Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Thermaltake Cheap cooler for PII x6


  • Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 Alejoss!

Alejoss!

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 106 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Costa Rica

Posted 08 December 2012 - 05:18 PM

Hey guys!!

I want to know if i can put this: http://www.thermalta...?C=1417&ID=2075 on a Phenom II x6 1090T.

The cooler says it supports up to 100w (TDP i guess) but the phenom says 125 TDP... so i think it would be dangerous :D!

But, i'll just ask and read what you say to be sure and don't miss the oportunity !

AMD Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 Ghz

Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3

8gb Corsair vengeance 1600 mhz DDR3

XFX HD7950 @950/1300

Thermaltake Smart m series 650w

HAF 912 with a couple of mods (Home made side window)


#2 SpikeSoprano

SpikeSoprano

    Certified Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1385 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cape Breton,Canada

Posted 08 December 2012 - 05:30 PM

It only has 2 heatpipes so I don't think I would trust it on a 125 watt cpu, but with push and pull fans and you didn't overclock it might be all right. I would just get a cm hyper 212, they're verygood and cheap.

CPU>I7 2600K  -MB>GIGABYTE  Z68X-UD3H-B3-MEM>KINGSTON 1600 MHZ-HYPER 212 EVO

VIDEO>ZOTAC GTX 660 2 GB-SSD>VERTEX 3 120 GB-HD>WD 500+WD 250 GB-G500 MOUSE

CASE>ROSEWILL CHALLENGER W/4 120MM FANS-PSU> 650 WATT-MONITOR>24 INCH BENQ


#3 kyfire

kyfire

    The Hi-Tech Redneck

  • Folding Member
  • 350 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kentucky

Posted 08 December 2012 - 05:34 PM

I agree with SpikeSoprano.....You could use it but it's iffy. If you're set on a Thermaltake cooler look at this one http://www.thermalta...?C=1151&ID=1987 Iy'll handle up to 160 Watt and has a MSRP of $39.99

CASE: Cooler Master HAF X full tower MOBO: Gigabyte 970A-D3 CPU: AMD FX 6300 COOLER: Asetek 570LX 240MM MEM: 2x4gig Kingston Hyper X 1600MHz
HDD: WD Cavair Black 500gig GPU: EGA Nivida GTX 650 2gig Monitor:Dual Acer 21.5 1920x1080 PSU: Corsair CX500 V2


#4 El_Capitan

El_Capitan

    Even the sun goes down

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6300 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somerville, MA

Posted 08 December 2012 - 06:55 PM

I was in Costa Rica a few months ago. :)

When I had the Phenom II x6 1090T overclocked to 4.0GHz, I had a CM 212+ in push (should actually be better pulling, but I didn't know).

5. Phenom II x6 1090T @ 4.0GHz 1.45v | OCZ Freeze | Cooler Master Hyper 212+ and one push only 120mm Noctua NF-P12 at 12v | Max Temp = 52C

#5 Alejoss!

Alejoss!

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 106 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Costa Rica

Posted 08 December 2012 - 08:42 PM

Yeah, i just asked because someone was going to give me one for free!

I guess i stick with the original Hyper 212 plan :)....

and really? :O what where you doing here? :D

AMD Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 Ghz

Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3

8gb Corsair vengeance 1600 mhz DDR3

XFX HD7950 @950/1300

Thermaltake Smart m series 650w

HAF 912 with a couple of mods (Home made side window)


#6 freddie

freddie

    Up the Arsenal

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 704 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Western Australia

Posted 08 December 2012 - 08:51 PM

Unrelated but the Contac 16 is a pain to install

#7 El_Capitan

El_Capitan

    Even the sun goes down

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6300 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somerville, MA

Posted 08 December 2012 - 09:01 PM

Yeah, i just asked because someone was going to give me one for free!

I guess i stick with the original Hyper 212 plan :)....

and really? :O what where you doing here? :D

Vacationing. Read this for best orientation on it: http://www.overclock...cal-positioning

Plus, you're in a warm climate, so it'll be tough with higher ambient temps.

#8 d6bmg

d6bmg

    BMG FTW!!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4120 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 09 December 2012 - 07:49 AM

Yeah, i just asked because someone was going to give me one for free!

I guess i stick with the original Hyper 212 plan :)....


Even if you are getting it for free, it is not advisable to use a heat sink having only 2 heat-pipes with 1090T. In other words, I thin, the stock heat-sink of 1090T is better than this one.

boozei.gif


#9 Alejoss!

Alejoss!

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 106 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Costa Rica

Posted 09 December 2012 - 07:28 PM

I was just checking ;) ... besides the thermal paste i bought is really shitty D:

 

I'm getting 39-42 iddle temps (On coretemp, bios shows even higher temps), i should get a better one and be careful for now, then a hyper 212 ! thanks guys !


AMD Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 Ghz

Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3

8gb Corsair vengeance 1600 mhz DDR3

XFX HD7950 @950/1300

Thermaltake Smart m series 650w

HAF 912 with a couple of mods (Home made side window)


#10 d6bmg

d6bmg

    BMG FTW!!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4120 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 10 December 2012 - 12:09 AM

When you buy Hyper 212 evo, you will get a TIM packed with it, and believe me when I say that the packed TIM is good enough to last for 7-8 months without reapplying. ;)


boozei.gif


#11 Alejoss!

Alejoss!

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 106 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Costa Rica

Posted 11 December 2012 - 09:19 PM

Yo guys! i got a chance to buy these! is it better than the 212? http://www.coolermas...product_id=3049

 

It's reaaaaaaaally hard to find a cooler around here! the guy who sells them is out of 212 so he offered me that one!


AMD Phenom II X6 1090T 3.2 Ghz

Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3

8gb Corsair vengeance 1600 mhz DDR3

XFX HD7950 @950/1300

Thermaltake Smart m series 650w

HAF 912 with a couple of mods (Home made side window)


#12 d6bmg

d6bmg

    BMG FTW!!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4120 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 11 December 2012 - 11:29 PM

Hyper 612 = Hyper 212 EVO + 2 extra heat-pipes + another extra 120mm PWM FAN.

It should be better than Hyper 212 evo.


boozei.gif