Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Raspberry Pi


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 BluePanda

BluePanda

    Lab Rat

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2259 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Los Alamos

Posted 10 March 2013 - 05:32 PM

So -- I'm looking for a new hobby/project -- something to do outside work and play...lol.

 

So I'm thinking a Raspberry Pi -- 

 

Anyone have one? What did you do with it?

 

What should I attempt? :lol:



#2 dr_bowtie

dr_bowtie

    Chronic Haggler...

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 18063 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Indiana....

Posted 10 March 2013 - 06:15 PM

I really wanted one for a long time due to the customization of casing but I've since gotten a RikoMagic MK802-III and called it a day and use it as an HTPC as well... best part is? It's CHEAP...

 

if you get the hankerin t get the Pi post up the linkage and what case maybe


Wii-Kart code 2707-2013-4642~~~~~~ Diablo 3 drbowtie#1495

Commodore64....playing Crysis on high

Posted Image

**Noctua Owners Club: Member #2 - NH-D14**


#3 Onion

Onion

    OCC Lawyer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4200 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:University of North Florida

Posted 10 March 2013 - 06:23 PM

In all honesty, I much prefer mixed fruit. 

 

BCO_Fruit_tart.jpg


Rig 1: Q9450 @ 4.0 â–º P45-UD3R â–º GTX 275 â–º 2 x 2 G Series â–º 2x Raptor 150 â–º Truepower Quattro 1kw â–º WC'd â–º 3d Aurora 570
Rig 2: Q6700 @ 4.0 â–º 780i â–º 8800 GTS 512 â–º 4 x 1 Tracers â–º 2 x 640GB AAKS â–º Corsair 650TX â–º Temp. Stock Cooling â–º Antec 900
Rig 3: E2200 â–º P35-DS3L â–º 2900 ICEQ â–º 2 x 1GB Ballistix â–º WD 320 â–º Antec Earthwatts 380 â–º Stock Cooling â–º Ultra Armor
Rig 4: E2160 â–º P35-DS3L â–º 8400 GT â–º 2 x 1GB ballistix â–º WD 320 â–º Antec Earthwatts 430 â–º Stock Cooling â–º Custom Case
OCC - Home of the Potato Overclock


#4 freddie

freddie

    Up the Arsenal

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 704 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Western Australia

Posted 10 March 2013 - 08:22 PM

I've since gotten a RikoMagic MK802-III and called it a day and use it as an HTPC as well... best part is? It's CHEAP...


Tempted to use that as a dedicated xbmc machine, what are your experiences with it?
 



#5 cjloki

cjloki

    Demigod

  • Donated T5
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3068 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Riverside CA.

Posted 10 March 2013 - 08:53 PM

that's a very interesting idea !


#1) ASUS F2A85-V PRO+AMD 6800k@4.7ghz,Corsair H100,20gb Crucial Ballistix ddr3 1600@1866,xfx7970 Black,GTX650 physx,2x128gb vertex4's raid0,2x600gb WD velociraptors,Sony OptiarcDVD rw,Antec1200 Full tower,Coolmax cug-950,w8pro64, gaming

#2) ASUS rampage formula+qx9770@4ghz, Corsair h100, 4gb ocz 1200, twin cav black 500's raid/0, CF 2x6870, corsair 750, custom DIY coolermaster glite mid tower, Sony OptiarcDVD, w7pro64, main office/server/gamin

#3) Gigabyte p55ud5+I-7 875k@2.93turbo, 4g gskill PIS 2200, nvidia gt520, corsair h50, samsung f3 1tb, lg supermultiDVD, coolermaster 500w psu, raidmax sieran, win8pro64 clone, strictly folding 15k-30k ppd 

Bloodbath

 Warweeny: " just let it go, be free and relax ! "

 


#6 Nephilumos

Nephilumos

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 248 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

Posted 10 March 2013 - 09:19 PM

I made mine into a portable ssh tunneling device. I'm not very creative.

I refuse to cook poop with a computer...thanks

Main Rig:
Antec 1200
Asus Maximus VI Hero
i7 4770K @ 3.5GHz w/HT
16GB G.Skill Ripjaws 1600MHz RAM
EVGA GTX670 4GB

Corsair H100i
Corsair Enthusiast 850w PSU

Heatware


#7 dr_bowtie

dr_bowtie

    Chronic Haggler...

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 18063 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Indiana....

Posted 11 March 2013 - 02:43 AM

 

I've since gotten a RikoMagic MK802-III and called it a day and use it as an HTPC as well... best part is? It's CHEAP...


