Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

nvtray.exe using insane amounts of ram.

Win7 64bit nvtray.exe ram

  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 SpeedCrazy

SpeedCrazy

    Life is one heck of a ride, so hang on tight!

  • Folding Member
  • 3814 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Between birth and death.

Posted 01 February 2013 - 12:18 PM

So the last few days my rig has been running kinda slow.

My first thought was that it has been caused by not shutting down in a while. So i rebooted, and the problem persists.

So i brought up task manager and discovered that nvtray.exe was using almost 1GB of RAM! It was committing somewhere between 6 and 7 hundred thousand kb and working about 250,000, with 200,000 private reserved.

Google suggests that this is the nVidia driver or some such thing, but i doubt it should be using this much RAM.

Any ideas on what this is and/or how i should deal with it?

Thanks,

Speed 


Fold for Team OCC


i7 930 @ 3.9 || Dual-SLI GTX 250 || ASUS P6X58D-E || 3x2GB G.Skill Pi @ 1600 || Corsair TX850w || 2x WD Caviar Black 500gb


#2 EuroFight

EuroFight

    I'm not lazy, I'm just energy efficient.

  • News Editor
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1609 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 01 February 2013 - 12:34 PM

Perhaps try completely uninstalling and re installing drivers. Have you updated them recently?


Processor AMD FX-6100 Hex-core, 3.3GHz > Intel Core 2 Duo, Dual-core, 1.6GHz

Memory 8GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600MHz >  Crucial 3GB DDR3 1066MHz

Graphics Radeon HD7770 + Radeon HD5570 > Intel 3000 Integrated Graphics

Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 Socket AM3+ > OEM Latitude XT2 Motherboard Socket P

Storage Seagate Barracuda 2TB SATA 7200.14 > Samsung 64GB SSD SATA 3Gbps

Power Supply Cooler Master Elite ATX 500W > OEM Dell Power Supply 90W

Case Zalman Z11 Plus 4x 120mm fans, 3x 80mm > OEM Dell Latitude XT Case

 

"Sudo make me a sandwich" - BluePanda


#3 El_Capitan

El_Capitan

    Even the sun goes down

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6454 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somerville, MA

Posted 01 February 2013 - 01:00 PM

Some type of memory leak. Did you have an internet browser open with some video paused or something?



#4 SpeedCrazy

SpeedCrazy

    Life is one heck of a ride, so hang on tight!

  • Folding Member
  • 3814 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Between birth and death.

Posted 02 February 2013 - 11:23 AM

Some type of memory leak. Did you have an internet browser open with some video paused or something?

Hmmm, ff was closed and chrome only had maps open... i think.

Would fah affect that, i don't remember it ever having that effect before.

Its not screwing with me today, been trying to recreate it for the last half hour but i can't.

I've got two youtube videos paused and netflix streaming with wmp playing too, and FAH in the background. And nvtray.exe is only pulling 25,692 K and the whole system is only pulling 41%. Versus 70% yesterday with maps wmp and excel, and FAH.

So hopefully it sorted it self out whatever it was. Only thing thats changed as far as i know is that i had a brown out and the pc crashed, since then its run fine.


Fold for Team OCC


i7 930 @ 3.9 || Dual-SLI GTX 250 || ASUS P6X58D-E || 3x2GB G.Skill Pi @ 1600 || Corsair TX850w || 2x WD Caviar Black 500gb


#5 SpeedCrazy

SpeedCrazy

    Life is one heck of a ride, so hang on tight!

  • Folding Member
  • 3814 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Between birth and death.

Posted 06 February 2013 - 07:14 PM

Durn thing is back again, with a vengeance.

I have word and spotify open with FAH in the background. That is literally all that is running. And nvtray is using 2GB, yes you got that right 2GB!!! of RAM. What in the world could be wrong? I don't have time to re-install my drivers tonight but if the problem persists i may have to on Saturday.


Fold for Team OCC


i7 930 @ 3.9 || Dual-SLI GTX 250 || ASUS P6X58D-E || 3x2GB G.Skill Pi @ 1600 || Corsair TX850w || 2x WD Caviar Black 500gb


#6 wevsspot

wevsspot

    The Pain of Being a Razorback Fan.....

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15885 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NW Arkansas

Posted 07 February 2013 - 11:25 AM

So what happened Speed?  Did you uninstall/reinstall drivers?


10804750996_f1dd23d20e_o.jpg

 






Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: Win7 64bit, nvtray.exe, ram