Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

upgrade phenom 820 to 1075t?


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 RichAC

RichAC

    Member

  • Banned
  • PipPip
  • 106 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 30 January 2013 - 01:01 PM

or is it not worth it. I seem to be cpu limited in most games.. especially these mmos. should i just save up and get a newmobo and intel i5 3570? lol.

 

passmark score goes from 3500 to 5377. the i5 is 7130 score. but that would also be more then double the money. wondering how much fps increase i would see in games like bf3 and crysis 2. in these crap mmos obviously not much since its only 2.8 to 3.0hz.

 

and do they even sell the 1075t anymore. its out of stock on newegg.com and amazon.com? am I out of luck?  I can't even find the 1090t or 1100. wow.

 

 

EDIT:   holy cow they don't sell the phenoms anywhere anymore.   so much for upgrading this pc.  :(


Edited by RichAC, 30 January 2013 - 02:05 PM.


#2 Black64

Black64

    Black It Out

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3273 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The internet

Posted 30 January 2013 - 03:23 PM

I would go to intel IMHO, my 1090T was not that fast.


Current System

[CPU]Intel Xeon W3670 (i7-970) @3.20Ghz---[CPU Cooling]Thermalright Silver Arrow---[MOBO]ASUS Rampage Gene III---[RAM]G-Skill Rip Jaws (24GB)(6x4GB)---[GPU]ASUS GTX 780 OC---[PSU]KingWin Lazar LZ-1000---[CASE]Bitfenix Colossus Venom Edition---[HDDs]WD Dives(6.5TB total storage) and Samsung 250GB SSD(boot)---[Monitors] 3X NEC 24" LCD2490WUXi ISP Panels and 1X Seiki 39" 4K monitor

 

PC Audio System (Speakers) Triad InRoom Mini's --- (DAC) Schiit Modi --- (AMP) Emotiva MiniX-a-100 --- (Headphones) Sennheiser Momentums and Paradigm H15NC --- (Headphone AMP) --- Schitt Magni

 

 


#3 IVIYTH0S

IVIYTH0S

    They call me... General Help.

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 20267 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pennsauken, NJ

Posted 30 January 2013 - 03:47 PM

FX-8350 :teehee:


"GilliumX58" DESKTOP
Mobo: Asus P6TD Deluxe | Processor: Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.8ghz | CPU Cooler: Zalman CNPS9900MAXR | Videocard: MSI Twin Frozr HD7970
Memory: Patriot 12GB 1600mhz | OS SSD: SanDisk Extreme 240GB SATA | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W
Monitor: *Debranded* HP 24" 2408H | CD/DVD: Samsung SH-S223F | Keyboard: Razer Tarantula | Mouse: Razer Lachesis

OCC Cool Club Member

 


 

GPU Comparison tool on AnAndTech

 


#4 SpikeSoprano

SpikeSoprano

    Certified Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1540 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cape Breton,Canada

Posted 30 January 2013 - 06:44 PM

FX-8350 :teehee:

 

+1 on that  :)


CPU>I7 2600K  -MB>GIGABYTE  Z68X-UD3H-B3-MEM>KINGSTON 1600 MHZ-HYPER 212 EVO

VIDEO>ZOTAC GTX 660 2 GB-SSD>VERTEX 3 120 GB-HD>WD 500+WD 250 GB-G500 MOUSE

CASE>ROSEWILL CHALLENGER W/4 120MM FANS-PSU> 650 WATT-MONITOR>24 INCH BENQ


#5 freddie

freddie

    Up the Arsenal

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 704 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Western Australia

Posted 30 January 2013 - 10:37 PM

+3 for the 8350

 



#6 RichAC

RichAC

    Member

  • Banned
  • PipPip
  • 106 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 31 January 2013 - 03:07 AM

ya but that means i need a new mobo, cause this one won't take the fx, and if thats the case i might as well go intel.

 

EDIT:   I just made a vow to myself never to buy intel.  ever.  I think its best for mankind that way :)   might not be great for me though haha.


Edited by RichAC, 31 January 2013 - 03:40 AM.


#7 IVIYTH0S

IVIYTH0S

    They call me... General Help.

