Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Which Ram ?


  • Please log in to reply
58 replies to this topic

#1 AlexMercer

AlexMercer

    New Member

  • Members
  • 42 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Earth

Posted 23 December 2012 - 04:48 AM

I want to know which one overclocks better :

DDR3 Hot-rod Red EVO VELOCE QUAD CHANNEL PC3-22400 2800MHz C11 EVO VELOCE QUAD CHANNEL SKU#: GEV316GB2800C11QC | GEV316GB2800C11AQC (http://www.geil.com....showSpec/id/375) OR

TridentX F3-2666C11Q-32GTXD DDR3 (http://gskill.com/pr...s.php?index=527)

 

please don't suggest any ram below 2666mhz and 8gb



#2 ComputerEd

ComputerEd

    Voice of Computing Reason

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1704 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Carbondale, Il

Posted 23 December 2012 - 05:50 AM

My personal opinion....NIETHER!!!

 

For RAM all I use is Kingston Hyper-X

 

However I also think Corsair makes a solid product...

 

 

please don't suggest any ram below 2666mhz and 8gb

 

Why? With AMD it makes a little difference but not enough for the extra cost usually and with Intel anything past 1600 really makes next to no difference.


Edited by ComputerEd, 23 December 2012 - 05:52 AM.

Get your GEEK on ever week with Computer Ed Radio

http://computeredradio.com  http://facebook.com/computered

 

 


#3 Braegnok

Braegnok

    KCCO

  • Folding Member
  • 473 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Colorado USA

Posted 23 December 2012 - 06:07 AM

Corsair Dominator Platinum PC3- 22400 16GB kit CMD16GX3M4A2800C11 @ 2933mhz rock solid 11-14-14-35-2T and 31.3ns Latency @ 1.65V is the best I have tested with my 3770K, But at those speeds it all depends on your CPU's Internal Memory Controler capability.

Ivy Bridge chips have a vary strong IMC, But a 3770K that is capable of doing 2800MHz DDR plus, is somewhere around 1 in 50 when it comes to Retail CPUs.


Edited by Braegnok, 23 December 2012 - 10:24 AM.

Intel Core i7-4790K

Asus Z97-WS

Asus GTX 780 in SLI

Geil Evo GPW332GB2666C11QC

Samsung 850 Pro 256GB

SeaSonic 1200W

Corsair Obsidian 450D

Corsair Hydro Series H110

Windows 8.1 Pro 64-Bit

                                  


#4 Skidmarks

Skidmarks

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 148 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South Africa

Posted 23 December 2012 - 07:11 AM

Use whichever RAM tickles your fancy. It's all just a matter of taste usually.


CPU: Intel i5 4670K
Motherboard: Gigabyte Z87X-UD3H 
Graphics: Gigabyte GTX 770
Memory: 8Gb Patriot Intel Extreme Masters 1866 Mhz 
Sound: Asus Xonar DX & Roccat Kave 5.1

Storage: OCZ Vector 256 Gb / Western Digital 1 Tb Black
CPU Cooler: Antec Kuhler 650

PSU: Seasonic X Series 660Watt
KBD, Mouse & Case: Roccat Ryos MK Glow, Roccat Kone Pure & Cooler Master CM Cosmos SE 


#5 Skidmarks

Skidmarks

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 148 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South Africa

Posted 23 December 2012 - 07:14 AM

My personal opinion....NIETHER!!!

 

For RAM all I use is Kingston Hyper-X

 

Heh heh if I was sponsored by them I'd also punt them. Jokes aside all top tier RAM is much of a muchness.


CPU: Intel i5 4670K
Motherboard: Gigabyte Z87X-UD3H 
Graphics: Gigabyte GTX 770
Memory: 8Gb Patriot Intel Extreme Masters 1866 Mhz 
Sound: Asus Xonar DX & Roccat Kave 5.1

Storage: OCZ Vector 256 Gb / Western Digital 1 Tb Black
CPU Cooler: Antec Kuhler 650

PSU: Seasonic X Series 660Watt
KBD, Mouse & Case: Roccat Ryos MK Glow, Roccat Kone Pure & Cooler Master CM Cosmos SE 


#6 kyfire

kyfire

    The Hi-Tech Redneck

  • Folding Member
  • 399 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kentucky

Posted 23 December 2012 - 08:03 AM

In an AMD FX machine the FX chips only support up to 1866. Anything faster would be a big waste of $$$$$, if you're building an AMD powered system.


