Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

how can you know when the cpu is the bottleneck in games?


  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 WarWeeny

WarWeeny

    Don't worry, be sexy! >:3

  • Review Editor
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1303 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:leeuwarden / netherlands

Posted 05 March 2013 - 06:07 AM

i was wondering this, when the gpu lacks the horsepower it is quite clear to see/find out when, but on what things should i focus to see if my cpu may hold me back on games?


You can get the weeny out of the war, but you cannot get the war out of the weeny

Rest in peace my good old gtx 480, you deserved it

 

Thinks he has a weeny worthy of war.

 


#2 Nyt_Ryda

Nyt_Ryda

    Total Nerd

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4376 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South Africa

Posted 05 March 2013 - 07:26 AM

"how can you know when the cpu is the bottleneck in games?"
The answer is quite simple, you check if your CPU says "AMD" :tongue:  

I think you can see a CPU bottleneck with your CPU usage is extremely high or maxed out most of the time in multi-threaded games


i7 4770K | Corsair H105

ASUS Maximus VI Hero | ASUS GTX780 Ti
Corsair Vengeance Pro 2400MHz 4x4Gb | Corsair AX860i
Cooler Master Storm Trooper | Seagate Barracuda 2Tb


#3 WarWeeny

WarWeeny

    Don't worry, be sexy! >:3

  • Review Editor
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1303 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:leeuwarden / netherlands

Posted 05 March 2013 - 07:56 AM

"how can you know when the cpu is the bottleneck in games?"
The answer is quite simple, you check if your CPU says "AMD" :tongue:  

I think you can see a CPU bottleneck with your CPU usage is extremely high or maxed out most of the time in multi-threaded games

 

but ASSassins creed 3 had a cpu bottle neck in boston and my cpu wasnt maxed out then.

could change the graphics settings but the frames wouldnt increase so i asume that is a good example on how to spot a cpu bottleneck?

 

wonder how long it will take when games ask for 4ghz quadcore cpu's.... dont wanna part with my precious 760 yet :C


You can get the weeny out of the war, but you cannot get the war out of the weeny

Rest in peace my good old gtx 480, you deserved it

 

Thinks he has a weeny worthy of war.

 


#4 EuroFight

EuroFight

    I'm not lazy, I'm just energy efficient.

  • News Editor
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1609 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 05 March 2013 - 08:44 AM

Some games, for example Planetside 2, provide a way to monitor which component is the bottleneck. In Planetside 2, if you press CTRL+F, it displays the current FPS, as well as the current bottleneck in the bottom left of the screen. 


Processor AMD FX-6100 Hex-core, 3.3GHz > Intel Core 2 Duo, Dual-core, 1.6GHz

Memory 8GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600MHz >  Crucial 3GB DDR3 1066MHz

Graphics Radeon HD7770 + Radeon HD5570 > Intel 3000 Integrated Graphics

Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 Socket AM3+ > OEM Latitude XT2 Motherboard Socket P

Storage Seagate Barracuda 2TB SATA 7200.14 > Samsung 64GB SSD SATA 3Gbps

Power Supply Cooler Master Elite ATX 500W > OEM Dell Power Supply 90W

Case Zalman Z11 Plus 4x 120mm fans, 3x 80mm > OEM Dell Latitude XT Case

 

"Sudo make me a sandwich" - BluePanda


#5 WarWeeny

WarWeeny

    Don't worry, be sexy! >:3

  • Review Editor
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1303 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:leeuwarden / netherlands

Posted 05 March 2013 - 09:13 AM

Some games, for example Planetside 2, provide a way to monitor which component is the bottleneck. In Planetside 2, if you press CTRL+F, it displays the current FPS, as well as the current bottleneck in the bottom left of the screen. 

 

hmm tempting to download planetside 2 >.<

but i doubt i have a bottleneck for that game tho :P


You can get the weeny out of the war, but you cannot get the war out of the weeny

Rest in peace my good old gtx 480, you deserved it

 

Thinks he has a weeny worthy of war.

 


#6 EuroFight

EuroFight

    I'm not lazy, I'm just energy efficient.

  • News Editor
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1609 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 05 March 2013 - 09:18 AM

Some games, for example Planetside 2, provide a way to monitor which component is the bottleneck. In Planetside 2, if you press CTRL+F, it displays the current FPS, as well as the current bottleneck in the bottom left of the screen. 

 

hmm tempting to download planetside 2 >.<

but i doubt i have a bottleneck for that game tho :P

 

You're right, it's probably not worth downloading an entire game just to see what's stopping you from getting your 216th FPS...  :rolleyes:


Processor AMD FX-6100 Hex-core, 3.3GHz > Intel Core 2 Duo, Dual-core, 1.6GHz

Memory 8GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600MHz >  Crucial 3GB DDR3 1066MHz

Graphics Radeon HD7770 + Radeon HD5570 > Intel 3000 Integrated Graphics

Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 Socket AM3+ > OEM Latitude XT2 Motherboard Socket P

Storage Seagate Barracuda 2TB SATA 7200.14 > Samsung 64GB SSD SATA 3Gbps

Power Supply Cooler Master Elite ATX 500W > OEM Dell Power Supply 90W

Case Zalman Z11 Plus 4x 120mm fans, 3x 80mm > OEM Dell Latitude XT Case

 

"Sudo make me a sandwich" - BluePanda


#7 wevsspot

wevsspot

    The Pain of Being a Razorback Fan.....

