Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Memtest86+ fails within a few seconds with about 8 errors, then no mor


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 Enron x86

Enron x86

    New Member

  • Members
  • 17 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Slovenia

Posted 06 January 2013 - 03:14 AM

Hello. I'm putting together a retro-gaming rig and I've encountered a problem. The motherboard is a QDI Kudoz 7x with 3 RAM slots + an AMD AthlonXP 2100+. The result of Memtest is always the same - it shows about 8 errors within the first few seconds of testing (so it's probably test 0 that fails), but after that it continues without any further errors. I have 4 sticks of DDR1 RAM (2 each from different manufacturers and different speeds). I've tried installing them individually into different slots. CMOS settings have been reset, I've tried manually adjusting memory timings etc., but the result is always the same. Is it possible that it's actully the CPU that's failing, say the L2 Cache? Thanks.



#2 IVIYTH0S

IVIYTH0S

    They call me... General Help.

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 20507 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pennsauken, NJ

Posted 06 January 2013 - 04:01 AM

Have you tried running each stick alone and testing individually??

"GilliumX58" DESKTOP
Mobo: Asus P8Z68-V-PRO | Processor: Intel Core i7 2600K @ 4.6ghz | CPU Cooler: Zalman CNPS9900MAXR | Videocard: MSI Twin Frozr HD7970
Memory: Patriot 8GB 1600mhz | OS SSD: SanDisk Extreme 240GB SATA | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W
Monitor: Samsung 30" 305T | CD/DVD: Samsung SH-S223F | Keyboard: Razer Tarantula | Mouse: Razer Lachesis

OCC Cool Club Member

 
 

 

GPU Comparison tool on AnAndTech


#3 Enron x86

Enron x86

    New Member

  • Members
  • 17 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Slovenia

Posted 06 January 2013 - 04:05 AM

Yes, same result. I know for a fact that at least 2 of the 4 RAM sticks work 100%, so I guess either the motherboard or the CPU is faulty. It seems weird, though, that all 3 RAM slots would fail ...



#4 Braegnok

Braegnok

    Ghillie in the Mist

  • Folding Member
  • 523 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Colorado USA

Posted 06 January 2013 - 09:19 AM

Disable your USB Legacy Support, and retest each module individually.


i7-4790K

Maximus VII Gene

GTX Titan Black 6GD5

G.SKILL 4X4GB 3200MHz

Corsair AX760i

Corsair Obsidian 450D

Cooling by Black Ice & EK 

 

                    


#5 Enron x86

Enron x86

    New Member

  • Members
  • 17 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Slovenia

Posted 06 January 2013 - 10:22 AM

Great news, I seem to be getting somwhere! After loading the BIOS fail-safe defaults (instead of the optimized defaults), Prime95 has been running stable for half an hour now. Before, it would crash after about 5 mins. Time to zone-in on the BIOS setting that's causing this ... @Braegnok, I don't have any options like that, except for USB-keyboard support.



#6 Braegnok

Braegnok

    Ghillie in the Mist

  • Folding Member
  • 523 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Colorado USA

Posted 06 January 2013 - 10:32 AM

When running MemTest, it's best to disable USB support in your BIOS, as in some cases it will cause false errors.

 

Edit : testing @ default settings, is good also.


Edited by Braegnok, 06 January 2013 - 01:02 PM.

i7-4790K

Maximus VII Gene

GTX Titan Black 6GD5

G.SKILL 4X4GB 3200MHz

Corsair AX760i

Corsair Obsidian 450D

Cooling by Black Ice & EK 

 

                    


#7 Enron x86

Enron x86

    New Member

  • Members
  • 17 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Slovenia

Posted 06 January 2013 - 01:59 PM

I'm baffled... The system is now running rock stable at even tighter BIOS and RAM settings than before, no sign of any errors. Ah well, lesson learned. If anyone experiences the same symptoms - namely, if you install some RAM into a machine and you're 100% certain that the RAM works, you might try running the BIOS with fail-safe defaults. BTW, I cleared the CMOS like three time before, but that always loads the optimized defaults.



#8 IVIYTH0S

IVIYTH0S

    They call me... General Help.

