Jump to content


Photo
* * * * - 1 votes

Do you use a surge protector/ups with you computer?


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
25 replies to this topic

Poll: Do you use a surge protector/ups with you computer? (54 member(s) have cast votes)

Do you use a surgeprotectot or UPS with you pc?

  1. Yes, I have a surge protector (28 votes [51.85%])

    Percentage of vote: 51.85%

  2. Yes, I have a UPS (14 votes [25.93%])

    Percentage of vote: 25.93%

  3. Yes, I have a whole home surge supressor (4 votes [7.41%])

    Percentage of vote: 7.41%

  4. No, I unplug my pc/electronics when it storms (2 votes [3.70%])

    Percentage of vote: 3.70%

  5. No, I leave my pc/electronics plugged into the wall (4 votes [7.41%])

    Percentage of vote: 7.41%

  6. Other (2 votes [3.70%])

    Percentage of vote: 3.70%

Vote

#1 neddamttocs

neddamttocs

    Total Nerd

  • Forum Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2273 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hamilton, ON

Posted 04 February 2013 - 01:49 AM

Well this week on OCC Poll we would like to know if you use any type of surge protection or a UPS (un-interruptible power supply) with your PC?



OCC Rules || Follow OCC on Posted Image

Posted Image

| Intel E8400 | Asus P5Q | 4GB of G.Skill PQ 8000 RAM | Palit 4850 512MB Sonic | PC Power & Cooling Silencer 610 |
| 2x 320GB in Raid0 for OS + 750GB for data | D-Link DNS323 w/2TB for Media |


#2 Muchoman1

Muchoman1

    De-railer of threads, Destroyer of worlds

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1562 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Western Australia

Posted 04 February 2013 - 03:03 AM

Whole house Surge protector, plus protector boards on the most important stuff (Big PC, TV, Home Theater etc)


The Hive 
               i7 3930k @ 5GHz 24/7   32Gb Corsair Dominator @ 1866MHz 
                    Asus Rampage IV Extreme    3x EVGA 670 FTW @ 1300MHz Core boost
256Gb Crucial M4 - Boot Drive  4x2Tb HDD Raid 5 - Data Storage 
CPU, Motherboard, GPU and RAM watercooled  by MIPS and Heatkiller 
Heavily Modified XSPC Cube Case 


#3 dr_bowtie

dr_bowtie

    Chronic Haggler...

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 18034 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Indiana....

Posted 04 February 2013 - 03:40 AM

Surge suppressor on all electronics.....

 

You dont want to know how many motherboards i've replaced from people plugging their PCs direct to the wall during storms... 


Wii-Kart code 2707-2013-4642~~~~~~ Diablo 3 drbowtie#1495

Commodore64....playing Crysis on high

Posted Image

**Noctua Owners Club: Member #2 - NH-D14**


#4 Pile

Pile

    New Member

  • Members
  • 15 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Quebec city, Qc, Canada

Posted 04 February 2013 - 05:39 AM

Yes, I have an APC Back-UPS Pro 1300, it's important for me to have the better protection for my system.

Edited by Pile, 04 February 2013 - 05:40 AM.


#5 rivalary

rivalary

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 304 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Alberta, Canada

Posted 04 February 2013 - 05:57 AM

UPS on the home theater system and UPS on the PCs

#6 wevsspot

wevsspot

    The Pain of Being a Razorback Fan.....

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15883 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NW Arkansas

Posted 04 February 2013 - 07:04 AM

UPS on my gaming PC and server PC.  Surge protectors on all the other electronics.  Gotta love the spring storms in Arkansas.....................

 

Actually we've been really lucky.  We've only had stuff damaged by thunderstorms once.  Took the ECP from the furnace, one TV and one PC.  


10804750996_f1dd23d20e_o.jpg

 


#7 AZNguyen

AZNguyen

    Melting pot of friendship

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7888 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:FL

Posted 04 February 2013 - 07:26 AM

I actually need to replace my surge protector before the LAN this Saturday. At the last LAN the power box blew out (popping, sparks, smoke, plastic/rubber melting, smells like a LAN haha). None of my lights on the surge protector light up anymore. It's got a lifetime warranty, but I got it as a Christmas gift and we can't seem to find the original invoice or purchase date haha.