Tempted to use that as a dedicated xbmc machine, what are your experiences with it?
 

 

 

 

I love it. I have not tried XMBC on it but thought I saw where it was available... it works well for everything else...I use it as a desktop when i dont need my main rig... it is that good


Wii-Kart code 2707-2013-4642~~~~~~ Diablo 3 drbowtie#1495

Commodore64....playing Crysis on high

Posted Image

**Noctua Owners Club: Member #2 - NH-D14**


#8 paulktreg

paulktreg

    Member

  • Donated T5
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3892 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Clitheroe, UK.

Posted 11 March 2013 - 02:00 PM

I have one and XMBC is loaded onto a card and ready to go so I just need to try it when I've time. Apparently I can load an app on my Galaxy Tab and use that as the remote control! My work colleague has one up and running and it works very well apparently.


i7 [email protected]/GA-X58A-UD3R/3x2GB Corsair/2 X 460 SLI/Seagate 1TB/Fractal Design Define R3 Case/Seasonic X-Series 760W/SAMSUNG 2032BW/ACER AL1916W/WIN 7 PRO


#9 greengiant912

greengiant912

    hl2.exe has stopped working

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1453 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Waukesha, WI

Posted 11 March 2013 - 08:22 PM

I have been thinking about picking up a few. I wish the I/O had more besides your basic, wish it had another ethernet port, or at least the ability to add one :)

 

Then I could do all sorts of cool networking stuff :D

 

 

I was thinking about setting one up as a VPN appliance, but dunno how well it would work. I haven't gone to far in depth with them but have read a little bit about them. 

 

Dont really need it for a media center pc, as I have my Apple TV, which streams everything in my iTunes library and what is on the cloud :)


Edited by greengiant912, 11 March 2013 - 08:23 PM.

My Website  Twitter  XBL  PSN  STEAM

MSI Z68A-GD65(G3) - Intel i7 2600k - eVGA GTX570 Classified - 16gb Gskill DDR3 - Windows 7 Professional x64

15 inch Macbook Pro with Retina Display - Apple iPhone 5s 32gb - iPad 2 - 32gb - Xbox 360 Elite - PlayStation 3 (Slim) - Nintendo Wii - Xbox One - PlayStation 4

Server+ Certified - A+ Certified - Bachelors of Science in Information Technology


#10 d6bmg

d6bmg

    BMG FTW!!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4135 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 11 March 2013 - 09:57 PM

I've two of them. One is loaded with XMBC and works as mini HTPC.

Another one is for playing with hardware, I keep changing the OS. Tried Arch Linux, Raspbian wheezy, fedora, RoscOS.


Talking about the things you can do with it, see this: http://www.hanselman...nyComputer.aspx

There are some interesting projects in there.

All the potential of pi will depend on what accessories you buy with it.

And if you don't have sufficient time to mod it, just play with it.

Lastly, if you want to learn ARM, then Raspberry pi isn't a good option. Then you should look at more costlier options like PandaBoard ES, Ordroid-X.


Edited by d6bmg, 11 March 2013 - 09:58 PM.

boozei.gif


#11 freddie

freddie

    Up the Arsenal

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 704 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Western Australia

Posted 12 March 2013 - 09:14 AM

I have one and XMBC is loaded onto a card and ready to go so I just need to try it when I've time. Apparently I can load an app on my Galaxy Tab and use that as the remote control! My work colleague has one up and running and it works very well apparently.


From what I've heard/read it seems to be slow when navigating the menus but plays videos fine.

 

I love it. I have not tried XMBC on it but thought I saw where it was available... it works well for everything else...I use it as a desktop when i dont need my main rig... it is that good


Looks good but again XBMC doesn't seem to run too well on it :( 



#12 dr_bowtie

dr_bowtie

    Chronic Haggler...

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 18063 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Indiana....

Posted 12 March 2013 - 09:54 AM

I dont use xmbc... I myself find no need to.

 

Beings my media server has shared drives i just use ES File Manager... it has SMB so I can see the network drives and just play the media direct over the network via ES Media Player or the regular media player... I'm just not one to install something if i don't need it.

 

Even the built in File Manager has SMB for network access... so either way a fast way to watch media from another location


Wii-Kart code 2707-2013-4642~~~~~~ Diablo 3 drbowtie#1495

Commodore64....playing Crysis on high

Posted Image

**Noctua Owners Club: Member #2 - NH-D14**