Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

High res or AA?


  • Please log in to reply
28 replies to this topic

#1 Desktop-pro

Desktop-pro

    Push It To The Limit

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 371 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Washington

Posted 17 December 2009 - 08:39 PM

When you game, do you prefer to have a higher resolution and no AA, or lower resolution and AA? I am sure some of you just do both. :P

#2 tkrow21

tkrow21

    Total Nerd

  • Folding Member
  • 3712 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New York City

Posted 17 December 2009 - 08:41 PM

I lower every setting before resolution if I need the extra FPS. A stretched image just looks unclear.
Posted Image
It's the decisions you make when you have no time to make them that define who you are.

#3 IVIYTH0S

IVIYTH0S

    They call me... General Help.

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 20071 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pennsauken, NJ

Posted 17 December 2009 - 08:54 PM

Bowfffff I run it all :D. (But always resolution over AA)

"GilliumX58" DESKTOP
Mobo: Asus P6TD Deluxe | Processor: Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.8ghz | CPU Cooler: Zalman CNPS9900MAXR | Videocard: MSI Twin Frozr HD7970
Memory: Patriot 12GB 1600mhz | OS SSD: SanDisk Extreme 240GB SATA | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W
Monitor: *Debranded* HP 24" 2408H | CD/DVD: Samsung SH-S223F | Keyboard: Razer Tarantula | Mouse: Razer Lachesis

OCC Cool Club Member

 


 

GPU Comparison tool on AnAndTech

 


#4 CowKing

CowKing

    Phil ain't got nothin' on me

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1445 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Eagan, MN

Posted 17 December 2009 - 08:55 PM

i try to do a balance of the 2
CPU: (Intel)q9450@3.36GHz|1.4v
Power Supply: (Antec)BP550|550w
GFX Card: (PNY)GTX 460|800-1600-4000 biggest GTX 460 dud OCer
Motherboard: (Gigabyte)P35-DS3R |P35|
Memory: (Mushkin) Redline 2x2GB DDR2 1000|1050MHz 5-5-5-12|
Ayn Rand is the author for people who want to act like complete douche-bags, but don't have the balls to just admit that they are douche-bags.
"There are two novels that can change a bookish fourteen-year old's life: The Lord of the Rings and Atlas Shrugged. One is a childish fantasy that often engenders a lifelong obsession with its unbelievable heroes, leading to an emotionally stunted, socially crippled adulthood, unable to deal with the real world. The other, of course, involves orcs."

OCC Cool Club Member


#5 minigeek

minigeek

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 295 posts

Posted 17 December 2009 - 09:13 PM

resolution, definately
AA does not compare to resolution

#6 NikolaT

NikolaT

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 279 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Redmond, Washington

Posted 17 December 2009 - 09:59 PM

I can't run at high resolutions :( So low res with 2-4x AA :P
*insert wise quote here*

#7 Fight Game

Fight Game

    Total Nerd

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2268 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 17 December 2009 - 11:09 PM

I always try to do the moniters native resolution first, but this is a matter of personal preference.

Dell 24" UltraSharp 2408
Gigabyte EP45-UD3R
Intel e8400 @ 3.6ghz
Xigmatek s1283 cooler
GSkill 4gb 1066 ram
AMD Gigabyte 7850 2gb
GSkill 64gb ssd's in raid0
Gigabyte GC-Ramdisk 4gb (page file, temporary)
OCZ 600w psu
Antec 900


#8 SenitaL

SenitaL

    Human\\Animals are :::Fascinating:::

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1085 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom

Posted 17 December 2009 - 11:34 PM

I always try to do the moniters native resolution first, but this is a matter of personal preference.

:withstupid:

Mee too, i play Native resolution (1280x720, so thats quite Low) , and MAX out everything (including AA at 8X ;) ) it looks much better like that

Posted Image

= MSI DKA790GX Platinum = AMD Phenom II X4 940 BE.=
= ATI HD5870+8800GTX for PhysX=Zalman GT1000,=
= 4GB OCZ ReaperX DDR2 PC-8000=Corsair HX620w,=

= True Black<=||<=Razer: Tarantula,Lachesis,eXactMat =


#9 LahiruRD

LahiruRD

    New Member

  • Members
  • 35 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 18 December 2009 - 12:37 AM

I'm trying the resolution at max (1920x1200) with AA (4X-16X), If I see that I don't have aenough FPS, i will decrease the AA but I leave the resolution at max
Core i7 930 @ 4.0GHz with Corsair H100 ( Push / Pull) | Sapphire HD 5870 Vapor-X (880/1225)
Gigabyte EX58-UD5 | G.Skill Rip Jaws 4x2GB @ 1600MHz CL8
Cooler Master HAF 932 | Cooler Master Real Power M1000 | Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro Series
OCZ Vertex II 120GB | Cavier Black 750GB, 2x1TB, Veloci Raptor 300GB
Razer Lycosa | eXact Mat Control | Roccat Kone | Acer P243W 2ms, 1920x1200 | Logitech Z-2300

#10 Fatedmeeting

Fatedmeeting

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 230 posts

Posted 18 December 2009 - 02:44 AM

Higher res for the most part, but it depends on the game I suppose. Sometimes AA looks better to me.

#11 Sihastru

Sihastru

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 153 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 18 December 2009 - 03:18 AM

There are 3 possible situations:

1. game runs at full 2560x1600 resolution smoothly, but when I enable AA (usually 4x form me does it) it gets choppy, I choose resolution.
2. game runs at full 2560x1600 resolution but not smoothly, then I lower it to 1280x800 and enable AA (maximum AA, usually 8x MSAA).
3. game runs at full 2560x1600 resolution smoothly and when I enable 4x MSAA it continues to run smoothly, I am a happy gamer.
There are more things in heaven and earth then are dreamt of in your philosophy.

#12 joel.monteiro

joel.monteiro

    The Engineer.

  • FW Team Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1257 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Mumbai,India

Posted 18 December 2009 - 03:18 AM

i have a 4870 that maxed out every game on my 22 inch in 1920x1080 res every thing on full works flawlessly , like crysis ,farcry 2 , grid ,dirt 2,nfs shift,gta4 ,....etc
Phenom 9950 BE @ 2.7 ,Noctua NH-D14 ,Gigabyte 780G,Palit Sonic HD 4870 Oc 830/1120 ,Tagan 500w upto 600w ,Benq hd2200 max res 1920x1080 ,NZXT Tempest Evo ,Corsair Xms2 800 Mhz 4GB