Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Cooling fan required for OC'd corsair dominator ram


  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 Hoody_s13

Hoody_s13

    Member

  • Folding Member
  • 121 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sydney, Australia

Posted 15 March 2011 - 03:34 PM

Hey all,
I recently RMA'd my corsair airflow fan because of an annoying cold boot grinding noise for the first minute. Now the new fans I've recieved seem to be just generally loud, compared to the first fans.

I've done a few google searches on the issue, but not picking up any solid info for overclocked ram. Do I need a ram fan running these 3 sticks (12gb dominator gt, 2006mhz @ 1.65v)???
My system is fairly quite without the airflow fan, so I'd prefer to take it out, but won't if it's recommended for OC'd ram.

:: My Rig ::
[ Cooler Master HAF X ][ Corsair AX1200 ][ Asus Rampage III Extreme ][ Intel i7 980X @ 4.4 GHz - 1.343v Vcore ][ Corsair H70 with 2x GT 1850's ][ 12GB Corsair Dominator GT PC-16000 @ 2006 MHz ][ Asus 580 GTX x2 SLI ]
[
Creative Soundblaster X-Fi Titanium HD ][ OCZ Vertex 3 120GB SSD, Corsair Force Series 120GB SSD x2, Western Digital 3TB Green Caviar HDD x2 ][ Windows 7 64-bit ][ Asus VG236H 23" 120Hz LCD ]

Posted Image


#2 Scottike

Scottike

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 107 posts
  • Location:Sequim, Wa. USA

Posted 16 March 2011 - 09:32 AM

With the minimal OC your running your ram at, I wouldn't be worried about the lack of active cooling on your dominator.
If you were running it at a substantial overclock, it might be a different story, but at 6mhz over stock it should'nt be a problem.
I always considered those fans as an added bonus for purchasing that ram, not as a requirement to operate it.
Of course, it also depends on the cooling and airflow you have in the rest of your system, if your case has poor airflow,
your ram may well need the fans to help keep their temps below dangerous levels.
I'm assuming that your using this ram: Corsair Dominator GT
Asus M4A790XTD EVO | Phenom II X3 720 BE (200x16) 3.2 Ghz | Meghalim "Black Shadow" Cooler
2 x 2048 Patriot G Series DDR3 ( 1600, 1T, 1.7v, 7,7,7,21) | OCZ Vertex 30gb SSD
WD Black 500 gb | LG BD/HD/DVD | XFX HD 5770 x2 | NZXT Panzerbox
Corsair 650TX (+3.3-24a, +5-43a, +12-52a) | Win 7 Ultimate (32 bit)
Posted Image
2nd Rig:
MSI DKA790GX Platinum | Phenom II X2 550 BE (200 x 18) 3600 Mhz | Xigmatek S-1283 Cooler
2 x 2048 Mushkin XPS 8000 DDR2 (1066, 1T, 2.0v, 5,5,5,18) | WD GP 500 Gb | 60 gb Corsair SSD
LG BD/HD/DVD | Generic No-Name Mid Tower Case | Corsair 650TX (+3.3-24a, +5-43a, +12-52a)
Windows 7 Ultimate (64 bit)

#3 MercuryDoun

MercuryDoun

    Banana

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1546 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South Eastern Michigan, USA

Posted 16 March 2011 - 09:56 AM

I run my memory at 1914mhz at 1.65 volts with no fan. The heatsinks are barely over room temp when you touch them with your fingers. Ima go ahead and say the fan isnt really needed. But my case does have excellent airflow over that area of the case.

*My System*
>< Case: Antec DF-85 >< PSU: Antec CP-850 850w >< MoBo: Asus P6X58D-E ><

>< CPU: i7-930, @ 4.0Ghz >< CPU Cooler: Prolimatech Megahalems >< TIM: Artic Silver MTX ><

>< RAM: Mushkin Blackline 6gb DDR3-1600 @ 1914mhz 7-10-7-24 2T ><

>< SSD: Corsair Force F120 120gb >< HDD: 2x Samsung F4 320gb Raid-0 ><

>< GPU: MSI Twin Frozr II GTX570 @ 900/1800/2250 24/7>< Monitor: Asus 24" LCD @ 1920x1080 ><

My gold plated butt-plug business is being sued by Apple. Apparently they have a patent for overpriced crap for a holes.


#4 boinker

boinker

    Im a Watchin you......

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3287 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Del Sity, Oklahoma

Posted 16 March 2011 - 12:03 PM

I ran mine without the HSF as soon as I went back to air cooling. When I was watercooling. Yes I used it. You really do not need it though. the difference between fan and not fan is about 10c so I would not worry about it. Though mine was with dominator gt 1866 so It may be different.

"It works Because I threatened it. :lol:" - " did you show it the sledgehammer" - "No, A flight of stairs"
"I don't want to be much of a forum Nazi but this situation calls for a hail Bosco and blitzkrieg someone".

If that does not work I hop in a Madcat and Blast it to microscopic Particles.


#5 MercuryDoun

MercuryDoun

    Banana

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1546 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South Eastern Michigan, USA

Posted 16 March 2011 - 12:19 PM

Did i mention my memory is only rated at 1600mhz?? Its kinda overclocked alot, and still fine. Im sure yours will be fine without the fan.