CASE: Cooler Master HAF X full tower MOBO: Gigabyte 970A-D3 CPU: AMD FX 6300 COOLER: Asetek 570LX 240MM MEM: 2x4gig Kingston Hyper X 1600MHz
HDD: WD Cavair Black 500gig GPU: EGA Nivida GTX 650 2gig Monitor:Dual Acer 21.5 1920x1080 PSU: Corsair CX500 V2


#7 ComputerEd

ComputerEd

    Voice of Computing Reason

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1704 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Carbondale, Il

Posted 23 December 2012 - 10:59 AM

 

My personal opinion....NIETHER!!!

 

For RAM all I use is Kingston Hyper-X

 

Heh heh if I was sponsored by them I'd also punt them. Jokes aside all top tier RAM is much of a muchness.

Actually Skid if you had asked me fore they sponsored I would have said the same thing. Kingston is the ONLY RAM I have ever used that has never given me a compatibility issue or dead stick. That is why they are all I use.


Get your GEEK on ever week with Computer Ed Radio

http://computeredradio.com  http://facebook.com/computered

 

 


#8 AlexMercer

AlexMercer

    New Member

  • Members
  • 42 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Earth

Posted 23 December 2012 - 11:28 AM

My PC Specs:

 

 

Asus ROG Rampage IV Extreme
Intel® Core™ i7-3960X Processor Extreme Edition
4x ASUS ROG MATRIX HD 7970 GHz Edition 3GB GDDR5
VECTOR SERIES SSD 256GB SATA 3 6Gb/s [For Software]
VECTOR SERIES SSD 256GB SATA 3 6Gb/s [For Games]
VECTOR SERIES SSD 512GB SATA 3 6Gb/s [For Game Setups]
EVGA SuperNOVA NEX1500 Classified
Custom Liquid Cooling


#9 AlexMercer

AlexMercer

    New Member

  • Members
  • 42 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Earth

Posted 23 December 2012 - 11:30 AM

I just want to what overclocks better :rtfm: don't care if it makes a difference or not :rtfm:


Edited by AlexMercer, 23 December 2012 - 11:31 AM.


#10 kyfire

kyfire

    The Hi-Tech Redneck

  • Folding Member
  • 399 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kentucky

Posted 23 December 2012 - 11:36 AM

I just want to what overclocks better :rtfm: don't care if it makes a difference or not :rtfm:

 

If it doesn't offer an improvement.....What's the point?


CASE: Cooler Master HAF X full tower MOBO: Gigabyte 970A-D3 CPU: AMD FX 6300 COOLER: Asetek 570LX 240MM MEM: 2x4gig Kingston Hyper X 1600MHz
HDD: WD Cavair Black 500gig GPU: EGA Nivida GTX 650 2gig Monitor:Dual Acer 21.5 1920x1080 PSU: Corsair CX500 V2


#11 ThInK192

ThInK192

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 80 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Orange, CA

Posted 23 December 2012 - 11:59 AM

If it doesn't offer an improvement.....What's the point?

:thumbsup:


Posted Image

Posted Image

#12 Braegnok

Braegnok

    KCCO

  • Folding Member
  • 473 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Colorado USA

Posted 23 December 2012 - 12:09 PM

 

 

My personal opinion....NIETHER!!!

 

For RAM all I use is Kingston Hyper-X

 

Heh heh if I was sponsored by them I'd also punt them. Jokes aside all top tier RAM is much of a muchness.

Actually Skid if you had asked me fore they sponsored I would have said the same thing. Kingston is the ONLY RAM I have ever used that has never given me a compatibility issue or dead stick. That is why they are all I use.

 

Hay Ed

Kingston HyperX T1 4GB kit will run @ 2800MHz CL12,  and is vary stable memory, +1 on the compatibility issue or dead stick with Kingston modules.


Intel Core i7-4790K

Asus Z97-WS

Asus GTX 780 in SLI

Geil Evo GPW332GB2666C11QC

Samsung 850 Pro 256GB

SeaSonic 1200W

Corsair Obsidian 450D

Corsair Hydro Series H110

Windows 8.1 Pro 64-Bit