Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Radeon HD5570: The Saga Continues


  • Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1 EuroFight

EuroFight

    I'm not lazy, I'm just energy efficient.

  • News Editor
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1609 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 08 October 2012 - 12:36 PM

Hi everyone,

I have a AMD Bulldozer FX rig with a HD5570 GPU (I will be upgrading the GPU shortly), however I noticed something unexpected when looking at the BF3 performance log, below is a screenshot:
[attachment=17665:ScreenshotWin32-0001.jpg]

I noticed the GPU and CPU usage correspond almost exactly, the only plausible explaination of which I can find is that the CPU is somehow rendering as a GPU? Or, more concerningly, is my CPU bottlenecking my GPU? :erm:

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Euro :cheers:

Edit: Moved to new post

Edit 2: Just realized this is in the wrong category since I changed the thread title, if any mods or admins would like to move this to 'Graphics Cards and Monitors' that would be greatly appreciated Posted Image

Edited by EuroFight, 24 November 2012 - 07:00 AM.

Processor AMD FX-6100 Hex-core, 3.3GHz > Intel Core 2 Duo, Dual-core, 1.6GHz

Memory 8GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600MHz >  Crucial 3GB DDR3 1066MHz

Graphics Radeon HD7770 + Radeon HD5570 > Intel 3000 Integrated Graphics

Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 Socket AM3+ > OEM Latitude XT2 Motherboard Socket P

Storage Seagate Barracuda 2TB SATA 7200.14 > Samsung 64GB SSD SATA 3Gbps

Power Supply Cooler Master Elite ATX 500W > OEM Dell Power Supply 90W

Case Zalman Z11 Plus 4x 120mm fans, 3x 80mm > OEM Dell Latitude XT Case

 

"Sudo make me a sandwich" - BluePanda


#2 WarWeeny

WarWeeny

    Don't worry, be sexy! >:3

  • Review Editor
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1305 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:leeuwarden / netherlands

Posted 08 October 2012 - 01:14 PM

faildozer isnt exactly a fast processor :lol:
so it could well bottleneck your gpu :P

Edited by WarWeeny, 08 October 2012 - 01:14 PM.

You can get the weeny out of the war, but you cannot get the war out of the weeny

Rest in peace my good old gtx 480, you deserved it

 

Thinks he has a weeny worthy of war.

 


#3 EuroFight

EuroFight

    I'm not lazy, I'm just energy efficient.

  • News Editor
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1609 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 08 October 2012 - 01:19 PM

faildozer isnt exactly a fast processor :lol:
so it could well bottleneck your gpu :P

Hmmm I should think even a Faildozer should be able to keep up with a low-mid end 2010 card though? Our am I wrong?

Cheers for the reply though :cheers:

Edited by EuroFight, 08 October 2012 - 01:27 PM.

Processor AMD FX-6100 Hex-core, 3.3GHz > Intel Core 2 Duo, Dual-core, 1.6GHz

Memory 8GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600MHz >  Crucial 3GB DDR3 1066MHz

Graphics Radeon HD7770 + Radeon HD5570 > Intel 3000 Integrated Graphics

Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 Socket AM3+ > OEM Latitude XT2 Motherboard Socket P

Storage Seagate Barracuda 2TB SATA 7200.14 > Samsung 64GB SSD SATA 3Gbps

Power Supply Cooler Master Elite ATX 500W > OEM Dell Power Supply 90W

Case Zalman Z11 Plus 4x 120mm fans, 3x 80mm > OEM Dell Latitude XT Case

 

"Sudo make me a sandwich" - BluePanda


#4 Waco

Waco

    Lab Rat 2

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15418 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Alamos, NM

Posted 08 October 2012 - 01:44 PM

Bulldozers are pretty slow single threaded. Even my 4870X2 was slower with my 8120 versus my older Phenom 2 in games.


Anyway - high CPU usage along with high GPU usage isn't terribly uncommon. I wouldn't worry about it. :cheers:

sig.png

GTX 770 replaced with watercooled GTX780...but too lazy to change the sig.


#5 EuroFight

EuroFight

    I'm not lazy, I'm just energy efficient.

  • News Editor
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1609 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 08 October 2012 - 02:19 PM

Bulldozers are pretty slow single threaded. Even my 4870X2 was slower with my 8120 versus my older Phenom 2 in games.


Anyway - high CPU usage along with high GPU usage isn't terribly uncommon. I wouldn't worry about it. :cheers:

I thought BF3 was multithreaded...ah well thanks for putting my mind at rest anyway :cheers:

Processor AMD FX-6100 Hex-core, 3.3GHz > Intel Core 2 Duo, Dual-core, 1.6GHz

Memory 8GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600MHz >  Crucial 3GB DDR3 1066MHz

Graphics Radeon HD7770 + Radeon HD5570 > Intel 3000 Integrated Graphics

Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 Socket AM3+ > OEM Latitude XT2 Motherboard Socket P

Storage Seagate Barracuda 2TB SATA 7200.14 > Samsung 64GB SSD SATA 3Gbps

Power Supply Cooler Master Elite ATX 500W > OEM Dell Power Supply 90W

Case Zalman Z11 Plus 4x 120mm fans, 3x 80mm > OEM Dell Latitude XT Case

 

"Sudo make me a sandwich" - BluePanda


#6 Waco

Waco

    Lab Rat 2

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15418 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Alamos, NM

Posted 08 October 2012 - 02:23 PM

It is, but even with multithreading the slowest thread can keep the whole game waiting.

