1600MHZ - GIGABYTE GA-X58-UD3R REV.2 - GIGABYTE GTX670 OC 2GB - THERMALTAKE TOUGH POWER 700W MODULAR - HAF-X CASE - 2TB SAMSUNG HHD (SATA) - 160GB SEAGATE (SATA) - RAZER MAMBA MOUSE- MICROSOFT / RAZER RECLUSA KEYBOARD - WINDOWS 7 ULTIMATE 64 BIT

#6 wevsspot

wevsspot

    The Pain of Being a Razorback Fan.....

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15768 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NW Arkansas

Posted 19 March 2013 - 05:19 AM

Hey Merc, QBO only affects some of the BIOS boot checks.  It will not impact the operating performance of any of your drives one way or another.  There aren't any drawbacks.  The only benefit is a slightly faster boot to Windows.


10804750996_f1dd23d20e_o.jpg

 


#7 Kuronin

Kuronin

    Stand back, it's killing time.

  • Folding Member
  • 724 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 19 March 2013 - 01:19 PM

I am actually interested in this topic as well, I just bought 

http://www.newegg.co...N82E16820211603

 

I just have questions about using other drives with it. I take videos, and 256 isn't a whole lot of space. Is there a way I can install my games on the SSD and chop the loading times, and also use my old 800GB WD drive to store clips and files?

 

With my old HD, I noticed that whenever I tried to save footage to a drive that was not the primary drive, it would cause the game to lag and stutter badly. Is that something I need to worry about?


f97234c9dd3c960b.png


#8 Mercman

Mercman

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 174 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South-Africa

Posted 19 March 2013 - 08:13 PM

I am actually interested in this topic as well, I just bought 

http://www.newegg.co...N82E16820211603

 

I just have questions about using other drives with it. I take videos, and 256 isn't a whole lot of space. Is there a way I can install my games on the SSD and chop the loading times, and also use my old 800GB WD drive to store clips and files?

 

With my old HD, I noticed that whenever I tried to save footage to a drive that was not the primary drive, it would cause the game to lag and stutter badly. Is that something I need to worry about?

 

Cool thanks Wevsspot.

 

@Kuronin : I am using the SSD only for my Dota 2 and a few applications the rest is installed on my 2TB storage drive. I don't experience any lag or shutter on Dishonored...the only game i have played since the SSD is in my system that was not installed on it.

 

I am having quite a hard time changing my default install location for Windows. Google searches got me to a few threads about this but i cant get it to work. I go regedit then HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE \ SOFTWARE \ Microsoft \ Windows \ CurrentVersion and then change the path of the ProgramFilesDir, ProgramFilesDir (x86) files in there. Reboot the PC but then it starts to screw around with my shortcuts.

 

Can some please guide me in the right direction cause i don't want to change the install location every time.

 

Thanks Merc 


[email protected](1.104V) - GIGABYTE G-POWER PRO 2 CPU COOLER - 12GB CORSAIR VENGEANCE 1600MHZ - GIGABYTE GA-X58-UD3R REV.2 - GIGABYTE GTX670 OC 2GB - THERMALTAKE TOUGH POWER 700W MODULAR - HAF-X CASE - 2TB SAMSUNG HHD (SATA) - 160GB SEAGATE (SATA) - RAZER MAMBA MOUSE- MICROSOFT / RAZER RECLUSA KEYBOARD - WINDOWS 7 ULTIMATE 64 BIT

#9 wevsspot

wevsspot

    The Pain of Being a Razorback Fan.....

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15768 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NW Arkansas

Posted 20 March 2013 - 05:48 AM

Merc, the registry modification you've referenced above should change the default program installation location just like you intend it too.  Not sure why it would be messing with your shortcuts, assuming that all you did was install Windows, updates and drivers and then immediately make the registry tweak above.  If it is just a problem with the shortcut target folder location that can easily be changed in the shortcut properties.

 

With all that being said, I don't fret over having to change the install location every time.  I just change the install location during the application installation - and if it doesn't give me the option to change the location I just deal with the one or two programs that "want" to be on my "C" drive.


10804750996_f1dd23d20e_o.jpg

 


#10 RedFury77

RedFury77

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 255 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Big Bear Lake, CA

Posted 21 March 2013 - 12:27 PM

I just made folders on D: labeled Program Files and Program Files (x86).  Then whenever you are prompted during an install you can just change the c: to d: and are good to go.  I did the regedit like you said above too.  So I actually have to change the default d: to c if it's something I want on the ssd.

 

Also, the absolute easiest way of moving all new users folder to the d: (hdd),

create a Users folder on d: then

regedit> HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\ Microsoft\Windows NT\ Curent Version \Profile List

change ProfilesDirectory to D:\Users 

 

Now make a new profile and delete the old one on the c:

 

Works so easy on new installs.


i5-3570K @ 4.6GHz P8Z77-V LK l 8gb DDR3-1600 

Asus GTX 780 DCUll  Vertex 3 120gb SSD l 2tb WD black HDD + 1tb Barracuda

Corsair TX750 Cougar Evolution 






Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: SSD