Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

windows 8 for gaming desktop


  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 travism21

travism21

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 78 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:wherever you go, there you are

Posted 25 February 2013 - 08:36 AM

i'm putting together a gaming desktop and i was going to install windows 8 pro on it, because it was free and i don't have an extra $100 for windows 7, i was wondering if i would have any compatibility problems for steam games like skyrim and new vegas


case: Corsair Carbide 500r

processor: Intel core i5 3570k @ 4GHz (1.104v)

cooling: Xigmatek Dark Knight II Black Hawk Edition

motherboard: Asus P8Z77-V

GPU: Evga GTX 680 superclocked

Ram: Corsair vengence 4gbx2 @ 1600MHZ

PSU: Seasonic 750w

Hard Drive: Seagate Barracuda 2TB

OS: Windows 8 Pro 64-bit

 


#2 cjloki

cjloki

    Demigod

  • Donated T5
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3054 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Riverside CA.

Posted 25 February 2013 - 08:46 AM

well i don't know for sure wth the problem is but i can't get steam versions of crysis and warhead to work in win8 on my gamer, but it works just fine on my win7 office server, i don't get it :wallbash:  everything else seems to run just fine...i don't do skyrim and haven't tried new vegas...


#1) ASUS F2A85-V PRO+AMD 6800k@4.7ghz,Corsair H100,20gb Crucial Ballistix ddr3 1600@1866,xfx7970 Black,GTX650 physx,2x128gb vertex4's raid0,2x600gb WD velociraptors,Sony OptiarcDVD rw,Antec1200 Full tower,Coolmax cug-950,w8pro64, gaming

#2) ASUS rampage formula+qx9770@4ghz, Corsair h100, 4gb ocz 1200, twin cav black 500's raid/0, CF 2x6870, corsair 750, custom DIY coolermaster glite mid tower, Sony OptiarcDVD, w7pro64, main office/server/gamin

#3) Gigabyte p55ud5+I-7 875k@2.93turbo, 4g gskill PIS 2200, nvidia gt520, corsair h50, samsung f3 1tb, lg supermultiDVD, coolermaster 500w psu, raidmax sieran, win8pro64 clone, strictly folding 15k-30k ppd 

Bloodbath

 Warweeny: " just let it go, be free and relax ! "

 


#3 Gremlin

Gremlin

    Certified Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1490 posts
  • Location:Sacramento, CA

Posted 25 February 2013 - 12:35 PM

All games that I play: BF3, FIFA, AC3, Crysis 3, TF2. Metro works fine.. 


Gremlin_FLG.png


#4 ComputerEd

ComputerEd

    Voice of Computing Reason

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1704 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Carbondale, Il

Posted 25 February 2013 - 12:55 PM

All the games I have work fine as well, including Skyrim


Get your GEEK on ever week with Computer Ed Radio

http://computeredradio.com  http://facebook.com/computered

 

 


#5 Justhavocman

Justhavocman

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 161 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Greece

Posted 25 February 2013 - 01:57 PM

I'd stay away from Windows 8 for the moment!



#6 AZNguyen

AZNguyen

    Melting pot of friendship

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7922 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:FL

Posted 25 February 2013 - 02:00 PM

All my games run fine on windows 8


Gaming || Intel i7 3770K || Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H-B3 || G.Skill 2x 4GB || EVGA GTX 680 2 GB || Corsair TX750 V2 ||

|| 3x Dell UltraSharp U2312HM || Corsair Vengeance K90 || Logitech G700s || Audio-gd NFB 15.32 || Hifiman HE400 ||

HTPC || Intel Celeron G530 || Gigabyte Z68MA-D2H-B3 || G.Skill 4GB || CM Elite 460W ||

NAS || Intel Pentium G630 || Gigabyte Z68MA-D2H-B3 || G.Skill 16GB || Corsair CX430 || IBM M1015 || 21 TB Storage ||


#7 freddie

freddie

    Up the Arsenal

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 704 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Western Australia

Posted 25 February 2013 - 08:00 PM

I'd stay away from Windows 8 for the moment!