 

I should probably get two UPS for my systems, but I'll wait for a sale. Not too critical for me atm. All my school work auto-saves to the cloud and NAS should be fine for power outages since its on ZFS.


Edited by AZNguyen, 04 February 2013 - 09:28 AM.

Gaming || Intel i7 3770K || Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H-B3 || G.Skill 2x 4GB || EVGA GTX 680 2 GB || Corsair TX750 V2 ||

|| 3x Dell UltraSharp U2312HM || Corsair Vengeance K90 || Logitech G700s || Audio-gd NFB 15.32 || Hifiman HE400 ||

HTPC || Intel Celeron G530 || Gigabyte Z68MA-D2H-B3 || G.Skill 4GB || CM Elite 460W ||

NAS || Intel Pentium G630 || Gigabyte Z68MA-D2H-B3 || G.Skill 16GB || Corsair CX430 || IBM M1015 || 21 TB Storage ||


#8 ComputerEd

ComputerEd

    Voice of Computing Reason

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1704 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Carbondale, Il

Posted 04 February 2013 - 08:32 AM

Whole house protection with a UPS on my computer another on the router, printer and Cable Modem. This way if I am in  the middle of work a quick power hiccup will not mess me up. The UPS on the other devices can run for about 20 minutes and the one on my computer at load about 5. Plenty of time to finish what i am doing and get off the system.


Get your GEEK on ever week with Computer Ed Radio

http://computeredradio.com  http://facebook.com/computered

 

 


#9 Fragsman

Fragsman

    loco_frags

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 703 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Argentina

Posted 04 February 2013 - 10:37 AM

Basically my answer is yes..

 

I remember back in 2000 when my father bought my fist PC. Some days after a storm came and my 56k USB Robotics modem and my Sound Blaster burned... oh and 2 USB ports... from the motherboard.


Desktop: Intel i7 950 3.0Ghz / ASUS P6X58D-E / 6Gb DDR3 Patriot 1600Mhz / WD Black Sata3 1Tb 7200RPM / Samsung B2030 20" / EVGA 460gtx 1Gb / Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer / Edifier R133 / Thermaltake v9 Black / Cooler Master 700w / DVD RW+ LG Black 22x Sata / Corsair Vengeance 1500 Headset
Laptop: AMD Athlon 64x2 TK57 1.9Ghz // 4GBRAM // HD 120 Gb 5400RPM // ATI x1250 128Mb // 15.4" Screen

My Creation below

membergk7.gif


#10 Master Binky

Master Binky

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 185 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Carlsbad NM

Posted 04 February 2013 - 11:23 AM

A power conditioner or good UPS provides an important hardware protection that surge protectors do not. Poor quality source power, while not as quick and flashy as a power surge, puts alot of stress on your electronics that wears them down over time. I've seen it wear out PC power supplies repeatedly in just a couple months, that was in particular a few people that lived near a local hospital. The worst part is that it isn't typically obvious that the condition even exists until you're electronics just stop lasting as long as the should and you think you have really really bad luck.



#11 hornybluecow

hornybluecow

    I Am A Cow...

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5370 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:MT

Posted 04 February 2013 - 11:25 AM

I use a surge protector with filter to remove noise in line. Works great for my avr and my computer psu wines otherwise

hbbanner.jpg

Filckr Photostream / Workstation Build Guide / How to Overclock an Intel 4770K Guide

Main Rig: i7-3930K @ 4.4ghz, Asus P9X79 WS, GTX Titan, Intel 335 240 GB, Vertex 4 120 GB, Raid-1 2x 3 TB, 64 GB (8x8gb) G-skill, Thermaltake Core V71, SeaSonic Plat 1000watt.

Review Test Rig: : i7-4770k @ 4.2ghz, MSI-GD65 Gaming, Geforce GTX 770 , Corsair Force GT 240 GB, Patriot 16 GB 2400 (2x8gb), (Case always changing) Thermaltake 750w.


#12 d6bmg

d6bmg

    BMG FTW!!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4120 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 04 February 2013 - 12:05 PM

No specific surge protector for any PC, but my whole home is covered by a surge protector.


boozei.gif