Borderlands 2 running PhysX on the CPU is a perfect example of this.

sig.png

GTX 770 replaced with watercooled GTX780...but too lazy to change the sig.


#7 d6bmg

d6bmg

    BMG FTW!!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4135 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 10 October 2012 - 11:49 PM

Sadly, fx-6100 isn't one of the great processor made by AMD. It could bottleneck your system.

boozei.gif


#8 EuroFight

EuroFight

    I'm not lazy, I'm just energy efficient.

  • News Editor
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1609 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 11 October 2012 - 06:20 AM

Sadly, fx-6100 isn't one of the great processor made by AMD. It could bottleneck your system.

Looking back I probably should have gone with Intel :fp:

Processor AMD FX-6100 Hex-core, 3.3GHz > Intel Core 2 Duo, Dual-core, 1.6GHz

Memory 8GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600MHz >  Crucial 3GB DDR3 1066MHz

Graphics Radeon HD7770 + Radeon HD5570 > Intel 3000 Integrated Graphics

Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 Socket AM3+ > OEM Latitude XT2 Motherboard Socket P

Storage Seagate Barracuda 2TB SATA 7200.14 > Samsung 64GB SSD SATA 3Gbps

Power Supply Cooler Master Elite ATX 500W > OEM Dell Power Supply 90W

Case Zalman Z11 Plus 4x 120mm fans, 3x 80mm > OEM Dell Latitude XT Case

 

"Sudo make me a sandwich" - BluePanda


#9 EuroFight

EuroFight

    I'm not lazy, I'm just energy efficient.

  • News Editor
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1609 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 11 October 2012 - 11:11 AM

I'm wondering if this is how a card dies, the crashes have happened with increasingly, and just now;

Catalyst Error (Will now not show card details)
[attachment=17671:Details1.jpg]

GPU-Z Details:
[attachment=17672:Details2.jpg]

The system crashed with no BSOD (Had to shut down from blank screen manually) while in-game World of Tanks

I noticed GPU temp at 62C while fan was at 15%, hence I checked VISION engine and noticed the error...one for an RMA?

Processor AMD FX-6100 Hex-core, 3.3GHz > Intel Core 2 Duo, Dual-core, 1.6GHz

Memory 8GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600MHz >  Crucial 3GB DDR3 1066MHz

Graphics Radeon HD7770 + Radeon HD5570 > Intel 3000 Integrated Graphics

Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 Socket AM3+ > OEM Latitude XT2 Motherboard Socket P

Storage Seagate Barracuda 2TB SATA 7200.14 > Samsung 64GB SSD SATA 3Gbps

Power Supply Cooler Master Elite ATX 500W > OEM Dell Power Supply 90W

Case Zalman Z11 Plus 4x 120mm fans, 3x 80mm > OEM Dell Latitude XT Case

 

"Sudo make me a sandwich" - BluePanda


#10 EuroFight

EuroFight

    I'm not lazy, I'm just energy efficient.

  • News Editor
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1609 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 12 October 2012 - 10:09 AM

Update: Have contacted Sapphire support regarding an RMA (I think I must be getting my name around there)

Processor AMD FX-6100 Hex-core, 3.3GHz > Intel Core 2 Duo, Dual-core, 1.6GHz

Memory 8GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600MHz >  Crucial 3GB DDR3 1066MHz

Graphics Radeon HD7770 + Radeon HD5570 > Intel 3000 Integrated Graphics

Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 Socket AM3+ > OEM Latitude XT2 Motherboard Socket P

Storage Seagate Barracuda 2TB SATA 7200.14 > Samsung 64GB SSD SATA 3Gbps

Power Supply Cooler Master Elite ATX 500W > OEM Dell Power Supply 90W

Case Zalman Z11 Plus 4x 120mm fans, 3x 80mm > OEM Dell Latitude XT Case

 

"Sudo make me a sandwich" - BluePanda


#11 d6bmg

d6bmg

    BMG FTW!!

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4135 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 12 October 2012 - 12:37 PM

From the first screen, it is clear that the GPU is having some issues. Nice to hear that you have send it for RMA already.

boozei.gif


#12 EuroFight

EuroFight

    I'm not lazy, I'm just energy efficient.

  • News Editor
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1609 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 12 October 2012 - 12:41 PM

From the first screen, it is clear that the GPU is having some issues. Nice to hear that you have send it for RMA already.

Need to wait for the response from support though...apparently they get weekends off

Surprisingly, reinstalling the latest version of Catalyst today resolved the 'driver' issue (Although it decided not to yesterday)...just hit 63.5C and the tin can's at 22% fan now

Processor AMD FX-6100 Hex-core, 3.3GHz > Intel Core 2 Duo, Dual-core, 1.6GHz

Memory 8GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600MHz >  Crucial 3GB DDR3 1066MHz

Graphics Radeon HD7770 + Radeon HD5570 > Intel 3000 Integrated Graphics

Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-DS3 Socket AM3+ > OEM Latitude XT2 Motherboard Socket P

Storage Seagate Barracuda 2TB SATA 7200.14 > Samsung 64GB SSD SATA 3Gbps

Power Supply Cooler Master Elite ATX 500W > OEM Dell Power Supply 90W

Case Zalman Z11 Plus 4x 120mm fans, 3x 80mm > OEM Dell Latitude XT Case

 

"Sudo make me a sandwich" - BluePanda