I'd stay away from clueless people making clueless comments constantly on a product they don't have a clue about.



#8 freddie

freddie

    Up the Arsenal

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 704 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Western Australia

Posted 25 February 2013 - 08:08 PM

And for the record I have the following games installed, all work as intended:

FIFA 13
NFS Most Wanted
BF3
Street fighter X Tekken
Fritz 13
Stars Wars the Force Unleashed 2
L.A Noire
Duke Nukem Forever
Saints Row The Third
Payday: The Heist
GTA: Vice City
Homefront
Hydrophobia Prophecy
Call of Juarez: The Cartel
Portal 2
Juiced 2
Dishonored
F.E.A.R. 3
Spec Ops: The line
Syndicate
Tony Hawks Pro Skater HD
NFS Hot Pursuit
Worms Reloaded
Brink
Fallout New Vegas
Crysis 2
F1 2012
Far Cry 3
May Payne 3
Need for Speed Carbon

 



#9 Nephilumos

Nephilumos

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 248 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

Posted 25 February 2013 - 09:49 PM

All the games that work on Windows 7, in all likelihood work in Windows 8.  That said, I've never had any problems with any of my 100+ games on Steam.


I refuse to cook poop with a computer...thanks

Main Rig:
Antec 1200
Asus Maximus VI Hero
i7 4770K @ 3.5GHz w/HT
16GB G.Skill Ripjaws 1600MHz RAM
EVGA GTX670 4GB

Corsair H100i
Corsair Enthusiast 850w PSU

Heatware


#10 exodus1977

exodus1977

    New Member

  • Members
  • 41 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wisconsin, United States

Posted 25 February 2013 - 10:50 PM

I have an aging 4850 in my rig. So, you can imagine there’s no Win8 driver support for my card. In my experience with 8, all modern Direct3D games worked without so much a hiccup with the default WDM video driver. Framerates at max res were fine. However, when I fired up some of my old OpenGL games, I was getting about 2-4 frames per second.

 

I tried various old Win7 drivers and some hacked drivers to get these old games to work. But I ultimately went back to 7, since I play these games on a regular basis (CS, HL and Quake 3 if anyone is wondering).

So I gave my HTPC Win8  :)  The hybrid boot really shines when I want to watch a movie immediately!


Posted Image


#11 AZNguyen

AZNguyen

    Melting pot of friendship

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7922 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:FL

Posted 25 February 2013 - 11:21 PM

I have an aging 4850 in my rig. So, you can imagine there’s no Win8 driver support for my card.

 

 

Maybe you're not looking in the right place?
 
AMD Catalyst™ Driver for AMD Radeon™ HD 4000, HD 3000 and HD 2000 Series

Gaming || Intel i7 3770K || Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H-B3 || G.Skill 2x 4GB || EVGA GTX 680 2 GB || Corsair TX750 V2 ||

|| 3x Dell UltraSharp U2312HM || Corsair Vengeance K90 || Logitech G700s || Audio-gd NFB 15.32 || Hifiman HE400 ||

HTPC || Intel Celeron G530 || Gigabyte Z68MA-D2H-B3 || G.Skill 4GB || CM Elite 460W ||

NAS || Intel Pentium G630 || Gigabyte Z68MA-D2H-B3 || G.Skill 16GB || Corsair CX430 || IBM M1015 || 21 TB Storage ||


#12 exodus1977

exodus1977

    New Member

  • Members
  • 41 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wisconsin, United States

Posted 26 February 2013 - 12:06 AM

Oh wow! I swear I looked on the AMD site just a week ago searching for those drivers! Maybe I'll give it another shot!

Thank you for the links! Glad I stumbled upon this tread :thumbsup:


Posted Image