Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

MSI 660 ti P.E. Overclocking Help


  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 LegitGamer

LegitGamer

    New Member

  • Members
  • 20 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Montana

Posted 25 January 2013 - 03:13 PM

Hello all, this card is driving me @#$%ing nuts won't hold its overclock. The game I'm playing either freezes or blinks a couple of times then goes to the desktop with a error saying its not responding.

 

I have to use the MSI afterburner because its a MSI Graphics card, i have it clocked right now at 50 Core, 265 Mem and 75 Fan speed.

The voltage is: 37 Core, 40 Mem and 20 Aux. If I go any higher then these clock speeds the system is unstable. 

 

Please help or if you need more info, just ask.



#2 WarWeeny

WarWeeny

    Don't worry, be sexy! >:3

  • Review Editor
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1287 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:leeuwarden / netherlands

Posted 25 January 2013 - 03:36 PM

overclocking is a bonus not a guarentee,

be happy what you got, its probably a bad clocker, shit happen, deal with it :P

 

not to sound rude btw, just being honest xD


You can get the weeny out of the war, but you cannot get the war out of the weeny

Rest in peace my good old gtx 480, you deserved it

 

Thinks he has a weeny worthy of war.

 


#3 LegitGamer

LegitGamer

    New Member

  • Members
  • 20 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Montana

Posted 25 January 2013 - 05:46 PM

Ya I hope not WarWeeny, if so then I'll be the first.



#4 d6bmg

d6bmg

    BMG FTW!!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4135 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 26 January 2013 - 01:47 AM

All cards do not overclock in the same way.. Sadly, You can't do much about it.


boozei.gif


#5 WarWeeny

WarWeeny

    Don't worry, be sexy! >:3

  • Review Editor
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1287 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:leeuwarden / netherlands

Posted 26 January 2013 - 02:29 AM

Ya I hope not WarWeeny, if so then I'll be the first.

 

dont know if the card is new or whatnot, if so you can return it and get another one form another company instead, maybe that one will clock nicely xP

iv'e done it before with an amd cpu i had (965)  it didnt clock to 3.6 no matter what i threw at it, then returned it, bought another one in a different store, 4ghz baby xD


You can get the weeny out of the war, but you cannot get the war out of the weeny

Rest in peace my good old gtx 480, you deserved it

 

Thinks he has a weeny worthy of war.

 


#6 LegitGamer

LegitGamer

    New Member

  • Members
  • 20 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Montana

Posted 26 January 2013 - 09:06 AM

Thanks guys for the feedback, but I ain't going to overclock it hardcore, like I wanted. Instead I'm going to get another just like it and SLI them. Maybe in the future I'll consider taking them back for

a other  brand name ones.



#7 WarWeeny

WarWeeny

    Don't worry, be sexy! >:3

  • Review Editor
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1287 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:leeuwarden / netherlands

Posted 26 January 2013 - 09:17 AM

Thanks guys for the feedback, but I ain't going to overclock it hardcore, like I wanted. Instead I'm going to get another just like it and SLI them. Maybe in the future I'll consider taking them back for

a other  brand name ones.

 

it is a bonus after all :3


You can get the weeny out of the war, but you cannot get the war out of the weeny

Rest in peace my good old gtx 480, you deserved it

 

Thinks he has a weeny worthy of war.

 


#8 Braegnok

Braegnok

    Ghillie in the Mist

  • Folding Member
  • 523 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Colorado USA

Posted 26 January 2013 - 12:26 PM

Kepler clocks and voltages are not static, they are dynamic. So they will automatically adjust on the fly, depending on the load required (or not) The card will also downclock if the horspower isn't needed.

 

Try increasing the GPU clock offset, or Boost Potential by +100MHz, this is a target speed, not a guarantee, And slightly increase the Power Target to allow the card to increase the voltage automatically and account for higher clocks.

 

Overclocking on Kepler provides diminishing returns because the GPU Boost  is essentially already overclocking the card for you. Chances are you won't be gaining much, depending on the Boost Clock and Boost Potential of your particular card.

 

most 660's will max out @ Base Clock of 1135MHz, 1788MHz Memory, and 1213MHz Boost Clock.


Edited by Braegnok, 26 January 2013 - 01:18 PM.

i7-4790K

Maximus VII Gene

GTX Titan Black 6GD5

G.SKILL 4X4GB 3200MHz

Corsair AX760i

Corsair Obsidian 450D

Cooling by Black Ice & EK 

 

                    


#9 Cyberburnout

Cyberburnout

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 54 posts

Posted 26 January 2013 - 02:59 PM

Here are my settings for the MSI 660ti. Maybe they can help you a bit. I have had my core clock as high as +125 and memory clock as high as +475. +100 core voltage and +114 Powerlimit. Did not have the need to mess with the Memory and AUX voltages. The settings in the pic are  for everyday usage.

 

Good luck.

 

80702335782149282378.jpg


Edited by Cyberburnout, 26 January 2013 - 03:00 PM.


#10 Braegnok

Braegnok

    Ghillie in the Mist

  • Folding Member
  • 523 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Colorado USA

Posted 26 January 2013 - 03:20 PM

Looks good, if your stable and your happy with the game play is what matters, you can max the power limit slider. :thumbsup:

 

You will not get much more than +160MHz Core and +470MHz Memory out of it,.. but at those settings your Boost will be close to 1280MHz which is great!

 

The GK104 GPU in your GTX 660Ti PE graphics card is identical to the one used in the GTX 670 graphics card, with the only difference being a 192-bit memory instead of a 256-bit wide path. 

 

With my 670's I found that I need to constantly watch the voltage offset, since the cards tend to move it down. Glad everything worked out for you.


Edited by Braegnok, 26 January 2013 - 04:10 PM.

i7-4790K

Maximus VII Gene

GTX Titan Black 6GD5

G.SKILL 4X4GB 3200MHz

Corsair AX760i

Corsair Obsidian 450D

Cooling by Black Ice & EK 

 

                    


#11 Cyberburnout

Cyberburnout

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 54 posts

Posted 26 January 2013 - 03:38 PM

Looks good, if your stable and your happy with the game play is what matters, you can max the power limit slider. :thumbsup:

 

 

Yeah Ive run it maxed a few times for benching. It hits 104% TDP when at max gpu usage. Had a few lock ups with black screen randomlly and a little warmer then I care for so I keep it just a tad short of max. If you look in the corner its in the green at 96% TDP. A safe cushion.



#12 Braegnok

Braegnok

    Ghillie in the Mist

  • Folding Member
  • 523 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Colorado USA

Posted 26 January 2013 - 04:36 PM

Just a tad short of max, will do :D


i7-4790K

Maximus VII Gene

GTX Titan Black 6GD5

G.SKILL 4X4GB 3200MHz

Corsair AX760i

Corsair Obsidian 450D

Cooling by Black Ice & EK