Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Your thoughts on Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 Alejoss!

Alejoss!

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 106 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Costa Rica

Posted 28 November 2012 - 11:45 PM

Well, i just bouthg this Motherboard from Amazon, hoping i will get it in the next few days.
So, i just wanna know what do you guys think about it, and any recommendation you may have! Thanks!

http://www.gigabyte....spx?pid=3894#ov

I'll be using this: http://www.ocztechno...um-edition.html (they were just sitting there for the past few months)

AMD Phenom II X6 1090T 3.8 Ghz

Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3

8gb Corsair vengeance 1866 mhz DDR3

XFX HD7950 @950/1400

Thermaltake Smart m series 650w

HAF 912 with a couple of mods (Home made side window)


#2 Waco

Waco

    Lab Rat 2

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15406 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Alamos, NM

Posted 29 November 2012 - 03:53 AM

BP had one with her Phenom II and loved it. Great looking board too!

sig.png

GTX 770 replaced with watercooled GTX780...but too lazy to change the sig.


#3 d6bmg

d6bmg

    BMG FTW!!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4135 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 29 November 2012 - 03:58 AM

Good board.
While buying, just make sure you buy rev3.0 board. ;)

boozei.gif


#4 Alejoss!

Alejoss!

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 106 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Costa Rica

Posted 29 November 2012 - 12:56 PM

Good board.
While buying, just make sure you buy rev3.0 board. ;)


A little late for that, i think it's the 1.1 revision as i've read on the reviews from amazon (i can't buy from newegg)

And good looking board indeed! I may start making a side window on my humble HAF 912 :D

AMD Phenom II X6 1090T 3.8 Ghz

Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3

8gb Corsair vengeance 1866 mhz DDR3

XFX HD7950 @950/1400

Thermaltake Smart m series 650w

HAF 912 with a couple of mods (Home made side window)


#5 d6bmg

d6bmg

    BMG FTW!!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4135 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 01 December 2012 - 01:57 AM

^^ Not a problem at all. If something happens to that board and you submit it for RMA, you are going to get a rev3.0 board anyway. :)

boozei.gif


#6 AkakmanH

AkakmanH

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 141 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dallas, Texas

Posted 01 December 2012 - 04:52 AM

For quite a while now all my builds have used Gigabyte motherboards.
They are one of the most reliable for the bucks.
And, their support is great. Never had a problem.

#7 Alejoss!

Alejoss!

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 106 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Costa Rica

Posted 02 December 2012 - 09:47 PM

^^ Not a problem at all. If something happens to that board and you submit it for RMA, you are going to get a rev3.0 board anyway. :)


Well, i hope nothing happens, because it's kinda hard to send something from here :(...

and... an Off-topic question >.<! Can u change the leds on a CM sickeflow?

Edited by Alejoss!, 02 December 2012 - 09:56 PM.

AMD Phenom II X6 1090T 3.8 Ghz

Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3

8gb Corsair vengeance 1866 mhz DDR3

XFX HD7950 @950/1400

Thermaltake Smart m series 650w

HAF 912 with a couple of mods (Home made side window)


#8 d6bmg

d6bmg

    BMG FTW!!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4135 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 02 December 2012 - 10:19 PM

and... an Off-topic question >.<! Can u change the leds on a CM sickeflow?


Would be a DYI process. But why would you want to?

boozei.gif


#9 Alejoss!

Alejoss!

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 106 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Costa Rica

Posted 03 December 2012 - 11:23 PM

Would be a DYI process. But why would you want to?


DYI stands for... do it yourself? D: ! is just for aesthetic purposes :D! changing the color scheme of the entire case to white

AMD Phenom II X6 1090T 3.8 Ghz

Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3

8gb Corsair vengeance 1866 mhz DDR3

XFX HD7950 @950/1400

Thermaltake Smart m series 650w

HAF 912 with a couple of mods (Home made side window)


#10 d6bmg

d6bmg

    BMG FTW!!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4135 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 04 December 2012 - 02:56 AM

Yes, you have understood it right.
If you change those LEDs you will lose the 1 year warranty of those sickeflow fans.

boozei.gif


#11 Alejoss!

Alejoss!

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 106 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Costa Rica

Posted 04 December 2012 - 03:45 PM

Yes, you have understood it right.
If you change those LEDs you will lose the 1 year warranty of those sickeflow fans.


Yeah, i know that, but still... changing leds on a CM MegaFlow it's pretty easy, they just pop out!
on the sickeflow i just don't know how it's done! And there's no tutorial or anything ! :(

AMD Phenom II X6 1090T 3.8 Ghz

Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3

8gb Corsair vengeance 1866 mhz DDR3

XFX HD7950 @950/1400

Thermaltake Smart m series 650w

HAF 912 with a couple of mods (Home made side window)


#12 d6bmg

d6bmg

    BMG FTW!!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4135 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 05 December 2012 - 03:02 AM

Almost same process.. Cut the connecting wires, pop out the LEDs and replace those LEDs.

Edited by d6bmg, 05 December 2012 - 03:02 AM.

boozei.gif