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15982 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NW Arkansas

Posted 05 March 2013 - 09:40 AM

This is a tough question to answer because not all games are created equal when it comes to cpu versus gpu utilization.  As a general rule of thumb I'd propose that there are few games bottle necked by a multicore cpu running at 2.8Ghz or higher under normal circumstances.  Even the DirectX version being utilized can have an impact on cpu versus gpu "bottle necking".

 

For me the easiest way to determine whether a cpu is creating a bottleneck in a specific game is to snag some FPS data using FRAPs.  I begin the test with the cpu at stock clocks.  Record my data.  Bump cpu clock up by 20Mhz and re-run tests.  Leaving all other parameters the same except for cpu clock.  Compare results..............


10804750996_f1dd23d20e_o.jpg

 


#8 Puck

Puck

    Lord, what fools these mortals be!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3053 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 05 March 2013 - 09:41 AM

**holy multipost, looks like it got Wevs too*


Edited by Puck, 05 March 2013 - 09:42 AM.

-3770k - Asus Sabertooth Z77 - 2X4GB Patriot Viper Extreme - X-Fire'd OC'd Sapphire 7970's - 27" 2560x1440 IPS LED - Dual PSU CM SilentPro M 1Kw Main/OCZ Z-Series Z850w Slave - Custom MM Extended Ascension - Logitech G502/G710+/Homemade Stainless mousepad -

CPU Cooled by: 2x MCP655 pumps, Arqtik TEC Waterblock+2x Arqtik TEC Chillers, 2x modded Bit-Chill Dew Point controllers, 2x Black Ice GTX Gen2 480 Quads, 33x 80cfm 120mm Server fans, Homemade insulated Res on cold side, DD dual bay res w/XSPC Res plug Temp probe hot side*

GPUs Cooled by: Modded MCP655, 2xModded Enzotech Sapphire CPU Waterblocks, Zalman RAMsinks, modded stock plate VRM cooling, Phobya res, Aquacomputer Airplex Modularity 280 Rad

Wow, puck just kinda summed that one up for most of us lol. I agree with puck. :)

Man Puck... I couldn't have said it better myself!

93 Medium Patriot Red Z28 (Goes straight) - 2012 Metallic Spark Black ZX14R (Does Everything)


#9 WarWeeny

WarWeeny

    Don't worry, be sexy! >:3

  • Review Editor
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1303 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:leeuwarden / netherlands

Posted 05 March 2013 - 10:40 AM

**holy multipost, looks like it got Wevs too*

 

i missed it D:

 

@wev, 20mhz? i doubt you can see a difference xP

and what do you see as ''normal circumstances''? :P


Edited by WarWeeny, 05 March 2013 - 10:41 AM.

You can get the weeny out of the war, but you cannot get the war out of the weeny

Rest in peace my good old gtx 480, you deserved it

 

Thinks he has a weeny worthy of war.

 


#10 wevsspot

wevsspot

    The Pain of Being a Razorback Fan.....

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15982 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NW Arkansas

Posted 05 March 2013 - 11:07 AM

Run your own tests then.  Changes in cpu frequency (if cpu bound) from (for example 3.8Ghz to 4.0Ghz) will change the resulting FPS above the margin of error.

 

Normal circumstances = average number of services and/or other apps running in the background stealing cpu cycles


10804750996_f1dd23d20e_o.jpg

 


#11 RedFury77

RedFury77

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 280 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Big Bear Lake, CA

Posted 05 March 2013 - 01:06 PM

I think if you are running a game and not getting very high fps, then notice that your gpu usage is not maxing out, but cpu core usage is, then you are being bottlenecked by the cpu.  It can't feed the card\s fast enough to get better fps.

 

I was having this issue in BF3 in 64 player matches.  Compared to a 32/48 player match, my fps were noticeably lower.  IIRC, CPU was up at 90% or so while my cards were at 60%.  

 

On the otherhand, if your gpu usage is hitting the upper limits all the time you cpu is doing just fine.


i5-3570K @ 4.6GHz P8Z77-V LK l 8gb DDR3-1600 

Asus GTX 780 DCUll  Vertex 3 120gb SSD l 2tb WD black HDD + 1tb Barracuda

Corsair TX750 Cougar Evolution 


#12 d6bmg

d6bmg

    BMG FTW!!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4135 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 05 March 2013 - 01:13 PM

The only way you can understand whether CPU is bottlenecking the game or not is by overclocking the CPU and comparing both the results.


boozei.gif