Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Vga Hotwire


  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 AlexMercer

AlexMercer

    New Member

  • Members
  • 42 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Earth

Posted 30 December 2012 - 06:40 AM

do I have to keep vga hotwire even after overclocking ?

 

system specs :

 

Cosmos II

Asus ROG Rampage IV Extreme

Intel® Core™ i7-3960X Processor Extreme Edition overclocked to 5.6ghz at 40ºC
4x ASUS ROG MATRIX HD 7970 GHz Edition 3GB GDDR5
VECTOR SERIES SSD 256GB SATA 3 6Gb/s [For Software]
VECTOR SERIES SSD 256GB SATA 3 6Gb/s [For Games]
VECTOR SERIES SSD 512GB SATA 3 6Gb/s [For Game Setups]
2x EVGA SuperNOVA NEX1500 Classified
Custom Liquid Cooling
 


#2 Muchoman1

Muchoman1

    De-railer of threads, Destroyer of worlds

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1562 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Western Australia

Posted 30 December 2012 - 07:38 AM

impressive rig, im assuming phase change/peltier on the cpu for those temps?

 

If you used hotwire to overclock those cards, you need to keep it on to keep using hotwire


The Hive 
               i7 3930k @ 5GHz 24/7   32Gb Corsair Dominator @ 1866MHz 
                    Asus Rampage IV Extreme    3x EVGA 670 FTW @ 1300MHz Core boost
256Gb Crucial M4 - Boot Drive  4x2Tb HDD Raid 5 - Data Storage 
CPU, Motherboard, GPU and RAM watercooled  by MIPS and Heatkiller 
Heavily Modified XSPC Cube Case 


#3 ccokeman

ccokeman

    Frank <3 Reesa

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 11518 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 30 December 2012 - 10:12 PM

Depends on whether you want to maintain the monitoring/tweaking functions of VGA Hotwire.


Processor Intel Core I7 920 @ 3.6
Memory Mushkin 998995 Blackline 12GB 9-9-9-24
Motherboard MSI X58 Big Bang
Graphics ASUS GTX 580
Power Corsair AX 1200,
Monitor Gateway UXD3000, LG W3000H, ASUS VG236 x 3
Water Cooling By DangerDen & Swiftech
Follow OCC on Posted Image

#4 AlexMercer

AlexMercer

    New Member

  • Members
  • 42 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Earth

Posted 31 December 2012 - 01:09 AM

I'm done overclocking those cards and I I've reached the highest I can so my point is removing them won't change it back to it's factory settings ?



#5 d6bmg

d6bmg

    BMG FTW!!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4147 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 31 December 2012 - 06:59 AM

I'm done overclocking those cards and I I've reached the highest I can so my point is removing them won't change it back to it's factory settings ?

 

Then you don't need to.


boozei.gif


#6 AlexMercer

AlexMercer

    New Member

  • Members
  • 42 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Earth

Posted 31 December 2012 - 10:07 AM

what if I remove them



#7 d6bmg

d6bmg

    BMG FTW!!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4147 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 31 December 2012 - 01:16 PM

what if I remove them

 

I said in my previous post that you may remove them if you want to.

And removing them won't result in any reset kinda thing which you are thinking about.


boozei.gif


#8 ccokeman

ccokeman

    Frank <3 Reesa

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 11518 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 31 December 2012 - 02:39 PM

 

what if I remove them

 

I said in my previous post that you may remove them if you want to.

And removing them won't result in any reset kinda thing which you are thinking about.

 

 

After a reboot they may well revert to the default settings in the cards BIOS.


Processor Intel Core I7 920 @ 3.6
Memory Mushkin 998995 Blackline 12GB 9-9-9-24
Motherboard MSI X58 Big Bang
Graphics ASUS GTX 580
Power Corsair AX 1200,
Monitor Gateway UXD3000, LG W3000H, ASUS VG236 x 3
Water Cooling By DangerDen & Swiftech
Follow OCC on Posted Image

#9 ccokeman

ccokeman

    Frank <3 Reesa

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 11518 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 31 December 2012 - 03:23 PM

 

do I have to keep vga hotwire even after overclocking ?

 

system specs :

 

Cosmos II

Asus ROG Rampage IV Extreme

Intel® Core™ i7-3960X Processor Extreme Edition overclocked to 5.6ghz at 40ºC
4x ASUS ROG MATRIX HD 7970 GHz Edition 3GB GDDR5
VECTOR SERIES SSD 256GB SATA 3 6Gb/s [For Software]
VECTOR SERIES SSD 256GB SATA 3 6Gb/s [For Games]
VECTOR SERIES SSD 512GB SATA 3 6Gb/s [For Game Setups]
2x EVGA SuperNOVA NEX1500 Classified
Custom Liquid Cooling
 

 

 

All I have to say is your parents must love you with that rig at 14.


Processor Intel Core I7 920 @ 3.6
Memory Mushkin 998995 Blackline 12GB 9-9-9-24
Motherboard MSI X58 Big Bang
Graphics ASUS GTX 580
Power Corsair AX 1200,
Monitor Gateway UXD3000, LG W3000H, ASUS VG236 x 3
Water Cooling By DangerDen & Swiftech
Follow OCC on Posted Image

#10 Braegnok

Braegnok

    Ghillie in the Mist

  • Folding Member
  • 541 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Colorado USA

Posted 31 December 2012 - 05:25 PM

WTF are you selling? :nono:

 

That was crazy, did any one else see that post above that vanished, hope were not being spammed, the site was down earlier today?  


Edited by Braegnok, 31 December 2012 - 05:32 PM.

i7-4790K

Maximus VII Gene

GTX Titan Black 6GD5

G.SKILL 4X4GB 3200MHz

Corsair AX760i

Corsair Obsidian 450D

Cooling by Black Ice & EK 

 

                    


#11 dr_bowtie

dr_bowtie

    Chronic Haggler...

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 18068 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Indiana....

Posted 31 December 2012 - 05:41 PM

it was spam and I caught it just that fast....;)


Wii-Kart code 2707-2013-4642~~~~~~ Diablo 3 drbowtie#1495

Commodore64....playing Crysis on high

Posted Image

**Noctua Owners Club: Member #2 - NH-D14**


#12 Braegnok

Braegnok

    Ghillie in the Mist

  • Folding Member
  • 541 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Colorado USA

Posted 31 December 2012 - 06:06 PM

Awesome job! :thumbsup:  


i7-4790K

Maximus VII Gene

GTX Titan Black 6GD5

G.SKILL 4X4GB 3200MHz

Corsair AX760i

Corsair Obsidian 450D

Cooling by Black Ice & EK