Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Asus maximus extreme x38 wrong bios

bios flash x38 wrong maximus

  • Please log in to reply
29 replies to this topic

#1 MaRcIu

MaRcIu

    New Member

  • Members
  • 14 posts

Posted 23 January 2013 - 01:43 PM

hi all. I somehow flashed the wrong bios because now It won't turn on. all lights are on and nothing happens.. =(

any solutions? I have the bios backup in a bootable pen but how to do it?

thanks,

Marcio Oliveira



#2 EuroFight

EuroFight

    I'm not lazy, I'm just energy efficient.

  • News Editor
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1608 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 23 January 2013 - 02:10 PM

You can always try shorting the Clear CMOS pins on the motherboard, perhaps that might work, although it is highly unlikely.

 

I would suggest reverting to the original BIOS on a Gigabyte board (DualBIOS), but I am unaware of such a feature on Asus boards. Perhaps if you do a bit of digging then you may be in luck...

 

If these fail, you may have to send it in for a professional repair, or try and get hold of a working BIOS chip for your board yourself (although I would most certainly not recommend this unless you were extremely confident with hardware)


Edited by EuroFight, 23 January 2013 - 02:13 PM.

Processor AMD FX-6100 Hex-core, 3.3GHz > Intel Core 2 Duo, Dual-core, 1.6GHz

Memory 8GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600MHz >  Crucial 3GB DDR3 1066MHz

Graphics Radeon HD7770 + Radeon HD5570 > Intel 3000 Integrated Graphics

Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 Socket AM3+ > OEM Latitude XT2 Motherboard Socket P

Storage Seagate Barracuda 2TB SATA 7200.14 > Samsung 64GB SSD SATA 3Gbps

Power Supply Cooler Master Elite ATX 500W > OEM Dell Power Supply 90W

Case Zalman Z11 Plus 4x 120mm fans, 3x 80mm > OEM Dell Latitude XT Case

 

"Sudo make me a sandwich" - BluePanda


#3 hornybluecow

hornybluecow

    I Am A Cow...

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5370 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:MT

Posted 23 January 2013 - 02:11 PM

I sure you don't want to hear this but I have a feeling your out of luck becuase you can't run any sort of software to reflash it. maybe someone else has a good trick besides removing the bios chip and replacing it.


hbbanner.jpg

Filckr Photostream / Workstation Build Guide / How to Overclock an Intel 4770K Guide

Main Rig: i7-3930K @ 4.4ghz, Asus P9X79 WS, GTX Titan, Intel 335 240 GB, Vertex 4 120 GB, Raid-1 2x 3 TB, 64 GB (8x8gb) G-skill, Thermaltake Core V71, SeaSonic Plat 1000watt.

Review Test Rig: : i7-4770k @ 4.2ghz, MSI-GD65 Gaming, Geforce GTX 770 , Corsair Force GT 240 GB, Patriot 16 GB 2400 (2x8gb), (Case always changing) Thermaltake 750w.


#4 SpikeSoprano

SpikeSoprano

    Certified Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1540 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cape Breton,Canada

Posted 23 January 2013 - 02:47 PM

LOL, had a brain fart and didn't see make of mb, you might have to contact asus for a new bios chip.

Edited by SpikeSoprano, 23 January 2013 - 02:51 PM.

CPU>I7 2600K  -MB>GIGABYTE  Z68X-UD3H-B3-MEM>KINGSTON 1600 MHZ-HYPER 212 EVO

VIDEO>ZOTAC GTX 660 2 GB-SSD>VERTEX 3 120 GB-HD>WD 500+WD 250 GB-G500 MOUSE

CASE>ROSEWILL CHALLENGER W/4 120MM FANS-PSU> 650 WATT-MONITOR>24 INCH BENQ


#5 MaRcIu

MaRcIu

    New Member

  • Members
  • 14 posts

Posted 23 January 2013 - 03:09 PM

crap =(  yeah clear cmos don't work. it's really trashed bios

well I found a bios chip on ebay but I can't seem to find where  my bios is located. I'm reading the manual but I don't say "bios" in images.
here's the direct link for manual http://dlcdnet.asus....reme-manual.zip

 

I know it's AMI bios.  I hope you can give some hints.

I must try everything because my system is good. All this  because of the maximus formula to rampage formula mod.  I tried the rampage extreme bios first. stupid. in everyway.  just beucase the board does not handle well with 4x2gb ram in overclock 

thanks all


Edited by MaRcIu, 23 January 2013 - 04:33 PM.


#6 CAINuKe

CAINuKe

    Notebook Overclocking Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 343 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New London, CT

Posted 23 January 2013 - 05:04 PM

Generally Speaking, BIOS are 8-16 Pin ICs . I do not think you have a removeable one on your motherboard, unless you have some pretty dope soldering skils I don't think you can get away with swapping the old one with a new one flashed from a seller on the 'bays.

 

Edit: Still can't words'.


Edited by CAINuKe, 23 January 2013 - 05:06 PM.

Mobo: Sager NP7280 Laptop Motherboard (Unlocked BIOS) Processor: Intel i7-980X Extreme Edition @4.1ghz
Memory: 3X 8GB 1333MHZ G.Skill Notebook Ram Videocards: 2X Clevo nVidia 480M 2GB

OS Harddrive:Crucial C300 256GB SSD Storage Drives: 2x Seagate Momentus 500GB 16MB 7200RPM HDDS PSU: 2x Sager 300W Power Bricks

Case: Modded Clevo X7200 Chassis


OCC Cool Club Member


#7 MaRcIu

MaRcIu

    New Member

  • Members
  • 14 posts

Posted 23 January 2013 - 05:21 PM

is this what you're talking about? http://img824.images...30124011129.jpg   if yes damn I tought it was something like 2x4 but I will not quit.