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 20507 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pennsauken, NJ

Posted 06 January 2013 - 03:13 PM

There must have been a timing setting off deep in the settings I'm guessing, something regarding the memory that wouldn't be easy to see but would invalidate stability quickly


"GilliumX58" DESKTOP
Mobo: Asus P8Z68-V-PRO | Processor: Intel Core i7 2600K @ 4.6ghz | CPU Cooler: Zalman CNPS9900MAXR | Videocard: MSI Twin Frozr HD7970
Memory: Patriot 8GB 1600mhz | OS SSD: SanDisk Extreme 240GB SATA | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W
Monitor: Samsung 30" 305T | CD/DVD: Samsung SH-S223F | Keyboard: Razer Tarantula | Mouse: Razer Lachesis

OCC Cool Club Member

 
 

 

GPU Comparison tool on AnAndTech


#9 boinker

boinker

    Im a Watchin you......

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3287 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Del Sity, Oklahoma

Posted 06 January 2013 - 03:31 PM

maybe it was grumpy and needed the dust knocked off of it. LOL


"It works Because I threatened it. :lol:" - " did you show it the sledgehammer" - "No, A flight of stairs"
"I don't want to be much of a forum Nazi but this situation calls for a hail Bosco and blitzkrieg someone".

If that does not work I hop in a Madcat and Blast it to microscopic Particles.


#10 d6bmg

d6bmg

    BMG FTW!!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4135 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 07 January 2013 - 08:09 AM

I'm baffled... The system is now running rock stable at even tighter BIOS and RAM settings than before, no sign of any errors. Ah well, lesson learned. If anyone experiences the same symptoms - namely, if you install some RAM into a machine and you're 100% certain that the RAM works, you might try running the BIOS with fail-safe defaults. BTW, I cleared the CMOS like three time before, but that always loads the optimized defaults.

 

Possible result of cleaning up the accumulated dusts and unwanted particles. :)


boozei.gif


#11 Enron x86

Enron x86

    New Member

  • Members
  • 17 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Slovenia

Posted 07 January 2013 - 09:04 AM

No, not really:) It turns out it was most probably the tRCD timing. In BIOS, it's currently set to 3, but Aida64 reports it as 5. Works like a charm though. Also, the BIOS doesn't seem to know how to read the SPD timings properly, they're completely off, so I've set them manually. Oh, and another extra piece of advice for those of you who might want to get an older system up and running - WaybackMachine is your friend if you're looking for a BIOS for an old motherboard whose manufacturer and their website no longer exists:)

Basically, the only reason I brough this zombie to life was to utilize a soundcard that uses both A3D1.0, EAX1.0/2.0 and DirectSound3D capabilities along with Sensaura's HRTF algorithms. Thief 1 sure sounds great now with headphones and it's real easy to tell where your opponents are.


Edited by Enron x86, 07 January 2013 - 09:09 AM.


#12 IVIYTH0S

IVIYTH0S

    They call me... General Help.

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 20507 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pennsauken, NJ

Posted 07 January 2013 - 11:40 AM

No, not really:) It turns out it was most probably the tRCD timing. In BIOS, it's currently set to 3, but Aida64 reports it as 5. Works like a charm though. Also, the BIOS doesn't seem to know how to read the SPD timings properly, they're completely off, so I've set them manually. Oh, and another extra piece of advice for those of you who might want to get an older system up and running - WaybackMachine is your friend if you're looking for a BIOS for an old motherboard whose manufacturer and their website no longer exists:)
Basically, the only reason I brough this zombie to life was to utilize a soundcard that uses both A3D1.0, EAX1.0/2.0 and DirectSound3D capabilities along with Sensaura's HRTF algorithms. Thief 1 sure sounds great now with headphones and it's real easy to tell where your opponents are.

I knew it ;), timings are sneaky little devils....

Edited by boinker, 07 January 2013 - 09:38 PM.
language

"GilliumX58" DESKTOP
Mobo: Asus P8Z68-V-PRO | Processor: Intel Core i7 2600K @ 4.6ghz | CPU Cooler: Zalman CNPS9900MAXR | Videocard: MSI Twin Frozr HD7970
Memory: Patriot 8GB 1600mhz | OS SSD: SanDisk Extreme 240GB SATA | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W
Monitor: Samsung 30" 305T | CD/DVD: Samsung SH-S223F | Keyboard: Razer Tarantula | Mouse: Razer Lachesis

OCC Cool Club Member

 
 

 

GPU Comparison tool on AnAndTech