Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Cheapest option for 6 screen setup


  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 lilbod

lilbod

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 108 posts
  • Location:Liverpool UK

Posted 03 December 2012 - 08:21 AM

A friend of mine needs to run 6 independent screens and I was wondering what the cheapest option was for him.

The only thing he will be doing on it is connecting to a VPS and he is wanting to view a different display on each screen. He won't be using this pc for anything else.

Is it possible to just get 2 x GT 610's and hook 3 monitors to each card?

Edited by lilbod, 03 December 2012 - 08:54 AM.

Processor: Intel® Core™ i5 3570k @ 3.40GHz
Memory: 8gb G.Skill 8GB DDR3 1600Mhz RipjawsX
GPU: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 670
Sound Card: ASUS Xonar D2X
Motherboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Mouse: CM Storm Sentinel
Keyboard: Microsoft X6
Hard Drive: OS: 240gb Corsair Neutron SSD
Spare Drives: 2 x 1TB Samsung


#2 Tazman167

Tazman167

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 313 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bronx, New York

Posted 03 December 2012 - 08:36 AM

I doubt 210's can do 6 monitors. But you can find something like a 5870 eyefinity 6 edition pretty cheap these days.

Edited by Tazman167, 03 December 2012 - 08:36 AM.

AMD Phenom II 955 @ 4.3GHz 1.46v
Thermaltake TP XT 775watt
NZXT Havik 140 / NZXT Sentry Mesh Fan Controller
Asus Sabertooth 990FX
Cooler Master Storm Enforcer
WD Caviar Blue 500GB SATA 3
2X4GB G.Skill Ripjaws X 1640Mhz 9-9-9-24
HIS Radeon 7850 IceQ X 1160/1250
Creative Sounblaster X-Fi titanium
Posted Image

#3 lilbod

lilbod

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 108 posts
  • Location:Liverpool UK

Posted 03 December 2012 - 08:48 AM

I can't even find that card for sale anywhere!

A 610 has 3 outputs, that's why I was thinking if I got 2 I'd have 6 outputs.

Edited by lilbod, 03 December 2012 - 08:54 AM.

Processor: Intel® Core™ i5 3570k @ 3.40GHz
Memory: 8gb G.Skill 8GB DDR3 1600Mhz RipjawsX
GPU: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 670
Sound Card: ASUS Xonar D2X
Motherboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Mouse: CM Storm Sentinel
Keyboard: Microsoft X6
Hard Drive: OS: 240gb Corsair Neutron SSD
Spare Drives: 2 x 1TB Samsung


#4 lilbod

lilbod

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 108 posts
  • Location:Liverpool UK

Posted 03 December 2012 - 08:54 AM

Sorry I was supposed to say GT 610's!

Got 2 kids screaming and can't think! Will edit posts in case of confusion!

Processor: Intel® Core™ i5 3570k @ 3.40GHz
Memory: 8gb G.Skill 8GB DDR3 1600Mhz RipjawsX
GPU: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 670
Sound Card: ASUS Xonar D2X
Motherboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Mouse: CM Storm Sentinel
Keyboard: Microsoft X6
Hard Drive: OS: 240gb Corsair Neutron SSD
Spare Drives: 2 x 1TB Samsung


#5 d6bmg

d6bmg

    BMG FTW!!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4135 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 04 December 2012 - 03:00 AM

2x GT610 can theoretically handle 6 outputs, but never heard anyone using setup like it.

boozei.gif


#6 Il_napoletano

Il_napoletano

    Certified Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 571 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Napoli, Italy

Posted 04 December 2012 - 03:12 AM

maybe two 5770's..

you can get them for $100

edit: if you can't find that 5870

Edited by Il_napoletano, 04 December 2012 - 03:15 AM.

Cooler Master Haf 932
Asus P6T SE
Intel i7 950 @ stock
12GB Corsair Vengence 1866mhz

XFX 6970 2GB @1600x1200px atm

Samsung 830 120GB SSD 

WD Raptor 10k rpm

Segate barracuda 750GB
64x Windows 7 Ultimate


#7 lilbod

lilbod

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 108 posts
  • Location:Liverpool UK

Posted 04 December 2012 - 06:36 AM

2x GT610 can theoretically handle 6 outputs, but never heard anyone using setup like it.


Lol I know neither have I, I have used 2 different graphics cards in the past to setup a 4 screen setup but never gone past that.

The 5770 are a little expensive if the GT 210 option will work, I can pick up a GT 210 for around £20 ($32)

I already have a GTX 280 which I was going to use for the first set of 3 screens but that only has 2 x dvi and 1 s-video so not sure that would work.

I may just buy 1 GT 210 and see if it will work on 3 screens.