*My System*
>< Case: Antec DF-85 >< PSU: Antec CP-850 850w >< MoBo: Asus P6X58D-E ><

>< CPU: i7-930, @ 4.0Ghz >< CPU Cooler: Prolimatech Megahalems >< TIM: Artic Silver MTX ><

>< RAM: Mushkin Blackline 6gb DDR3-1600 @ 1914mhz 7-10-7-24 2T ><

>< SSD: Corsair Force F120 120gb >< HDD: 2x Samsung F4 320gb Raid-0 ><

>< GPU: MSI Twin Frozr II GTX570 @ 900/1800/2250 24/7>< Monitor: Asus 24" LCD @ 1920x1080 ><

My gold plated butt-plug business is being sued by Apple. Apparently they have a patent for overpriced crap for a holes.


#6 Hoody_s13

Hoody_s13

    Member

  • Folding Member
  • 121 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sydney, Australia

Posted 16 March 2011 - 01:17 PM

Thanks guys for the response!
Scottike that's the memory kit I'm using, also have the haf x so airflow isn't an issue. When you say 6mhz over stock, is that right? The way I thought rated memory worked is that say 2000mhz was a stable point it could be guaranteed to reach.

I have the airflow pro attached (bit of a pc ricer add-on that I've got sick of) so did a little testing last night. Firstly when the fan is running at idle on an average day the LED indicates blue temperature, or sometimes green. Under load in black ops, it stays green.
However with the fan off, it idles green and underload stays yellow. One thing to note is my h70 is setup as intake, so the ram can does get a little warm air on it under CPU load.

So the difference doesn't seem like much, but I still have no idea what temperature range each colour represents. Anyone know?

:: My Rig ::
[ Cooler Master HAF X ][ Corsair AX1200 ][ Asus Rampage III Extreme ][ Intel i7 980X @ 4.4 GHz - 1.343v Vcore ][ Corsair H70 with 2x GT 1850's ][ 12GB Corsair Dominator GT PC-16000 @ 2006 MHz ][ Asus 580 GTX x2 SLI ]
[
Creative Soundblaster X-Fi Titanium HD ][ OCZ Vertex 3 120GB SSD, Corsair Force Series 120GB SSD x2, Western Digital 3TB Green Caviar HDD x2 ][ Windows 7 64-bit ][ Asus VG236H 23" 120Hz LCD ]

Posted Image


#7 Hoody_s13

Hoody_s13

    Member

  • Folding Member
  • 121 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sydney, Australia

Posted 16 March 2011 - 01:23 PM

That is a big clock on 1600 merc, nice latency too.
Haven't ever tried pushing ram past rated speeds, see any worthwhile improvement?

:: My Rig ::
[ Cooler Master HAF X ][ Corsair AX1200 ][ Asus Rampage III Extreme ][ Intel i7 980X @ 4.4 GHz - 1.343v Vcore ][ Corsair H70 with 2x GT 1850's ][ 12GB Corsair Dominator GT PC-16000 @ 2006 MHz ][ Asus 580 GTX x2 SLI ]
[
Creative Soundblaster X-Fi Titanium HD ][ OCZ Vertex 3 120GB SSD, Corsair Force Series 120GB SSD x2, Western Digital 3TB Green Caviar HDD x2 ][ Windows 7 64-bit ][ Asus VG236H 23" 120Hz LCD ]

Posted Image


#8 Onion

Onion

    OCC Lawyer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4200 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:University of North Florida

Posted 17 March 2011 - 08:07 AM

The best way to test ram temperatures is touch it with the backside of your hand. If it's warm, it's fine. If it's hot, but doesn't hurt, you're fine. If it's burning to the touch, time to get some fans on those bad boys. The Dominators are usually fine without the fan unless you're giving them a lot of voltage, thanks to those big heatsinks on them.

Rig 1: Q9450 @ 4.0 â–º P45-UD3R â–º GTX 275 â–º 2 x 2 G Series â–º 2x Raptor 150 â–º Truepower Quattro 1kw â–º WC'd â–º 3d Aurora 570
Rig 2: Q6700 @ 4.0 â–º 780i â–º 8800 GTS 512 â–º 4 x 1 Tracers â–º 2 x 640GB AAKS â–º Corsair 650TX â–º Temp. Stock Cooling â–º Antec 900
Rig 3: E2200 â–º P35-DS3L â–º 2900 ICEQ â–º 2 x 1GB Ballistix â–º WD 320 â–º Antec Earthwatts 380 â–º Stock Cooling â–º Ultra Armor
Rig 4: E2160 â–º P35-DS3L â–º 8400 GT â–º 2 x 1GB ballistix â–º WD 320 â–º Antec Earthwatts 430 â–º Stock Cooling â–º Custom Case
OCC - Home of the Potato Overclock


#9 MercuryDoun

MercuryDoun

    Banana

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1546 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South Eastern Michigan, USA

Posted 17 March 2011 - 09:27 AM

That is a big clock on 1600 merc, nice latency too.
Haven't ever tried pushing ram past rated speeds, see any worthwhile improvement?


