Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

1080P 30fps or 720P 60 fps?


  • Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

Poll: 1080P 30fps or 720P 60 fps? (9 member(s) have cast votes)

30fps 1080 or 60 fps 720P

  1. i like to play 720P 60fps (3 votes [15.00%])

    Percentage of vote: 15.00%

  2. i like to play1080P 30 fps (5 votes [25.00%])

    Percentage of vote: 25.00%

  3. record at 720P 60fps (4 votes [20.00%])

    Percentage of vote: 20.00%

  4. record at 1080P 30 fps (2 votes [10.00%])

    Percentage of vote: 10.00%

  5. consoles: 720P - 60fps locked with minor dips (4 votes [20.00%])

    Percentage of vote: 20.00%

  6. consoles 1080P - 30 fps - locked with some dips (2 votes [10.00%])

    Percentage of vote: 10.00%

Vote Guests cannot vote

#1 WarWeeny

WarWeeny

    Don't worry, be sexy! >:3

  • Review Editor
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1243 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:leeuwarden / netherlands

Posted 09 October 2012 - 01:46 AM

a few questions :)
multiple answers on the poll, please choose 1 of each of the options you prefer (1 of each 2 choices)


regarding the 30fps vs 60 fps playing:

i was wondering this because most people like to play at 60 fps and not a frame less, i however like to play on 30 fps because it looks more natural then 60 fps (60 feels speed up for some reason)
how do you like to play? (comment plus poll)


recording:

i am going to record crysis 2 as a walkthrough and i can record on 2 ways, 1080P 30fps~ or 720P 60 fps~ this is including the maldoHD texture mods (~ = give or take 3 frames less once in a while)
so quality is pretty importand ofcourse otherwise i could just play everything on ultra instead of the ultra maldoHD settings, this is because i record with fraps and dont want any hick-ups along the way.
i have reached the second area and i re-watched the stuff i recorded, it seems somewhat stuttery/rough to me but while playing i cant see that. is it because of the 65gb moviefile (31 minutes 1080P) or is it because of the 30 fps? (i suspect the first for some reason :/ )
(poll)


next gen consoles are going to be ready this year (wiiu....lol) and hopefully next year (ps4, nextbox) and obviously these consoles are quite powerfull to output games on 1080P and i asume they also get different frames depending on the resolution the develeoper chooses (that would be me if i had a choice in the next-gen console games) what would you like to see with the next gen consoles? 720P games at 60~ fps or 1080P games on 30~ fps? (comment plus poll)


my answers are as followed :P

i like to play ta 30 fps because it looks more natural to me.
i would like to see 60 fps on 720 on consoles because i absolutly HATE framerate dips and this gen there are way to many of em in games, i would like to see them lower the quality and increase the fps more, who cares about a few less detailed shadows etc?
if you care, get a gaming pc lol


what is your opinion?

You can get the weeny out of the war, but you cannot get the war out of the weeny

Rest in peace my good old gtx 480, you deserved it

 

Thinks he has a weeny worthy of war.

 


#2 VaporX

VaporX

    Sapphire Gaming Evangelist

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1710 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Carbondale, Il

Posted 09 October 2012 - 05:09 AM

Personal I shoot for 1080 at 60 FPS but that was not the option offered :popcorn:

Edward "Vapor-X" Crisler

Sapphire North America PR Represenative

"I don't play when it comes to gaming"

 


#3 El_Capitan

El_Capitan

    Even the sun goes down

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6539 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Somerville, MA

Posted 09 October 2012 - 05:18 AM

1080P at 30FPS.

#4 Muchoman1

Muchoman1

    De-railer of threads, Destroyer of worlds

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1562 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Western Australia

Posted 09 October 2012 - 05:30 AM

I prefer 60 FPS, 30, then having some dips below that makes gameplay really jagged, plus not all HDTVs are 1080p

The Hive 
               i7 3930k @ 5GHz 24/7   32Gb Corsair Dominator @ 1866MHz 
                    Asus Rampage IV Extreme    3x EVGA 670 FTW @ 1300MHz Core boost
256Gb Crucial M4 - Boot Drive  4x2Tb HDD Raid 5 - Data Storage 
CPU, Motherboard, GPU and RAM watercooled  by MIPS and Heatkiller 
Heavily Modified XSPC Cube Case 


#5 hornybluecow

hornybluecow

    I Am A Cow...

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5394 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:MT

Posted 09 October 2012 - 06:02 AM

You know consoles only upscale to 720 and 1080. Most of those game even halo runs at 400x600 with a ton a AA and upscaled to 1080

hbbanner.jpg

Filckr Photostream / Workstation Build Guide / How to Overclock an Intel 4770K Guide

Main Rig: i7-3930K @ 4.2ghz, Asus P9X79 WS, Quadro FX 4800, Intel 335 240 GB, Vertex 4 120 GB, Raid-1 2x 3 TB, 64 GB (8x8gb) G-skill, Thermaltake Core V71, SeaSonic Plat 1000watt.

Review Test Rig: : i7-4770k @ 4.2ghz, MSI-GD65 Gaming, Geforce GTX 770 , Corsair Force GT 240 GB, Patriot 16 GB 2400 (2x8gb), (Case always changing) Thermaltake 750w.


#6 WarWeeny

WarWeeny

    Don't worry, be sexy! >:3

  • Review Editor
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1243 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:leeuwarden / netherlands

Posted 09 October 2012 - 06:32 AM

You know consoles only upscale to 720 and 1080. Most of those game even halo runs at 400x600 with a ton a AA and upscaled to 1080


may i borow this time machine you have and see what resolutions the ps4 gives?