Processor: Intel® Core™ i5 3570k @ 3.40GHz
Memory: 8gb G.Skill 8GB DDR3 1600Mhz RipjawsX
GPU: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 670
Sound Card: ASUS Xonar D2X
Motherboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Mouse: CM Storm Sentinel
Keyboard: Microsoft X6
Hard Drive: OS: 240gb Corsair Neutron SSD
Spare Drives: 2 x 1TB Samsung


#8 Andrewr05

Andrewr05

    I'll be whatever I wanna do!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 11611 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Perkinsville, VT

Posted 04 December 2012 - 07:15 AM

A friend of mine needs to run 6 independent screens and I was wondering what the cheapest option was for hhim

6 old CRT monitors, 3 cheap graphics cards with two outputs each and a motherboard that can handle 3 graphics cards.

:shrug:

ona5.png

If you see the cops - LEAVE.

If the cops are coming - Don't be there.
If you show up and the cops are already there - DISAPPEAR.
Anyplace the cops are and you aren't, is a good day

:yes: 

Rig specs:

Spoiler

#9 lilbod

lilbod

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 108 posts
  • Location:Liverpool UK

Posted 04 December 2012 - 07:36 AM

6 old CRT monitors, 3 cheap graphics cards with two outputs each and a motherboard that can handle 3 graphics cards.

:shrug:

I'm pretty sure he is buying a 6 screen mount so CRT's are out the question.

Has anyone actually tried hooking up just 3 monitors to a single 3 output card?

Processor: Intel® Core™ i5 3570k @ 3.40GHz
Memory: 8gb G.Skill 8GB DDR3 1600Mhz RipjawsX
GPU: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 670
Sound Card: ASUS Xonar D2X
Motherboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Mouse: CM Storm Sentinel
Keyboard: Microsoft X6
Hard Drive: OS: 240gb Corsair Neutron SSD
Spare Drives: 2 x 1TB Samsung


#10 IVIYTH0S

IVIYTH0S

    They call me... General Help.

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 20510 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pennsauken, NJ

Posted 04 December 2012 - 12:10 PM

I guess you're talking about just regular usage (aka not gaming)??

"GilliumX58" DESKTOP
Mobo: Asus P8Z68-V-PRO | Processor: Intel Core i7 2600K @ 4.6ghz | CPU Cooler: Zalman CNPS9900MAXR | Videocard: MSI Twin Frozr HD7970
Memory: Patriot 8GB 1600mhz | OS SSD: SanDisk Extreme 240GB SATA | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W
Monitor: Samsung 30" 305T | CD/DVD: Samsung SH-S223F | Keyboard: Razer Tarantula | Mouse: Razer Lachesis

OCC Cool Club Member

 
 

 

GPU Comparison tool on AnAndTech


#11 lilbod

lilbod

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 108 posts
  • Location:Liverpool UK

Posted 04 December 2012 - 12:49 PM

I guess you're talking about just regular usage (aka not gaming)??

No gaming at all, just connecting to a VPS, he's a bookmaker and the more screens the better :thumbsup:

Processor: Intel® Core™ i5 3570k @ 3.40GHz
Memory: 8gb G.Skill 8GB DDR3 1600Mhz RipjawsX
GPU: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 670
Sound Card: ASUS Xonar D2X
Motherboard: Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Mouse: CM Storm Sentinel
Keyboard: Microsoft X6
Hard Drive: OS: 240gb Corsair Neutron SSD
Spare Drives: 2 x 1TB Samsung


#12 olokul

olokul

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 453 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Granger, IN

Posted 04 December 2012 - 01:10 PM

cheapest way whatever video card he has now and two of these Matrox pci g450 cards or one matrox g200 quad

http://www.ebay.com/...=item2a2481e940
or one of these
http://www.ebay.com/...=item20cde41292

All four rigs under water

 Primary Rig - i5-4670k - Asus Maximus VII Hero - Mushkin Enhanced Redline 16GB @ 2133 CAS9 - Evga GTX 980 - Silverstone 1200w

i5 2600K @ 4.2Ghz -Asus Maximus IV Gene-Z -Mushkin Redline ddr3 8Gb -MSI Twin Frozr II GTX 580 in SLI -Silverstone 1200W
Secondary Rig -i5 2500K @ 4.2Ghz -Asus Maximus IV Gene-Z -Mushkin Blackline ddr3 8Gb -EVGA Superclock GTX 560TI in SLI -Silverstone 850w

Third Rig - MSI GT60 2OD Laptop - i7 4700MQ @ 3.2Ghz - 16Gb ram - Nvidia GTX780m - 128,120,240msata ssd - 1TB HD

Fourth Rig -i7 950 @4.2GHz -Asus Rampage 3 extreme -Mushkin Ridgeback ddr3 12Gb -4 GTX 8800 Ultra -Silverstone 1500W
Fith Rig -i5 2500K @ 4.2Ghz -ASRock Z77E Mini ITX -Mushkin Redline ddr3 8Gb -EVGA 670 FTW -Silverstone 800w


I dont fail. I just succeed at finding out what doesn't work.