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 20267 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pennsauken, NJ

Posted 31 January 2013 - 09:46 AM

Oh I would have assumed there was a bios update to handle an FX


"GilliumX58" DESKTOP
Mobo: Asus P6TD Deluxe | Processor: Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.8ghz | CPU Cooler: Zalman CNPS9900MAXR | Videocard: MSI Twin Frozr HD7970
Memory: Patriot 12GB 1600mhz | OS SSD: SanDisk Extreme 240GB SATA | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W
Monitor: *Debranded* HP 24" 2408H | CD/DVD: Samsung SH-S223F | Keyboard: Razer Tarantula | Mouse: Razer Lachesis

OCC Cool Club Member

 


 

GPU Comparison tool on AnAndTech

 


#8 EuroFight

EuroFight

    I'm not lazy, I'm just energy efficient.

  • News Editor
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1609 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 31 January 2013 - 10:18 AM

AMD FX processors can only be used in AM3+ sockets. Athlon II/Phenom II processors are compatible with both AM3 and AM3+ sockets, to clear up any confusion.


Processor AMD FX-6100 Hex-core, 3.3GHz > Intel Core 2 Duo, Dual-core, 1.6GHz

Memory 8GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600MHz >  Crucial 3GB DDR3 1066MHz

Graphics Radeon HD7770 + Radeon HD5570 > Intel 3000 Integrated Graphics

Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 Socket AM3+ > OEM Latitude XT2 Motherboard Socket P

Storage Seagate Barracuda 2TB SATA 7200.14 > Samsung 64GB SSD SATA 3Gbps

Power Supply Cooler Master Elite ATX 500W > OEM Dell Power Supply 90W

Case Zalman Z11 Plus 4x 120mm fans, 3x 80mm > OEM Dell Latitude XT Case

 

"Sudo make me a sandwich" - BluePanda


#9 RichAC

RichAC

    Member

  • Banned
  • PipPip
  • 106 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 31 January 2013 - 03:46 PM

Oh I would have assumed there was a bios update to handle an FX


unfortunately not :(

#10 IVIYTH0S

IVIYTH0S

    They call me... General Help.

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 20267 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pennsauken, NJ

Posted 31 January 2013 - 09:22 PM

 

Oh I would have assumed there was a bios update to handle an FX


unfortunately not :(

 

I'd aim for a 1055T then, unless you can find a 1075T or higher cheaper, the 1055T would overclock just as well.


"GilliumX58" DESKTOP
Mobo: Asus P6TD Deluxe | Processor: Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.8ghz | CPU Cooler: Zalman CNPS9900MAXR | Videocard: MSI Twin Frozr HD7970
Memory: Patriot 12GB 1600mhz | OS SSD: SanDisk Extreme 240GB SATA | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W
Monitor: *Debranded* HP 24" 2408H | CD/DVD: Samsung SH-S223F | Keyboard: Razer Tarantula | Mouse: Razer Lachesis

OCC Cool Club Member

 


 

GPU Comparison tool on AnAndTech

 


#11 d6bmg

d6bmg

    BMG FTW!!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4120 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 01 February 2013 - 08:14 AM

From where you are getting 1075T at the first place?

THere are MANY better options than that. From 820 to 1075T is not a worthy upgrade at this point of time.

 

As suggested by many others before me, take a look at FX-8350 and its offerings..


boozei.gif


#12 IVIYTH0S

IVIYTH0S

    They call me... General Help.

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 20267 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pennsauken, NJ

Posted 01 February 2013 - 05:58 PM

From where you are getting 1075T at the first place?

THere are MANY better options than that. From 820 to 1075T is not a worthy upgrade at this point of time.

 

As suggested by many others before me, take a look at FX-8350 and its offerings..

His board doesn't support the FX's unfortunately


"GilliumX58" DESKTOP
Mobo: Asus P6TD Deluxe | Processor: Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.8ghz | CPU Cooler: Zalman CNPS9900MAXR | Videocard: MSI Twin Frozr HD7970
Memory: Patriot 12GB 1600mhz | OS SSD: SanDisk Extreme 240GB SATA | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W
Monitor: *Debranded* HP 24" 2408H | CD/DVD: Samsung SH-S223F | Keyboard: Razer Tarantula | Mouse: Razer Lachesis

OCC Cool Club Member

 


 

GPU Comparison tool on AnAndTech