You can get the weeny out of the war, but you cannot get the war out of the weeny

Rest in peace my good old gtx 480, you deserved it

 

Thinks he has a weeny worthy of war.

 


#7 hornybluecow

hornybluecow

    I Am A Cow...

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5394 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:MT

Posted 09 October 2012 - 06:40 AM

I didnt see you asking about next gen. In that case i'm ready for 4k upscaled. because that i am guess sony will be doing with the PS4

hbbanner.jpg

Filckr Photostream / Workstation Build Guide / How to Overclock an Intel 4770K Guide

Main Rig: i7-3930K @ 4.2ghz, Asus P9X79 WS, Quadro FX 4800, Intel 335 240 GB, Vertex 4 120 GB, Raid-1 2x 3 TB, 64 GB (8x8gb) G-skill, Thermaltake Core V71, SeaSonic Plat 1000watt.

Review Test Rig: : i7-4770k @ 4.2ghz, MSI-GD65 Gaming, Geforce GTX 770 , Corsair Force GT 240 GB, Patriot 16 GB 2400 (2x8gb), (Case always changing) Thermaltake 750w.


#8 DanTheGamer11

DanTheGamer11

    When life gives you lemons, eat them.

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3976 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 09 October 2012 - 07:07 AM

You know consoles only upscale to 720 and 1080. Most of those game even halo runs at 400x600 with a ton a AA and upscaled to 1080


What consoles(current) have games @400 pixel heights?

Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T @3.2Ghz
Cooler Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 8GB 1.48V 1600Mhz DDR3 Crucial Ballistix Tactical
Motherboard Asrock N68C-GS FX
Graphics XFX HD 7950
Storage 1TB WD Caviar Blue HDD, 240GB Kingston Hyper X SSD, Thanks OCC & Kingston, makes a big difference  :)
Optical Disk Drive Sony Optiarc DVD/CD ReWriter
Power Supply Cooler Master GX 650W Bronze
Case Cooler Master CM690


#9 Coors

Coors

    ????? ????

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3629 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Missouri

Posted 09 October 2012 - 07:26 AM

Wheres the option for 1600P at 60 fps? :P

MSI MPower Max - 4770K - 2x EVGA GTX780 ACX - 2x8GB Crucial Ballistix Tactical 1866 - 2x Crucial M4 256GB raid0 - Enermax 1020w - HP ZR30w

Sager NP9170 - i7 3720QM - GTX680m - 16GB 1600Mhz - 2x Crucial M4 256GB - 17" matte display

Shuttle SP35P2V2 - E8600 4Ghz - eVGA 8800GTX ACS KO - 2x2GB g.skill PK - Samsung 500GB - 2x Dell E228wfp


#10 bigball1

bigball1

    Geek

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 591 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Nova Scotia, Canada

Posted 09 October 2012 - 07:48 AM

So your going to record youself gaming?

Then upload to youtube i take it.
So unless your going to do some slow motion effects then 30fps it is. Because mp4 or what ever your going to convert it to, the playback is 24fps so recording any higher is a total waste.
Plus the playback on yourtube is only 24fps.

#11 Muchoman1

Muchoman1

    De-railer of threads, Destroyer of worlds

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1562 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Western Australia

Posted 09 October 2012 - 07:48 AM

Wheres the option for 1600P at 60 fps? :P


Its called the thing at the top of your sig :biggrin:

The Hive 
               i7 3930k @ 5GHz 24/7   32Gb Corsair Dominator @ 1866MHz 
                    Asus Rampage IV Extreme    3x EVGA 670 FTW @ 1300MHz Core boost
256Gb Crucial M4 - Boot Drive  4x2Tb HDD Raid 5 - Data Storage 
CPU, Motherboard, GPU and RAM watercooled  by MIPS and Heatkiller 
Heavily Modified XSPC Cube Case 


#12 EuroFight

EuroFight

    I'm not lazy, I'm just energy efficient.

  • News Editor
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1609 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 09 October 2012 - 08:47 AM

So your going to record youself gaming?

Then upload to youtube i take it.
So unless your going to do some slow motion effects then 30fps it is. Because mp4 or what ever your going to convert it to, the playback is 24fps so recording any higher is a total waste.
Plus the playback on yourtube is only 24fps.

That's useful to know for me too :cheers:

I personally play 1440x900 at about 20-30fps (recording ~20fps) because I have a rubbish GPU :P

If I could I would play 1080p 30fps, record the same though...but then again it would take double the time to upload :dunno:

Edited by EuroFight, 09 October 2012 - 08:49 AM.

Processor AMD FX-6100 Hex-core, 3.3GHz > Intel Core 2 Duo, Dual-core, 1.6GHz

Memory 8GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600MHz >  Crucial 3GB DDR3 1066MHz

Graphics Radeon HD7770 + Radeon HD5570 > Intel 3000 Integrated Graphics

Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 Socket AM3+ > OEM Latitude XT2 Motherboard Socket P

Storage Seagate Barracuda 2TB SATA 7200.14 > Samsung 64GB SSD SATA 3Gbps

Power Supply Cooler Master Elite ATX 500W > OEM Dell Power Supply 90W

Case Zalman Z11 Plus 4x 120mm fans, 3x 80mm > OEM Dell Latitude XT Case

 

"Sudo make me a sandwich" - BluePanda