I saw massive improvements in benchmarks but not very much in games. Seems like loading times are alot faster, but had no noticeable improvement on FPS. Ive taken my ram as high as 2155mhz before, but again had little to no effect outside of benchmarks. If your already at 2000mhz id recommend spending some time trying to drop timings as they had more of a response time improvement than the mhz did.


The best way to test ram temperatures is touch it with the backside of your hand. If it's warm, it's fine. If it's hot, but doesn't hurt, you're fine. If it's burning to the touch, time to get some fans on those bad boys. The Dominators are usually fine without the fan unless you're giving them a lot of voltage, thanks to those big heatsinks on them.


This! Thats really the best way to test. Thats what i do!! Mine are warm and the heatsinks on my Mushkin Blacklines arent as effective as the Ridgebacks(Mushkin equivalent of the high end dominator heatsink) or Dominator heatsinks so i cant imagine it being more than warm even at 2000mhz.

*My System*
>< Case: Antec DF-85 >< PSU: Antec CP-850 850w >< MoBo: Asus P6X58D-E ><

>< CPU: i7-930, @ 4.0Ghz >< CPU Cooler: Prolimatech Megahalems >< TIM: Artic Silver MTX ><

>< RAM: Mushkin Blackline 6gb DDR3-1600 @ 1914mhz 7-10-7-24 2T ><

>< SSD: Corsair Force F120 120gb >< HDD: 2x Samsung F4 320gb Raid-0 ><

>< GPU: MSI Twin Frozr II GTX570 @ 900/1800/2250 24/7>< Monitor: Asus 24" LCD @ 1920x1080 ><

My gold plated butt-plug business is being sued by Apple. Apparently they have a patent for overpriced crap for a holes.


#10 Waco

Waco

    Lab Rat 2

  • Reviewer
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 15404 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Alamos, NM

Posted 17 March 2011 - 10:53 AM

I second the touch-test method. If you can comfortably leave your fingers on the heatsink they aren't getting too hot. :P

sig.png

GTX 770 replaced with watercooled GTX780...but too lazy to change the sig.


#11 Onion

Onion

    OCC Lawyer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4200 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:University of North Florida

Posted 17 March 2011 - 11:10 AM

Also, if the ram DOES get too hot, you can easily fashion larger heatsinks out of gpu ramsinks. I had to do it to my crucial ballistix tracers when I decided to pump 2.3v through them for a 1400 mhz OC. :lol: I'll post pics of it once I get home if the thread's still alive - I'm on vacation atm.

Posted Image

Rig 1: Q9450 @ 4.0 â–º P45-UD3R â–º GTX 275 â–º 2 x 2 G Series â–º 2x Raptor 150 â–º Truepower Quattro 1kw â–º WC'd â–º 3d Aurora 570
Rig 2: Q6700 @ 4.0 â–º 780i â–º 8800 GTS 512 â–º 4 x 1 Tracers â–º 2 x 640GB AAKS â–º Corsair 650TX â–º Temp. Stock Cooling â–º Antec 900
Rig 3: E2200 â–º P35-DS3L â–º 2900 ICEQ â–º 2 x 1GB Ballistix â–º WD 320 â–º Antec Earthwatts 380 â–º Stock Cooling â–º Ultra Armor
Rig 4: E2160 â–º P35-DS3L â–º 8400 GT â–º 2 x 1GB ballistix â–º WD 320 â–º Antec Earthwatts 430 â–º Stock Cooling â–º Custom Case
OCC - Home of the Potato Overclock


#12 Hoody_s13

Hoody_s13

    Member

  • Folding Member
  • 121 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sydney, Australia

Posted 17 March 2011 - 01:13 PM

Lol leet like the little mod, love too see those photos of your ram in the system with heatsinks fitted. I'm guessing you fitted it straight to the memory chip, or outside housing of the memory???

I tested my memory with the hand test at idle, can hardly tell there's power pumping through them. Ran a prime95 blend test to get them working and after 15 min they were warm. Under normal load from games and general usage, they are a little warm. All in all this turned out well, ram seems to run cool and I've removed an annoying pair of fans out of my case.

Thanks everyone for all your info and help, these forums have become addictive, learning something everyday.

Say merc could you point me in the right direction for overclocking ram? I've only pushed ram too it's rated speed so have no clue about fine tuning and testing the overclocks stability.

Thanks all.

:: My Rig ::
[ Cooler Master HAF X ][ Corsair AX1200 ][ Asus Rampage III Extreme ][ Intel i7 980X @ 4.4 GHz - 1.343v Vcore ][ Corsair H70 with 2x GT 1850's ][ 12GB Corsair Dominator GT PC-16000 @ 2006 MHz ][ Asus 580 GTX x2 SLI ]
[
Creative Soundblaster X-Fi Titanium HD ][ OCZ Vertex 3 120GB SSD, Corsair Force Series 120GB SSD x2, Western Digital 3TB Green Caviar HDD x2 ][ Windows 7 64-bit ][ Asus VG236H 23" 120Hz LCD ]

Posted Image