 


Edited by MaRcIu, 23 January 2013 - 05:34 PM.


#8 Braegnok

Braegnok

    KCCO

  • Folding Member
  • 471 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Colorado USA

Posted 23 January 2013 - 06:28 PM

You can use Asus EZ Flash 2 utility on the Maximus X38 motherboard, to update the BIOS without having to go through the long process of booting from a floppy disk and using a DOS-based utility. The EZ Flash 2 utility is built-in the BIOS chip so it is accessible by pressing <Alt> + <F2> during the power-on self tests (post).

Enter BIOS setup program. Go to the tools menu to select EZ Flash 2 and press <Enter> to enable it.

you can switch between drives by pressing <Tab> before the correct file is found. Then press <Enter>.

When the correct BIOS file is found , EZ Flash 2 performs the BIOS update process and automatically reboots the system when done.

I Flashed my X38 Maximus Formula to Rampage Formula BIOS and had issues at high overclocks,.. then flashed back to original Maximus Formula BIOS, if your having issues with the rampage Ver. Just go to (WWW.asus.com) to download the latest BIOS file you need. Save the file to a disk or a USB flash disk, then restart the system. your chip should be fine if you can get into power-on self tests (post).

Edited by Braegnok, 23 January 2013 - 07:40 PM.

Intel Core i7-4930K

Asus Rampage IV Gene

Asus GTX780-OC-6GD5

G.SKILL F3-2400C9Q-16GTXD

Crucial M550 256GB SSD

Corsair Obsidian 350D

Thermaltake 1050W

Corsair Hydro Series H100i

Windows 7 Pro 64-Bit

                                  


#9 MaRcIu

MaRcIu

    New Member

  • Members
  • 14 posts

Posted 24 January 2013 - 04:39 AM

nope that doesn't work either, I tried every possible method.  it can't even detect the keyboard (usb our ps2)



#10 Braegnok

Braegnok

    KCCO

  • Folding Member
  • 471 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Colorado USA

Posted 24 January 2013 - 07:00 AM

It's appearing your last BIOS flash is corrupt or incomplete, if it is preventing posting. Standard methods using commands to flash will not work.

 

You have a few options to try. First power off system and change the jumper to Recovery Mode Position, install a bootable floppy BIOS disk into drive A: and restart the system, when the computer reboots there will be no video prompts, however you can monitor the update procedure using the floppy drive light and the PC speaker. When the PC speaker beeps and the floppy drive light is lit it means that it is currently copying the new BIOS onto the motherboard.

 

When the floppy drive light goes off and the PC speaker beeps (twice in most cases) the recovery should be complete. During the update procedure there might be pauses that looks like your computer is doing nothing, if so be sure to wait at least a minute to make sure the update is complete. When you are sure the BIOS update is complete and there is no more activity, power off the computer.

 

Change the jumper back into the original position, when you turn your computer back on your BIOS should be functional.

 

IF not,.. I know of only one other way that might work, call some local computer repair shops, ask them if they have a (eprom burner). Have them pull the BIOS eprom and write over it.

 

Last option is to simply replace the BIOS chip, which isn't difficult; it must be done carefully, however, to prevent damaging other motherboard components.

Replacing a BIOS chip should take less than 30 minutes to accomplish. 


Edited by Braegnok, 24 January 2013 - 08:01 AM.

Intel Core i7-4930K

Asus Rampage IV Gene

Asus GTX780-OC-6GD5

G.SKILL F3-2400C9Q-16GTXD

Crucial M550 256GB SSD

Corsair Obsidian 350D

Thermaltake 1050W

Corsair Hydro Series H100i

Windows 7 Pro 64-Bit

                                  


#11 MaRcIu

MaRcIu

    New Member

  • Members
  • 14 posts

Posted 24 January 2013 - 07:15 AM

thanks, I will solder another bios I am confortable at soldering.  my local shops does not have that kind of service unfortunately
is this the bios close to spi header? http://imageshack.us...0/sam0482y.jpg/
 

I found a tutorial that when I get the new bios chip I turn it on without soldering and go to the flash programa and then swap to the bad bios and flash on the go.  with this I have a change to recover the bad bios and have a backup one!   just need to be sure the bios is the one in the picture :P


Edited by MaRcIu, 24 January 2013 - 07:43 AM.


#12 Braegnok

Braegnok

    KCCO

  • Folding Member
  • 471 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Colorado USA

Posted 24 January 2013 - 09:14 AM

Yes, that looks correct. Asus has 8-pin removable and non-removable BIOS chips, also 32-pin removable and non-removable.

I would go through Asus e-store, or contact Asus Support for New replacement, A warranty chip is $5.00 and $25.00 for non warranty, or you can send in your corrupt  chip and have it reflashed. Good Luck. :thumbsup:


Edited by Braegnok, 24 January 2013 - 09:24 AM.

Intel Core i7-4930K

Asus Rampage IV Gene

Asus GTX780-OC-6GD5

G.SKILL F3-2400C9Q-16GTXD

Crucial M550 256GB SSD

Corsair Obsidian 350D

Thermaltake 1050W

Corsair Hydro Series H100i

Windows 7 Pro 64-Bit